We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Acommodation, but clean, and in a good location - good for a budget” 3 of 5 stars
Review of easyHotel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added easyHotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
easyHotel Amsterdam
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   van Ostadestraat 97, 1072 ST Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #212 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Basic Acommodation, but clean, and in a good location - good for a budget”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Me and my friends admittedly wanted to budget on the hotel, and have a bit more beer money. So this hotel stood out as being well located, and very reasonably priced.

The room was very basic, but the bed was comfy and overall it was very clean.

If the TV in the room had worked free of charge, I would be inclined to rate this room higher.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny v, Front Office Manager at easyHotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Lauren H,

Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and you liked the location of the hotel.
By charging the extra's separately we offer our guest the change to make there trip as expensive as the want so they can have even more beer money ;-)

We hope we can welcome you back again ithe future!

With kind regards,

Tania Zia
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    209
    154
    50
    40
See reviews for
21
261
21
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

If all you need is a clean, modern room, no frills, & pay only what you need, this is a good choice. Good ventilation & heating system. Well thought out model and well executed. Optionals such as Wifi and TV are well priced.

Room Tip: Rooms are great but hall somewhat stuffy and not up to rest of standards
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny v, Front Office Manager at easyHotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Thomas G,

Thank your very much for your comment on TripAdvisor.

We are really happy to hear that you liked our concept!
By charging all the extra´s seperately we are able to offer rooms as cheap as we do.
Hereby we also give our guest the choice to make their stay as expensive they feel comfortable with.

It has been a pleasure to welcome you in our hotel and we hope to do it again in the future,

Kindest regards.

Tania Zia
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano Marittima, Italy
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

we spent 4 nights in easy hotel and it was nice. we decided to stay in easy hotel as we were visiting for a trade show at RAI and the price. it's our 2 time staying in the easy hotel chain and in general it's very good the price of the room. there are a lot of people making comments regarding the small room but for the price and cleanliness and location i think it's reasonable. the location is not only close to RAI was has a very convenient access to the city center. there's tram 12 right infront of the hotel that takes you to the 3 important museums (Van Gogh Museum, Stedelijk Museum and Museum Rijksmuseum). around 3 min walk you have access to tram 16 and 24 that takes you to the city center and the dam. the only negative problem i have to say about the hotel is probably the wifi. it cost 7.50 euro for 24hr the problem is the wifi does not work so well and it's a bit of a waste of money. there are so many cafe near by that offers free wifi with the same speed. i would recommend those that are travelling over a week looking for reasonable pricing yet clean room. if you self check in online before you arrive they give you discount card for participating stores, restaurants & bars near by the hotel up to 25% discount!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny v, Front Office Manager at easyHotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Pasi0ntraveler,

Thank you very much for your kind words on TripAdvisor.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
You understand exactely what easyHotel stands for, great value and comfortable rooms.

We hope that we can welcome you back for the third time at easyHotel Amsterdam perhaps at the nesxt concvention?

With Kind Regards.

Tania Zia
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

All staff were very polite, rooms were very clean, but basic, but that was expected due to the value for money in such a central location. Tram into dam square takes about 10-15 minutes, you take a 16 or 24 which are very frequent. The hotel is within walking distance to museum square. You can hire bikes for 15 euros per day which is a nice idea if the weather is good. Beds were soo comfy too! The door for the toilet and shower doubles up to save space which was fine for us but others might want more privacy! Would stay again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny v, Front Office Manager at easyHotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Rosiemacgeorge,

Thank you very much for your kind words on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much and appreciatie our concept . We also hope we can welcome you back again soon!

Best Regards,

Tania Zia
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

The hotel was awful. The room is very small, it is not even possible two people walk in the room at the same time. The windows are sealed and there is no ventilation. The air conditioning was broken (during the night the temperature decreased alone, in the middle of winter). There is no room cleaning, nor replacement of towel, floor cloths and toilette paper. In addition there is no utilities in the room and bathroom. Nothing is included, everything that you want you have to pay more (hair dryer, exchange of cloth from the bathroom, towel, TV, wifi, etc). Without ventilation, the towels and cloths were always wet and therefore everything smells bad.
In addition to everything, the service is terrible, for example, when I asked for a taxi, the receptionist refused and said that it was not part of the hotel service (in the night of new years eve).
If you pretend to stay more than 1 night in amsterdam, definitely this hotel will be a pierced! We did a tour through Europe and by far was the worst hotel

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny v, Front Office Manager at easyHotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Thimbraga,

Thank you for your leaving a review on TripAdvisor.

We are sorry to hear that you found the room to small, we have tried to make our rooms economical and modern at the same time. Unfortunately this is not everyones taste.
We do apologise that you found our staff rude and not hospital. We agree that everyone should be treated in a normal and polite matter.
We have discussed this with our team to prevent this from happening again.

With Kind Regards,

Tania Zia
easyhotel Amsterdam City Centre South,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Excellent service during the 3 nights that me and my boyfriend stayed at the hotel. The most comfortable bed and the best shower in the world, allowing me to have an amazing sleep after walking around Amsterdam for the whole day. We had the normal sized double room, which was still quite small and the shower was built within the room - but this was not a problem at all, and we had enough space to put our things. The hotel is such good value for money, but you do get what you pay for, so simple and standard luxuries that you would get from other hotels, we had to pay for at this hotel - e.g. TV cost 7.50 euros a day, extra towels were 2 euros etc - but this is fine considering the hotel was under 25 euros a night!

We did have an issue during the second night where we paid to watch movies, but the TV broke. We reported it and the staff were helpful and re set the settings, but then when we checked if it worked, it still did not. We decided to catch some sleep instead, but in the morning we complained that we had wasted our money. Once again the staff were very polite and offered to refund the money or move us to a different room, in which the TV worked and allowed us to watch movies for free. Luckily we didnt have much stuff with us, so we easily moved to a different room, where we no longer had issues with the TV.

The location of the hotel was perfect. I was slightly worried that it would be a pain to get the tram to the central, but tram was less than 10 mins from the central dam sq and the 16 and 24 were very frequent, and we never had to wait for more than 5 mins. The area also has a lot of shops and restaurants - which is helpful because the hotel doesnt provide any food service. However it does provide many discounts for restaurants around the hotel location because of this - however we tended just to go in the central dam to have breakfast and dinner.

Overall, the hotel was clean, warm, staff were lovely, had an enjoyable experience and would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny v, Front Office Manager at easyHotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Rose123_13,

Thank you for leaving a review on TripAdvisor.

We will forward you kind words to our staff and we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much.
You understand exacltly what easyHotel stands for a great location and comfortable rooms.


We hope that we can welcome you back at easyHotel Asmterdam City Centre South soon!

With Kind Regards,

Tania Zia
easyHotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to easyHotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about easyHotel Amsterdam

Address: van Ostadestraat 97, 1072 ST Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #212 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — easyHotel Amsterdam 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique concept hotel offers small, simple rooms in the vibrant De Pijp district of Amsterdam. Museum Square is less than a 15-minute walk from easyHotel. Guests book a room only, and can then choose extras for an additional charge, such as TV, Wi-Fi and cleaning.Private bathrooms with a shower are standard in the air-conditioned rooms at easyHotel Amsterdam. A remote for the flat-screen TV can be rented at the front desk, where guests can also pay for access to the Wi-Fi, if they would like. The modern, bright rooms have limited under-bed storage and one coat/suit hanger with hooks.The RAI Convention Centre is a 15-minute walk away. Amsterdam easyHotel is a 10-minute walk from the Heineken Experience. The nearest tram stop is 100 yards away on the Ferdinand Bolstraat. It offers direct services to Amsterdam Central Station via trams 16 or 24. Bus and tram tickets can be purchased at the front desk.The property has a 24-hour front desk, air conditioning, and snack and drink vending machines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your easyHotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage easyHotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.