We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of easyHotel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added easyHotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
easyHotel Amsterdam
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   van Ostadestraat 97, 1072 ST Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #212 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
bristol
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

For the price you really can't go wrong. Great place to stay if you are on a budget, and easy access into the City.
Room is very basic and could do with a few shelves and hangers, but that said we were only there for 3 nights and only used it as a place to sleep.
Would stay again for the price.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
easyHotelAMS, Front Office Manager at easyHotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Bristoldoug,

Thank you for choosing easyHotel as your destination during your stay in Amsterdam.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to meet your expectations from the room price to the good location.

See you next time!

Best Regards,
Sanne Keesen
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    201
    144
    50
    40
See reviews for
21
245
21
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Everything needed was there. The room was very tidy and cosy.
With service we had a good experience, especially the 24 hour desk is very usefull and employees friendly.
To travel to the city center you do need some time, which is some kind of disadvantage.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
easyHotelAMS, Front Office Manager at easyHotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Michael R,

Thank you for your kind review on Tripadvisor!
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam, and are delighted that you liked our cosy and tidy rooms.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best Regards,

Sanne Keesen
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

it's a very basic hotel where you are required to pay for any additional services including Wi-Fi.we enjoyed our stay here. although a little away from the main city, the tram stop is right outside and saves you any hassles.the Heineken factory is within walking distance. theres a subway, a mc donalds and a delightful morning street market with wonderful stuff, all within a 1km radius! theres also a departmental store just adjacent to the hotel.The staff was friendly, the rooms were small but absolutely clean and in good condition. a good place to stay if you in amsterdam for a short time. we were there for just 3 days and spent most of our time on the streets!overall id rate it as a good bet!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny v, Front Office Manager at easyHotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear khyati0404,

Thank you very much for your kind words and detailed comment regarding your recent stay with us.
It's very nice to hear that you were pleased with everything especially the location and our staff!

We truly appreciate your comments and please know we will definitely share them with our team.

Please don't hesitate to contact us the next time you plan to visit Amsterdam, we would love to assist you again with your accommodations!

Sincerely,

Sanne Keesen
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We booked a room here a couple nights before we left,it cost us €200 for 4 nights which was great value. The room was very basic but clean and the staff were really friendly and helpful. In the lobby there was a lot of information cards and leaflets for tourists if you want to go sightseeing. There's also a lot of restaurants in the area that offer a discount to guests staying at the hotel (I recommend Ohmelegg for breakfast, right round the corner. Very cool little place and the food was amazing!) The area itself is great, nice bars and restaurants and very close to some beautiful parks. We actually chose to stay in the area for one evening instead of going into central Amsterdam. However it is within walking distance to central plus regular trams that take around 10 minutes to get there. Also it's right near a train that takes you to the airport. Great city and I would definitely stay at this place again for the simplicity, great value and no disappointments.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny v, Front Office Manager at easyHotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Jazz R,

Thank you for taking the time to write a very detailed review regarding your recent visit.
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and that you got to see our amazing city.
We thank you for recognizing everything that made your stay more pleasurable and would love to welcome you again soon!

Best Regards,

Sanne Keesen
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We had to pay 32.50 Euros for internet access and TV for our 5-day stay. Then we found the internet was for one device only -- there were 2 of us.
You can't book in till 3pm and must check out at 10am so on both days we had to pay 4 euros for a locker -- so it wasn't even value for money.
Glass walls of bathroom amplify sound so you hear your companion peering, pooing and farting. They can't go down to the wc in reception as there isn't one.
Handbasin too small to bath a pet hanster in, and anyway there's no plug.
Our room had only a small window, with a service corridor outside.
The blind was broken, so we had 5 days without seeing daylight in the room.
Reception, corridors and room grubby, as no-one cleans or vacuums into the corners.
Cramped room contains only the bed and a waste bin -- there wasn't room for anything else.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an outside window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny v, Front Office Manager at easyHotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear carorichmond,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor.

Please accept our sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations and letting you down.

We are sorry that you were disappointed with our policy charging for additional services such as WIFI and TV.
Many of our guests find such additional services during their stay unnecessary. Therefore in order to keep our prices as low as possible, we only offer services during your stay on demand and for a small additional fee. Also, it is possible to use our WIFI for multiple divices.

We try to make this as clear as possible upon making a reservation. All information about our concept, additional fees and hotel/room pictures are available on all booking sites to avoid any disappointments. We´re sorry this information didn´t came through.

We do have a toilet downstairs at reception which is for the use of our hotel guests.

If you should decide to allow us to serve you again, please don't hesitate to contact us any time.

Sincerely,

Sanne Keesen
easyHotel Amstedam City Centre South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Simple does it for this one. Ticks all essential hotel needs with it's no frills policy. Rooms are well sized; beds are comfortable; good location. My only niggle was that the bathroom is really part of the room, with a frosted glass door...Is OK, but personally would like a little more privacy. Also a glass or two for drinking water would be nice, but it is no frills so you do get what you pay for I guess.

Great service from the reception team, very helpful and full of tips to go eating and drinking in the area. All round a great budget option, perfect for a short holiday when you won't stay in the room much.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny v, Front Office Manager at easyHotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Bonnie L,

Thank you for your stay and your review.

It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed our clean accommodations and our staff here at easyHotel Amsterdam. We will certainly pass on your very nice feedback!

We appreciate your feedback and we would love to have you back to stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Sanne Keesen
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to easyHotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about easyHotel Amsterdam

Address: van Ostadestraat 97, 1072 ST Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #212 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — easyHotel Amsterdam 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique concept hotel offers small, simple rooms in the vibrant De Pijp district of Amsterdam. Museum Square is less than a 15-minute walk from easyHotel. Guests book a room only, and can then choose extras for an additional charge, such as TV, Wi-Fi and cleaning.Private bathrooms with a shower are standard in the air-conditioned rooms at easyHotel Amsterdam. A remote for the flat-screen TV can be rented at the front desk, where guests can also pay for access to the Wi-Fi, if they would like. The modern, bright rooms have limited under-bed storage and one coat/suit hanger with hooks.The RAI Convention Centre is a 15-minute walk away. Amsterdam easyHotel is a 10-minute walk from the Heineken Experience. The nearest tram stop is 100 yards away on the Ferdinand Bolstraat. It offers direct services to Amsterdam Central Station via trams 16 or 24. Bus and tram tickets can be purchased at the front desk.The property has a 24-hour front desk, air conditioning, and snack and drink vending machines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your easyHotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage easyHotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.