We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“recent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zaventemweg 3, 1043 EH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #65 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“recent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying here this weekend (8th /10th feb 13)
1st, the reception staff are polite, very helpful and pay attention to you as a person.
2nd, breakfast was very good, the food, juice and coffee were better than most where I have stayed.
3rd, the room was very clean, the shower and toilet was clean and pleasant to use.
Our room was on the front so although it was close to the station the trains did not bother us, noise level was very low.
I have to say that the train station was handy,7 minutes to central station, 15 minutes to the airport.
We were thinking of staying in the city at the plaza (another great hotel) yet were pleased we stayed here.
When we return we will book again and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: I would guess all the rooms are of the same high standard so any room should be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your time to write your review regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station.

We are happy to see the positive comments on our hotel, the facilities and most important our team.

Sincerely,
Anne Schrijen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    306
    76
    17
    8
See reviews for
78
272
25
113
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Stayed in this hotel with my partner at the beginning of February 2013 for three nights. The hotel is in a good location and it’s only 2 stops from Amsterdam airport on the train. Once you get out of the train station the hotel is right in front of you. There are plenty of trains to both the airport & Amsterdam centraal station. A tip: the ticket machines at the station don’t accept Visa or Mastercard and only accept other cards or coins. I think there is a ticket office though incase you needed to use Visa or Mastercard or notes.

The hotel is very modern and clean. We arrived around 10am however our room was ready for us. We chose a room on a higher floor and the view was good. Didn’t hear the trains at all during the day or night. It was nice to sometimes sit by the window and watch the world go past!

The room was clean and comfortable. Tea and coffee facilities are provided. Fresh towels and bedding were provided everyday and the room was also cleaned thoroughly. The bathroom was very modern and the shower was amazing!

The staff were very helpful and friendly and always spoke to us whenever we walked past which was a very nice gesture, it made us feel welcome. They were always happy to answer any queries.

The breakfast provided was basic but of a good quality. There is no dinner service at the hotel. There is a restaurant opposite the hotel and the hotel staff can also order a takeaway pizza if you fancy one (good value and delicious pizza!) If you fancy something simple like a sandwich or a baguette then the train station has a little kiosk which sells such items.

Overall the hotel is fantastic and we would not hesitate in staying here again.

Room Tip: Rooms are on a higher floor have a better view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for your time to write this review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed you stay and would like to thank you for your positive comments. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Anne Schrijen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for 10 days,I had 9 guest from the USA and they stayed 3 nights the train station is next door and from there you can
take the train every 5 minutes to Amsterdam central,there are also many trains to all parts of The Netherlands.
Hotel staff is excellent ,great breakfast,clean hotel.
The main entrance is easy to find if you take the elevator at the corner of the train station on the platform you see the sign for the elevator.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your time to write this review regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station.

We are happy to see the positive comments on our hotel, the facilities and most important our team.

Sincerely,
Anne Schrijen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
455 reviews 455 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Clean, neat, very convenient from the airport and to central AMsterdam with trams, trains and bus -the usual basic but good Holiday Inn Express Breakfast, fast efficient internet
Wish it had even just a basic fitness cenetr or a deal with a convenient one

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for your time to write this review. Your opinion is very important to us.
We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and will take a note of your comment regarding the fitness.

We hope to welcoming you back soon in our hotel.

Kind regards,

Anne Schrijen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

The staff are very helpful and friendly the rooms fresh, clean and good sized. I was on business so did not have much time there but thought it very good. They don't do dinner but the breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Anne Schrijen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Minnesota
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

The basic hotel is clean and at a very good location close to Amsterdam Sloterdijk railway station. The beds are good, showers very convenient and the staff is friendly. It is about 15 minutes by train to downtown and to the airport. The breakfast is basic but not bad. There is no dinner service and no gym. It is also a bit difficult to find the main entry. Overall this place is good value for money for shorter stays.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you very much for writing this review regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station.

We are happy to see the positive comments on our hotel, the facilities and most important our team.

Sincerely,
Anne Schrijen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

What can I say - it was about as good as it gets. My room seemed brand new. The bathroom was very elegant and spotless. I've been to a five star hotel and the differene to that quality was only very minor. The bed was good too. There's a choice of pillows, but I didn't feel much difference. Breakfast was fairly standard, but everything was fresh an tasty. The coffeemaker is a little confusing. It has three outlets and depending on what you want you have to place your cup accordingly, otherwise everything goes down the drain.
The staff was very friendly and helpful.
I'll be back !

Hint to the manager: Maybe I just didn't see it it, but a BIG, well lit sign that you have to go down the stairs when coming from the station would be helpful. If there's a sign, I missed it and went all the way around the building (There's a small sign at the southern end of the building).

Room Tip: Room 300 was perfect - it faced the plaza instead of the train tracks. Did not hear a thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for your time to write this feedback. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

Regarding your comments about the signage; we are well aware that this might be confusing and are working very hard to resolve this as soon as possible.

Once again, thank you for your comment and we hope to see you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Anne Schrijen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station

Address: Zaventemweg 3, 1043 EH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station 3*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Sloterdijk Station is now open!The hotel is ideally located on top of one of the main train stations of Amsterdam. With great connections from the Airport terminal building by train (every few minutes in 8 minutes door to door) and excellent onward connections within 5 minutes to Amsterdam Central Station (50 times an hour by either train, metro, tram and bus) it has never been so easy to enjoy Amsterdam without worrying to much about your budget. The train on your doorstep will bring you into the hustle and bustle of Amsterdam city centre within 5 minutes where you can enjoy famous sites like the Dam square, Anne Frank House, Portuguese Synagogue, Van Gogh Museum, famous canals (grachten), Rijksmuseum, canal boat rides, Begijnenhof, red light district, Bijenkorf, shopping, sightseeing and clubbing at your convenience. With spacious, well-furnished rooms offering great bedding and walk in shower and modern equipment like LCD TVs with satellite TV, free Wi-Fi (in the whole hotel), free coffee/tea facilities and free Continental breakfast, this hotel is your best central point to start your journey into so many main destinations like Amsterdam, Haarlem, The Hague, etc in the Netherlands. Next to the parking spaces at the hotel our guests will also find special low-cost parking facilities next to the hotel and the train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.