We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must visit if you are in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paknam Pho - CLOSED

Paknam Pho
Nieuwe Nieuwstraat 22, 1012 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 752 2816
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $14 - $29
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Cosy traditional Thai restaurant in the centre of Amsterdam, we only work with fresh ingredients, meals are based on family recepies.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A must visit if you are in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Read the reviews of this place before we went here and truth be told it is probably one of the best meals I had on my Eurotrip. A warm and friendly couple welcome you with open arms and are really accommodating. My husband had a stirfry with chicken and I had a chicken soup which definitely hit the spot considering the weather in Amsterdam. Very cute and tiny restaurant and a must visit for a trip to Amsterdam. One small request maybe - when a person is ordering probably ask if they would like mild medium or hot. My husband enjoyed his meal but would have definitely preferred it to be hot.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaknamPho, Eigenaar at Paknam Pho, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank You for your review, and we hope to see you soon.

with regards,

Paknam Pho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    31
    18
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Essex, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Delicious food in tiny, friendly, authentic restaurant :-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Had a delicious cosy meal in this hidden gem of a restaurant!
The chicken satay was amazing as was the pad Thai!
Definitely would return, friendly owner, amazing food and fantastic value!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“If you've been to Bangkok and liked the food, you'll love this!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Stumbled across this restaurant by mistake and so glad we did.

It's a small place with only 8 tables but don't let that put you off. You're greeted by a very friendly waiter who incidentally is the owner as well.
The menu speaks for itself.

Satay chicken is a must, the peanut sauce is to die for. The Pad Thai with chicken, also is lovely, reminds me of Singapore noodles with chopped nuts on top. Also tried a new dish of chicken, curry potatoes, veg and rice. Again, fantastic.

Everything myself and girlfriend had was delicious. Even when full, we didn't want to leave a scrap.

Please try it and recommend it to your friends.

Great Thai restaurant, if you've never had Thai, think of alternative to a Chinese with fresher flavours. Yummy.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Fantastic authentic thaifood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Great service, food, atmosphere.... go there if you like thai - true thai... very welcomming staff, fast service and the waiter was able to tell us about the wines - which was very fair pricewise - 16 € pr bottle and very good....

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best Mixed Vegetables”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This little restaurant is a gem, tucked away on a side alley and not in all the hustle and bustle. The mixed vegetables were the best I have ever had -- I can't eat really spicy food, and in contrast to most other Thai restaurants, these were very tasty and made with lots of care. The shrimp appetizers and the red chicken curry were also very tasty.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paknam Pho also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paknam Pho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.