We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fire alarm spoilt the visit!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zaventemweg 3, 1043 EH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #68 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fire alarm spoilt the visit!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The hotel is as everyone says. We were found a quiet room as soon as we got there at midday, The staff were pleasant and extremely helpful. They could even tell us the platform and time of train back to the airport. Breakfast was a good 'Continental'. Did not wait longer than just a few minutes for the 48 bus to Central Station and 12 tram to Museumplein.Just as well as it was minus 6 some days but the snow was dealt with well over there!
The room was new which was lovely.However we were disappointed that there was no safe in the room- fairly essential in this day and age. Tea and coffee was welcome but there were no 'extras' in the bathroom- only the shampoo/shower gel containers. There was a message on the wall to say that they could provide soap, razors etc that you may forget. Good TV but poor storage. All was well until on our 2nd night when we were woken by the fire alarm at 4.00am so we had to dress quickly with all winter gear and go down to the lobby. We were quickly given the all clear. A guest had been smoking in his room-you know who you are!!! We went back to bed but the alarm did not stop!! It was soo loud it was like a torture so we dressed again and went to reception where we found most of the other guests. We were offered a bottle of water for our troubles. The reception staff could not turn the alarm off so we suffered it for a whole hour. It was hideous.The manager said that the alarm had not gone off for a year and they had forgotten how to turn it off. I am rather concerned that they had not had a fire alarm practise in that time!.The disruption to our sleep did have an impact on our enjoyment of the next day's sightseeing. We did receive a letter of apology but I feel that they could have waived our very small drinks bill as a goodwill gesture. We did like the hotel and it's ease of access etc. We will stay again but check that they know how to turn off the alarm when we get there.

Room Tip: We had an even number which faced away fom the station- very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for your time to write this review. We are happy to see the positive comments on our hotel.

We would like to offer you our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you have suffered because of the fire alarm. Our staff members at the nightshift were well aware of the fire procedures; all our staff members are fully trained on a regular basis. This unfortunate night, there was a bug in the alarm system, that resulted in the fact that they could not reset the alarm. They did everything that was in their power to resolve this and eventually an outside company was able to reset the alarm system.

Would you be so kind to contact me at gm.amsop@hiex.nl so we can further discuss this?
Once again thank you for your feedback and we hope to be in contact with you soon.

Sincerely,
Anne Schrijen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    355
    92
    20
    8
See reviews for
86
311
30
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I have recently stayed at the hotel during New Year's period, and i have to say it is one of the best places i have ever stayed in. The location is just perfect with easy access to major attractions as well as very convinent to use the public transportations.
The front office staff is super friendly, they offered the breakfast for free which was rich enough.
The property is brand new, very nice modern rooms.
I highly recommend the hotel and will stay there again during my visits to Amsterdam.
All the best...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments. We are happy to see the positive comments on our hotel, the facilities and most important our team.
Thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Anne Schrijen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This is by far one of the best hotels I've stayed at recently. It is perfectly located between the airport and Amsterdam Central Station right next to the train station. It is what it is and for the price I find it hard to beat. The staff are very professional and friendly. The restaurant could be better but it is an "express" hotel so you get what you pay for. I'm hesitant to tell anyone about it because I would hate for it to be fully booked.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the station if you want to sleep in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are very pleased with your comments! Thank you for choosing us, we would love to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Anne Schrijen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed here recently on a 23 hour layover in Amsterdam. We had no problems taking a train from AMS to the Sloterdijk station and walking around the corner to the hotel entrance. The hotel is great! The room was very modern and comfortable. The bathroom was large and very clean. The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast, as usual in a Holiday Inn, was brilliant (and free!). There is also free WiFi in the hotel, as an added bonus.

This is a perfect hotel for a short excursion into Amsterdam from the airport. It was really easy to find, and would be easy to access even hauling lots of luggage.

We highly suggest this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your kinds words. We strive daily for perfection and I am pleased to hear that we succeeded. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Anne Schrijen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Had my first visit to Amsterdam on the 1st of October 2012, I was visiting with my boyfriend for both our birthdays.

Decided on this hotel as Sloterdijk Station is right outside the hotel - Would advise to not get a taxi as we did arriving to avoid any stress and ended up paying 36 euro for under 10 minute taxi ride.

Entrance to hotel is not on same level as train station if you come out the front of train station on the left you will see steps that lead you down and the entrance door is just round the corner on your right.

Checking In was under 5 minutes although the sheet the lady gave me had all my details wrong such as name and what city but I just let her know, corrected and signed. Was on the second floor room was lovely and big very modern as can see from everyone elses pictures.

Trains stopped about 12:30am so didn't hear a thing, the bed and pillows were the comfiest I have ever slept on! The lifts in hotel were a bit slow sometimes and we walked down the stairs most times. My biggest worry was it being too far from the city centre or airport but it is so easy to get to and from hotel & airport not a problem at all and 10 minutes at the most. I would stay here again :-)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It was a pleasure having you as a guest in our hotel. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Anne Schrijen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

The room is nicely decorated, modern and the shower box has an amazing system with magnets for a perfect seal when you are showering. The shower itself has a nice water flow perfect for relaxing after a long working day. It also has a nice system to set water temperature at 38oC, which i found interesting. The bed is high standard and the matress excellent! Breakfast is above average with good coffee! Staff really really nice and helpful.I think you get all the value for the price you pay in this hotel! Highly Approved!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your time to write your positive review regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station.

We are happy to see the positive comments on our hotel, the facilities and most important our team.

Sincerely,
Anne Schrijen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
İstanbul, Türkiye
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I and my husband stayed at the hotel between 24-27 December 2012.It is really really near to Schipol Airport just 2 stops.Rooms are safe, comfortable and clean. Breakfast is very important for me and used as an important criteria for hotel rankings and the breakfast at this hotel was really good. here were various kinds of fruit and bread and also cheese, butter and jams same also.
It is almost in the center of the city since there are plenty of transpostation vehicles to reach the city center.Also despite that we reached the hotel earlier than checkin time they were very hospitable. I like it so much...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you very much for writing this review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Anne Schrijen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station

Address: Zaventemweg 3, 1043 EH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station 3*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Sloterdijk Station is now open!The hotel is ideally located on top of one of the main train stations of Amsterdam. With great connections from the Airport terminal building by train (every few minutes in 8 minutes door to door) and excellent onward connections within 5 minutes to Amsterdam Central Station (50 times an hour by either train, metro, tram and bus) it has never been so easy to enjoy Amsterdam without worrying to much about your budget. The train on your doorstep will bring you into the hustle and bustle of Amsterdam city centre within 5 minutes where you can enjoy famous sites like the Dam square, Anne Frank House, Portuguese Synagogue, Van Gogh Museum, famous canals (grachten), Rijksmuseum, canal boat rides, Begijnenhof, red light district, Bijenkorf, shopping, sightseeing and clubbing at your convenience. With spacious, well-furnished rooms offering great bedding and walk in shower and modern equipment like LCD TVs with satellite TV, free Wi-Fi (in the whole hotel), free coffee/tea facilities and free Continental breakfast, this hotel is your best central point to start your journey into so many main destinations like Amsterdam, Haarlem, The Hague, etc in the Netherlands. Next to the parking spaces at the hotel our guests will also find special low-cost parking facilities next to the hotel and the train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.