We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zaventemweg 3, 1043 EH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #61 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights with my partner and the hotel was excellent ! all the staff were very friendly and the reception staff were very helpful . I had requested a bottle of champagne in our room befor we arrived and when we got there it was just how i expected it . we stayed in room 716 and the room was very clean and quiete . Overall we had a perfect stay and i would definitely be back .

Many thanks again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear S W,

I am very happy to read your feedback, thank you for your kind words!

Please rest assure this will be shared with the team.

Kind regards,
Paul Bremen

Interim General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    285
    71
    16
    8
See reviews for
73
254
25
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This hotel is clean, efficient and convenient. This is not the place for charm or old world ambience, but if you are looking for value, its best attribute is the accessibility to tram train and bus which is incredibly convenient.

Room Tip: Get a room on an upper floor to get away from the traffic hum, or ask for one not facing the station...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear mitzi-meow,

Thank you for your kind words. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay as well as the location of the hotel.

Kind regards,
Paul Bremen
Interim General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane, Canada
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The hotel is not located in downtown Amsterdam but is located on both the railway line and bus routes. On the railway you have the airport, a few stops later the hotel and a few stops later downtown Amsterdam. We choose to access the hotel not by railway but by bus from Central Station in Amsterdam so we could use our 24 hour bus and tram pass which saved us a few Euros. The hotel is excellent. We arrived early hoping to only leave our suitcases and was immediately given our room several hours ahead of check in time. This is a modern, efficient hotel. Much more than a 3 star hotel. Breakfast was excellent as were the available choices and seating. Internet worked like a charm. You can even email them your boarding pass or museum e-ticket and they will print them for you. The major drawback is that there are limited choices for dinner as there are no restaurants at the hotel or in the vicinity. You have delivery which didn't appeal to us or travel back into the center of Amsterdam where the choices are endless. This is what we choose to do again utilizing our 24 hour bus pass. Security and cleanliness are paramount here. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear GusandTerry,

Thank your sharing your recent experiences with us through Tripadvisor. It is very nice to read you had such a lovely tim staying with us enjoying our free WiFi and free Continental Breakfast. I am happy to learn that my colleagues have been able to assist you by printing your documents and that you felt safe whilst being with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kind regards,
Paul Bremen
Interim General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I spend 4 nights at this hotel as my husband attended the European Cardiology Congress Aug 30-Sep 04 and I was not disappointed. The hotel looks new and it is well maintained. The room was very clean (small as normal in Europe) but everything worked perfectly. The breakfast buffet was awesome, I loved the fact that there were vegetables (fresh cucumber & tomato) and fruits other than just scramble eggs. Internet was included and it worked perfectly. The location is a bit far from downtown, but with the beautiful views from the bus you could not complain, I took bus 48 right outside the hotel and that one would take me up to Central Station maybe 20 or 15 minutes away. We arrived very early maybe around 10am and they gave us a room maybe an hour later, we really appreciate that as we were tired. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Amsterdam. If you take the train rather than the bus, it is only one stop to Central Station.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Vannylo82,

Thank you for your feedback. The hotel is indeed located between Schiphol Airport and Amsterdam Central Station, with multiple means of public transport to travel back and forth.

I am glad you enjoyed our free continental breakfast.

Kind regards,
Paul

Interim General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I was looking for a hotel close to to Amsterdam Centraal Station but since none were available my company booked me into this hotel. Initially disappointed, I read the on line reviews and decided to give it a go. I was not disappointed. The hotel is clean, comfortable and quiet. Hotel staff were very helpful. Buses and trams run on a frequent basis into Amsterdam and I enjoyed a couple of days sightseeing. I then travelled by train to Oss which is south of Amsterdam and the closely located station made this an easy journey. Having observed the busy and chaotic Amsterdam Centraal station, I was glad to depart from the smaller and easier to navigate Sloterdijk station. I would definitely recommend this hotel. Women that like their hair products (shampoo and conditioner) might be advised to bring travel size products though the provided body wash does in a pinch. Bring body lotion too if you need that!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Jane H,

Thank you for the time you have taken to share your experiences with others through TripAdvisor. It is very nice to read that you were happy with the hotel that was booked for you. The location looks a bit off, but as you have written we are very centrally located.

Again, thank you for your kind works and we look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel.
Kind regards,
Paul

Interim General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibsagar, India
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Located right at the sloterdjik station this hotel is very easy access to trains,trams,buses and metro to travel accross.The entrance initially looked very uninviting with the reception at second floor.But the helpful staff,clean rooms made the stay really memorable one .Staff was helpful ,were ready to have a chat with you,discuss food and roads around.
rooms were spacious ,tidy quite big for European hotels with all facilities.Only thing different i would wish in the hotel was a restaurant and regular meals.Breakfast was complimentary buffet but lacked variety.

Room Tip: Rooms on the opposite side of entrance are quieter as they are away from the station
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear abdul a,

Thank you for your kind words! I am happy to learn that you appreciated our service and cleanliness, something the team and I work for very hard every day. Our continental breakfast buffet is indeed offered complimentary. We hope to welcome you again to the Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Sloterdijk!
Kind regards,
Paul

Interim General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This hotel was located at the Sloterdijk train station, one stop away from Amsterdam Central, which was easily reached by tram, bus or train. Stayed on 7th floor, could not hear any train traffic. Rooms were very clean, staff was exceptionally helpful and very friendly. Day trips to other cities made easy as hotel was at station. Good free breakfast (rolls, cheese, meats, fruit, cereal, juice, coffee (not very good coffee)), only complaint would be the beds, the beds were pretty uncomfortable, have stayed in European hotels before so know what to expect, but the beds felt like you were sleeping on a box spring, other than that, would highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Stay on 6th or 7th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear LimeyFlorida,

Thank you for your kind words! I am surprised to read you did not like our beds. Only last month we have finalised a complete swap of all the mattresses. Please be so kind as to let me know in which room you stayed so I can have a look at the bed myself. You can contact me via gm.amsop@hiex.nl.

Again, thank you for your feedback and I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,
Paul Bremen

Interim General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station

Address: Zaventemweg 3, 1043 EH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station 3*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Sloterdijk Station is now open!The hotel is ideally located on top of one of the main train stations of Amsterdam. With great connections from the Airport terminal building by train (every few minutes in 8 minutes door to door) and excellent onward connections within 5 minutes to Amsterdam Central Station (50 times an hour by either train, metro, tram and bus) it has never been so easy to enjoy Amsterdam without worrying to much about your budget. The train on your doorstep will bring you into the hustle and bustle of Amsterdam city centre within 5 minutes where you can enjoy famous sites like the Dam square, Anne Frank House, Portuguese Synagogue, Van Gogh Museum, famous canals (grachten), Rijksmuseum, canal boat rides, Begijnenhof, red light district, Bijenkorf, shopping, sightseeing and clubbing at your convenience. With spacious, well-furnished rooms offering great bedding and walk in shower and modern equipment like LCD TVs with satellite TV, free Wi-Fi (in the whole hotel), free coffee/tea facilities and free Continental breakfast, this hotel is your best central point to start your journey into so many main destinations like Amsterdam, Haarlem, The Hague, etc in the Netherlands. Next to the parking spaces at the hotel our guests will also find special low-cost parking facilities next to the hotel and the train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.