We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of easyHotel Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added easyHotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
easyHotel Amsterdam
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   van Ostadestraat 97, 1072 ST Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #210 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Totnes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Average Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

My friend and I booked this hotel for a short trip to Amsterdam. We were looking for somewhere affordable with easy access to the centre. We arrived early and paid an extra €7:50 to check in early. The man at the reception desk was relatively friendly. We went into our room, everything was cleaned to an acceptable standard and we were provided with towels and a tv with channels in all different languages, and also a variety of different films, including family, action, comedy and also some more raunchy porn films! The room was very harshly lit and had no option to make it feel nicer, the ceiling was VERY high and made it feel like we were sleeping in an office block or warehouse, there was also very little storage/floor space meaning that our whole floor was taken up with suitcases. The blind was also broken so we couldn't open it, meaning that the room had no natural light. The sink was inconveniently small and had a ledge above it meaning that you couldn't use it for shaving, washing your face and even brushing your teeth was difficult. There was only one plug in the room and it was at the opposite side of the room to the bed. The light in the bathroom area didn't work which meant that it was always very dark in there as we couldn't open the blind. The windows don't open meaning that there is no fresh air, and the air conditioning in our room didn't work very well so the room was constantly a bit too hot and airless. The bed was however very comfortable. You have to pay more to get your room cleaned/towels changed and the wifi also costs more. I feel like this hotel charges you for everything which comes as a standard in other hotels. We weren't spending very much time in the hotel though, so it was fine. I would only recommend this hotel if you aren't going to be spending any time in it, apart from sleeping and getting ready!
On a positive note it is VERY central with everything within walking distance!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny v, Front Office Manager at easyHotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Liam Wt,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback following your visit with us earlier and we are pleased you had an overall enjoyable stay with us and thought that the beds were very comfy.
We are happy to hear that you found the staff friendly and the hotel location to be VERY central, walking distance to many main sights or the public transport stop nearby, that can bring you directly into town ;-).
We are sorry to hear that you found the room a little small, we do have some bigger rooms available for your next visit!
We are sorry that you were disappointed with our policy charging for additional services such as internet access. Many of our guests find such additional services during their stay unnecessary. Therefore in order to keep our prices as low as possible, we only offer services during your stay on demand and for a small additional fee. This certainly does not detract from any inconvenience caused.
We do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit and please do not hesitate to contact us directly so we may assist with your room choice.

Warm regards,
Sanne Keesen
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    195
    135
    48
    40
See reviews for
21
238
19
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Having stayed at the Easyhotel in Berlin last year we knew what to expect. This hotel is in a nice area with shops and a nice assortment of eating places close by. There is also a good street market. It is a nice walk into the city centre and to Museum Square or very easy by tram (#16 or 24). Staff were friendly and helpful. Beds were comfortable, but quite narrow and short -anyone who was tall would probably find it a squeeze. Air conditioning was good. Wifi is quite expensive as 5 euros per day only allows for one device to be used - but everywhere in Amsterdam has free wifi, so you could manage without! We used our discount card and ate at Omelegg which is close at hand- lovely food, also Pasta Pasta without discount but very tasty and great value!
If I had any negative it would be that we were wakened by noise in the early hours each night - more to do with selfish guests than the hotel - if I had remembered my ear plugs it would have solved this problem.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny v, Front Office Manager at easyHotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear weekendwanderers!

Thank you for choosing to stay at easyHotel while visiting Amsterdam. We enjoyed reading your positive comments and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your (clean and small ;-) ) room and our location. We are happy you were able to enjoy the reduction we offer for your breakfast, and appreciate your recommendations for other travelers to choose our hotel!
We look forward to a return visit from you,

Warm Regards,

Sanne Keesen
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

This room had the lowest price for a standard two person room in Amsterdam. I did not expect anything, but the room was surprisingly spacious and the mattras was good. The bathroom was functional and large enough. The hotel staff was very friendly and the elevator was convenient for our suitcase. The neighbourhoud is just fine, nothing special, and relatively close to the museum quarter. Also, there are some nice restaurants located close to the hotel. When I return to Amsterdam and have a similar budget I will definitely book a room at easyhotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny v, Front Office Manager at easyHotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Pol S,

Thank you so much for letting us know we succeeded in showing you Amsterdam Hospitality ;-) We are grateful for your business and couldn't be happier that your stay was so great. We look forward to your next visit!

Kind Regards,

Sanne Keesen
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Hotel is clean, staff are very friendly and helpful, and you can rent bikes for €15 per day which is an added bonus. It's a bit far out from the centre, I'd say about 10 minutes from Dam Square on the tram. The trams are easy enough to use (and cheap! €16.50 for 72 hour pass!) and there's a stop near the hotel. Only downside is they stop after 12ish. I would definitely recommend if you want a basic but clean hotel!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny v, Front Office Manager at easyHotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Katie H,

Thank you for your 5 Star review! We are pleased to learn of the positive experience you have encountered during your recent stay. We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. We hope to see you again in the near future!

Best Regards,

Sanne Keesen
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

A simple hotel where you get a clean room with beds and a bathroom. And a TV. 5 € additional charge for internet. The price is low, so you get what you pay for. No breakfast, but the area has lots of good breakfast restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny v, Front Office Manager at easyHotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Olek66,

What a wonderful and honest review. We appreciate the compliments you have given us and want you to know that we are delighted you were our guest and we could make your stay a nice one.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and being our guest. We hope you come back to visit.

Warm Regards,
Sanne Keesen
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to easyHotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about easyHotel Amsterdam

Address: van Ostadestraat 97, 1072 ST Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #210 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — easyHotel Amsterdam 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique concept hotel offers small, simple rooms in the vibrant De Pijp district of Amsterdam. Museum Square is less than a 15-minute walk from easyHotel. Guests book a room only, and can then choose extras for an additional charge, such as TV, Wi-Fi and cleaning.Private bathrooms with a shower are standard in the air-conditioned rooms at easyHotel Amsterdam. A remote for the flat-screen TV can be rented at the front desk, where guests can also pay for access to the Wi-Fi, if they would like. The modern, bright rooms have limited under-bed storage and one coat/suit hanger with hooks.The RAI Convention Centre is a 15-minute walk away. Amsterdam easyHotel is a 10-minute walk from the Heineken Experience. The nearest tram stop is 100 yards away on the Ferdinand Bolstraat. It offers direct services to Amsterdam Central Station via trams 16 or 24. Bus and tram tickets can be purchased at the front desk.The property has a 24-hour front desk, air conditioning, and snack and drink vending machines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your easyHotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage easyHotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.