We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tiny room with a bed and a bathroom” 4 of 5 stars
Review of easyHotel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added easyHotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
easyHotel Amsterdam
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   van Ostadestraat 97, 1072 ST Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #212 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“A tiny room with a bed and a bathroom”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

A simple hotel where you get a clean room with beds and a bathroom. And a TV. 5 € additional charge for internet. The price is low, so you get what you pay for. No breakfast, but the area has lots of good breakfast restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny v, Front Office Manager at easyHotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Olek66,

What a wonderful and honest review. We appreciate the compliments you have given us and want you to know that we are delighted you were our guest and we could make your stay a nice one.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and being our guest. We hope you come back to visit.

Warm Regards,
Sanne Keesen
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    209
    154
    50
    40
See reviews for
21
261
21
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Thurrock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Me and my husband stayed here for four nights for a couple break in the wonderful Amsterdam. We were on a budget, so we went for easyHotel as it was super cheap and not a hostel.
I read through the website before booking so I was aware of the extra charges for wifi, TV and house keeping, I brought dvd's and a portable dvd player and so many bars and restaurants have free wifi, I didn't miss not having the internet either.
The room we were in wasn't as small as I thought it was, still small, but I'm on holiday to explore the city, not to lounge around in a hotel room bigger then my flat. So again this didn't bother me.
The housekeeping charge is what lets this hotel down, and the fact they bring the phase 'basic hotel' to another level. Little things like no bin in the bathroom (a bit of a must for women), no bath mat (its basically a small cubical/wet room so water gets everywhere, and with wooden floors to boot, slippery isn't the word) and no rubbish collection (small room + takeaway dinners for 4 nights you get a little overwhelmed) it just needed like one visit or at least the option to drop your rubbish off. 15euro is a lot to ask.

Other then that there was no problems. Staff were helpful, bed was comfy, location was quiet but well accessible and surrounded by lovely restaurants and cafes. Air con was annoying, couldn't turn it off which ended up making my husband's psoriasis awful and our throats sore in the mornings but for the price it was fine. I wouldn't stay again though, I could of paid around 30euro extra to stay in a hotel that did have housekeeping everyday and I'd prefer that.

For a short break? perfect? longer then 3 nights? Starts to grate a bit.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny v, Front Office Manager at easyHotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear hollyberry23
Thank you for taking the time to write and share your comments and impressions of easyHotel Amsterdam. We appreciate you sharing your wonderful experiences with Trip Advisor, giving us the opportunity to escalate your praises and feedback. You understand exactly what easyHotel stands for so we are very happy to have exceeded your expectations. Regarding the A.C we will share your comment with our Technician for improvement.
We hope if your travel plans bring you back to Amsterdam you will come back to stay with us again!
Best Wishes,
Sanne Keesen
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Good, well-priced hotel for somewhere just as a base over night.
Rooms are quite small; the bathroom is literally next to your bed, however, it has everything you need.
Location is good, there is a quite a large market about 5 minutes from the hotel, and the tram stop is a short walk further.

Room Tip: Get your own rooms if travelling with friends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny v, Front Office Manager at easyHotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Footyfanarsenal,

Thank you for taking the time to post about your stay with us at easyHotel Amsterdam! We are so glad you enjoyed your -small ;-) - room as well as our location, near the famous Albert Cuyp street marktet.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Best Regards,
Sanne Keesen
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We stayed at EasyHotel for 4 nights and it wasn't great. I've stayed at many hotels and this one by far has been the worst. If you're looking for only a bed to sleep on then this is perfect for you. However, if you want a bit more luxury, such as having room cleaning, access to TV/clean towels/hairdryer then you need to pay on top of the hotel fee. It's a cheap hotel which is trying to make as much money as possible. The only thing I liked was the fact that it wasn't too far from the Dam Square, 5-8 min tram ride and 20-25 walking distance. I wouldn't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny v, Front Office Manager at easyHotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Demet K,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us in Amsterdam. We appreciate all guest feedback and sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations. We understand that you were disappointed with our policy charging for additional services such as WIFI internet access. In order to keep our prices as low as possible, we only offer services during your stay on demand and for a small additional fee.
Please be advised, that all the information regarding all extra charges can be found online, also at the moment when you are going to book a room at easyHotel.
We respect your opinions and are thankful that you have taken the time to comment on your stay.
With warm regards,
Sanne Keesen
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Booked this mainly for the location near a friends place and liked the easy hotel idea. Its also pretty well situated for a bit of tourism as its far enough from the center to be relaxing, near enough to walk back if you want. Can't fault the staff and it was clean and tidy enough. Also no mad hens or stags which was a relief. Just a few niggles regarding price and service. Paying extra for WiFi or TV seems a bit of a con. Also I expect curtains that keep the light out and aircon that's a bit quieter. I would say its nearly good, but not quite. Also some very nice and well priced cafes near to it so dont worry about eating.

Room Tip: Outside rooms will give you tram noise and the windows dont open anyway so no great advantage, also...
See more room tips
Green Features: I suppose not cleaning the room during your stay is green
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny v, Front Office Manager at easyHotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Gerald P,
Thank you for sharing your review of easyHotel Amsterdam, we appreciate your comments and are always happy to know what our guests are experiencing during their visits. We are very glad you found our staff as helpful, as we are very proud of the ability and drive of each of them.While we are delighted you enjoyed your clean room and fine location, we are sorry that you were disappointed with our policy charging for additional services. Many of our guests find such additional services during their stay unnecessary. Therefore in order to keep our prices as low as possible, we only offer services during your stay on demand and for a small additional fee.
It has been a pleasure to welcome you and we look forward to welcoming you again to the easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South, or to one of our affiliated hotels, when your travels bring you back to the area!
Kindest regards,
Sanne Keesen
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Myself & my husband stayed here in April 2014 while traveling Europe. Place is a cute, small tiny clean little box. Everything was great but only negative was they literary charge you for anything & everything - Extra towels, hair dryer, soap, shampoo, INTERNET & for your room to be cleaned.... Other than that the staff were great (very helpful & pleasant) oh & not bad of a area as well - walking distance to a FEW coffee shops, restaurants, shops, grocery stores and a laundry mat. All in all I give this place a 3 out of 5.

Room Tip: Make sure you bring your own hair dryer, extra soap, shampoo etc or pay for it at front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny v, Front Office Manager at easyHotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear lynxyboo,

Thanks a lot for your detailed review regarding your recent stay with us in Amsterdam! We appreciate all forms of guest feedback, and it is through constructive comments that we are able to continually improve our services and facilities for our guests.
We are sorry that you were disappointed with our policy charging for additional services such as WIFI internet access. Many of our guests find such additional services during their stay unnecessary. Therefore in order to keep our prices as low as possible, we only offer services during your stay on demand and for a small additional fee. This certainly does not detract from any inconvenience caused.
Please be advised, that all the information regarding all extra charges can be found online, also at the moment you book a room at easyHotel. We hope you will allow us to welcome you back, should your travels bring you back to Amsterdam !

Best Regards,
Sanne Keesen
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to easyHotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about easyHotel Amsterdam

Address: van Ostadestraat 97, 1072 ST Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #212 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — easyHotel Amsterdam 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique concept hotel offers small, simple rooms in the vibrant De Pijp district of Amsterdam. Museum Square is less than a 15-minute walk from easyHotel. Guests book a room only, and can then choose extras for an additional charge, such as TV, Wi-Fi and cleaning.Private bathrooms with a shower are standard in the air-conditioned rooms at easyHotel Amsterdam. A remote for the flat-screen TV can be rented at the front desk, where guests can also pay for access to the Wi-Fi, if they would like. The modern, bright rooms have limited under-bed storage and one coat/suit hanger with hooks.The RAI Convention Centre is a 15-minute walk away. Amsterdam easyHotel is a 10-minute walk from the Heineken Experience. The nearest tram stop is 100 yards away on the Ferdinand Bolstraat. It offers direct services to Amsterdam Central Station via trams 16 or 24. Bus and tram tickets can be purchased at the front desk.The property has a 24-hour front desk, air conditioning, and snack and drink vending machines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your easyHotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage easyHotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.