We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rotten value for money” 1 of 5 stars
Review of easyHotel Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added easyHotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
easyHotel Amsterdam
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   van Ostadestraat 97, 1072 ST Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #214 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Rotten value for money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We had to pay 32.50 Euros for internet access and TV for our 5-day stay. Then we found the internet was for one device only -- there were 2 of us.
You can't book in till 3pm and must check out at 10am so on both days we had to pay 4 euros for a locker -- so it wasn't even value for money.
Glass walls of bathroom amplify sound so you hear your companion peering, pooing and farting. They can't go down to the wc in reception as there isn't one.
Handbasin too small to bath a pet hanster in, and anyway there's no plug.
Our room had only a small window, with a service corridor outside.
The blind was broken, so we had 5 days without seeing daylight in the room.
Reception, corridors and room grubby, as no-one cleans or vacuums into the corners.
Cramped room contains only the bed and a waste bin -- there wasn't room for anything else.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an outside window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny v, Front Office Manager at easyHotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear carorichmond,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor.

Please accept our sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations and letting you down.

We are sorry that you were disappointed with our policy charging for additional services such as WIFI and TV.
Many of our guests find such additional services during their stay unnecessary. Therefore in order to keep our prices as low as possible, we only offer services during your stay on demand and for a small additional fee. Also, it is possible to use our WIFI for multiple divices.

We try to make this as clear as possible upon making a reservation. All information about our concept, additional fees and hotel/room pictures are available on all booking sites to avoid any disappointments. We´re sorry this information didn´t came through.

We do have a toilet downstairs at reception which is for the use of our hotel guests.

If you should decide to allow us to serve you again, please don't hesitate to contact us any time.

Sincerely,

Sanne Keesen
easyHotel Amstedam City Centre South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    188
    126
    47
    39
See reviews for
20
227
19
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Simple does it for this one. Ticks all essential hotel needs with it's no frills policy. Rooms are well sized; beds are comfortable; good location. My only niggle was that the bathroom is really part of the room, with a frosted glass door...Is OK, but personally would like a little more privacy. Also a glass or two for drinking water would be nice, but it is no frills so you do get what you pay for I guess.

Great service from the reception team, very helpful and full of tips to go eating and drinking in the area. All round a great budget option, perfect for a short holiday when you won't stay in the room much.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny v, Front Office Manager at easyHotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Bonnie L,

Thank you for your stay and your review.

It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed our clean accommodations and our staff here at easyHotel Amsterdam. We will certainly pass on your very nice feedback!

We appreciate your feedback and we would love to have you back to stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Sanne Keesen
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We took this trip for my 21st Birthday. We were greeted by the most welcoming staff (refreshing after the horrific flight we'd had). It was our first time staying in Amsterdam and asked the receptionist recommendations on where to go. They were extremely helpful, despite being busy they did not hesitate to advise - even drawing our routes out on the maps including which trams to catch! Every morning when going downstairs, the receptionist would ask us how the previous days trips had been which showed how thoughtful they are. We needed to print our boarding passes for our return flight and the lady at reception was more than eager for us to use their facilities (for free).

We were given a room that was on the corner of the hotel so we had a beautiful panoramic view of the main street. Room was clean and layout was good. Perfect amount of hooks for our coats and jackets, everything else we laid about on the window ledge, this was not a problem as the room was very spacious. Loved the shower and toilet concept as it made the room feel contemporary and fresh (most other hotels in Amsterdam felt quite out dated and too fussy in their decor), did not feel awkward at all as the glass is not see through at all. Shower was always hot/ warm and very spacious. We bought the tv and wifi package (knowing we would only use it to wake up to/ fall asleep to) which we thought was great value - even coming from students!

Perfect location, 10 minute walk to Amsterdam Rai train station, 20 minutes to Dam Square. We found that the slightly outer city location was brilliant as there was a chilled vibe. Area felt safe and the longest street market is situated nearby which provides a lovely walk down. Pasta Pasta - a lovely Italian restaurant was our favourite place to dine, their tiramisui is unbelievably good! Rembrandt is only 2 stops on the tram which provides lovely restaurants and tourist shops.

Looking at returning soon and shall definitely be staying here again. Could not rate this hotel and its staff enough!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny v, Front Office Manager at easyHotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Pollydes2,

Thank you for the very nice review. It's so nice to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you liked and understand our concept.

It really puts a "Smile" on our faces to hear such nice compliments.

Please don't hesitate to contact us the next time you plan to come to Amsterdam. We are looking forward to welcome you again!

Kind Regards,

Sanne Keesen
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Nice and cheap. Great location the coffee shop at the top off the road is a great little spot with nice kush. Clean but I did move the bed a little to retrieve my passport and it is an area that needs attention. But overall we had great stay perfect for friends stag/hen groups if you are travelling alone. Will stay again on my next visit

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny v, Front Office Manager at easyHotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Lewis198,

We appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback on your stay

We are sorry for the inconvenience you may have experienced regarding your passport slipping between the bed and wall. We can inform you that we took immediate action to avoid any similar circumstances from occurring in the future.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcome you again soon!

Best Regards,

Sanne Keesen
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South

We look forward to welcome you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Staff we're friendly room was clean, but everything was extra, room was compact but fine for a short stay, a good walk into town or a quick journey on the tram :) there was a strange stagnant smell in the corridors and the drains weren't the best either but as stated you get what you pay for we wanted to spend New Year's Eve in Amsterdam and this hotel came up cheapest by far, With the see- through shower bath room I would say this hotel is suitable for new couples as you would have to feel comfortable with one another :)

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny v, Front Office Manager at easyHotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear ChI0b0,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your visit with us last year.

We are happy to read that you had a nice time staying in Amsterdam during New Year's eve and that easyHotel worked out fine for you.

If your travel plans should bring you back to Amsterdam again just give us a call :)

Best Regards,

Sanne Keesen
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

As with the first time at this hotel we found our room very clean and bed big and comfortable.The rooms are small but have everything you need for a short stay .The shower and toilet facilities are a bit compact but the shower is lovely ,lots of warm water and very easy to adjust..Didnt pay for the TV access but did pay for interenet ,did think it was a bit mean that it was for only one device not for the room so you could use more devices .Hotel situated near enough to the heart of Amsterdam but not right on it .Area feels safe and has a lot of good bars ,cafes etc

Room Tip: Both times we had a room with windows looking out on the street but apparently they have rooms that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny v, Front Office Manager at easyHotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Trudi C,

Thank you very much for your nice review. We are happy to know that also your second stay with us was to your satisfaction.

Regarding the once device connection with our WIFI, we can inform you that we took immediate action. It is now possible to connect several devices per room, instead of just one.

We look forward to your next visit!

Best Regards,

Sanne Keesen
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Room wise the hotel is very much "get what you pay for" and as this is exactly the easyHotel model, that's not a bad thing. Room was clean, and comfortable. The desk staff were excellent too. However, I have to warn any visitors that when your internet session logs out on the Mac in the lobby, it DOES NOT log you out of anything you have been using. I had 2 apps hacked as a result. I did point this out to management when I found out what had happened via email, but they ignored my feedback and I never even got a reply. So, be careful if using the internet facilities in the lobby. All I had was some joker sending messages logged on as me, but it could have been a lot worse.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny v, Front Office Manager at easyHotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Weeboaby,

Thank you for leaving a comment on TripAdvisor.

We have discussed your comment regarding the internet at the MAC pc in the lobby and will try to prevend this from happening again.

On another note we are glad you enjoyed our comfortable rooms and helpfull staff.
We appreciate your business and we would like to welcome you back to stay with us in the future.

Best Regards,

Sanne Keesen
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to easyHotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about easyHotel Amsterdam

Address: van Ostadestraat 97, 1072 ST Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #214 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — easyHotel Amsterdam 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique concept hotel offers small, simple rooms in the vibrant De Pijp district of Amsterdam. Museum Square is less than a 15-minute walk from easyHotel. Guests book a room only, and can then choose extras for an additional charge, such as TV, Wi-Fi and cleaning.Private bathrooms with a shower are standard in the air-conditioned rooms at easyHotel Amsterdam. A remote for the flat-screen TV can be rented at the front desk, where guests can also pay for access to the Wi-Fi, if they would like. The modern, bright rooms have limited under-bed storage and one coat/suit hanger with hooks.The RAI Convention Centre is a 15-minute walk away. Amsterdam easyHotel is a 10-minute walk from the Heineken Experience. The nearest tram stop is 100 yards away on the Ferdinand Bolstraat. It offers direct services to Amsterdam Central Station via trams 16 or 24. Bus and tram tickets can be purchased at the front desk.The property has a 24-hour front desk, air conditioning, and snack and drink vending machines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your easyHotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage easyHotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.