We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for a short stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nassaukade 387 - 390, 1054AE Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #224 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ok for a short stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

This hotel was quite far away from the centre but good to explore from. The staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was on the first floor so you can just walk up the stairs. Our room was the smallest I'd ever seen and for what we paid for it seemed quite expensive. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. There is a safe in the wardrobe, should you need it. The bathroom couldn't really fit 2 people comfortably but that was clean too.

For just a short stay, this hotel would be fine but for the room we stayed in, we wouldn't stay here for longer stays.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    198
    150
    69
    40
See reviews for
28
271
31
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

A friend and I stayed at the Hampshire hotel at the end of July and it was excellent for exploring Amsterdam. Good airport and city centre links. The hotel is close to bars, restaurants, shops and everything you may need during your stay. We could easily explore the city and get back our hotel. The hotel locks the front door at 11 for security reasons , which as two girls in their 20s we thought was brilliant. If you did go out at night , you simply had to give your room number and name to be let in. Everyone was really polite! I would recommend this place if you want nice place to rest your head while you explore Amsterdam!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middlesbrough
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

This hotel is about a 25 minute walk south of Dam Square, which means you get to see parts of the city you wouldn't if you stay in a very central hotel. Do not get a taxi from the hotel to the airport when you go home, get the 197 bus from round the corner (it's 5 Euros as oppose to 40 for a cab). I had a feeling the rooms were going to be small after reading the reviews so i upgraded our room for 15 Euros, the room was fine, pretty big for a European city hotel. The surrounding area of this hotel is fantastic, it's not as full of tourists as the main centre & the prices of beer, food & contents of coffeeshops reflect this. There is a shooting range near by that is lots of fun just google Amsterdam Bachelor. The female member of staff who was working this morning (17/08/14) was really helpful & courteous. Walking from this hotel into the main centre in one of the greatest cities on Earth was amazing & I would probably stay again as the location is fantastic. The readily available free coffees, lattes, espressos etc out of the machine in the bar area is a very nice touch. There are 2 coffeeshops less than 5 minutes away that are literally half the price of the more central places if that's your sort of thing. Vondelpark, The Rijksmuseum & Van Gogh Museum are all about a 5 minute walk! The bed was pretty comfy & was just what i needed after sampling all that Amsterdam had to offer.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

My partner and I stayed here, not a bad location at all to be fair. Right next to the Leids Square, near all of the restaurants and bars. The room was very, very small indeed. Number 305. The layout of this room needs to be sorted, a massive desk in the corner, with 2 beds shoved right in the middle, minimal room to move about.....although I have to admit, the room was clean, would benefit from air con as well, even though the outside temperature was cool. My main issue here was the staff, some of them are very polite and helpful, the lady who was on the day shift this week was particularly helpful, but the chap on the night shift on 11/08 was rude, unhelpful and arrogant. Everything requested seemed to be an issue and was followed with a sigh, to hear "I only have one pair of hands" isn't particularly appealing to a customer and also when you ask for a can of Fanta, to hear "why don't you put 2 euros in the machine", followed by a shake of the head - not great. Good customer service costs nothing,but clearly hated his job! He would be sacked on the spot if he worked for me. But apart from this and overall, not bad, would have lived up to its 3 stars if the staff put a bit more effort in. Also, the airport transfer, which is apparently set at a price of 35 euros, cost 40 euros when we arrived at the airport? only 5 euros, difference, but it's not the point. The Driver was working on the meter. This needs addressing, people do NOT want ripping off by these con merchants. a set price is a set price.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefaanvdS, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Pete,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and our service. I understand that customer service makes a difference in the total experience when you are in a hotel. Your points raised will therefore be addressed so we can benefit from your feedback. In the mean time I wish to appologise for any misplaced behaviour by my staff.

With kindest regards,
Stefaan, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

As others say a bit of work goin on next door but where our room was we never seen or heard a thing. A 2 minute walk from the airport link bus although us 2 dafties walked by it lol . Friendly welcome & although not the biggest room in the world it was ideal for me & the wife. Nice comfy bed & that's a rarity in my experience. Would go back there at the drop of a hat

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Executive Summary

Pros - Friendly staff, decent location, free coffee or tea in reception, clean

Cons - Ongoing construction next door, noisy road, bathroom smells, small rooms (standard for 3 star hotels in Western Europe)

Overall it was an ok stay at the hotel par the noise. However the building next door is undergoing construction and therefore, given there is no A/C so windows must be opened during the summer, it is quite noisy in the morning - they start work at 8am.

Top tip - If budget permits, I would recommend spending a little extra for a hotel with A/C, as in the summer it may be hot and with window open, it can be noisy given the proximity of road.

Room Tip: No A/C in all rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefaanvdS, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feed-back. I am sorry you suffered from noise nuisance from our neighbours. As we were ourselves not informed about these works we were unfortunately not able to take precautions. I appreciate that this has taken away a lot of your comfort, but am also pleased to learn your enjoyed our hotel, staff and location.

With kindest regards,
Stefaan, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed in June during the world cup.
Hotel is located near Leiden Square (plenty of restaurants and bars), about a 25 minute walk from Central Station.
Hotel staff were pleasant, friendly and helpful.
Rooms were basic and quite small but clean and what you would expect for the price.
To get in at night you have to ring the intercom but there was always someone there to let us in.
Free WiFi worked fine in our rooms. Free tea and coffee in reception lounge.
Ask at reception for an iron and board.
Hotel was quiet as it wasn't directly next to the hustle and bustle so you can get a good night sleep.
Also there is a Lidl just around the corner should you need it.
Overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam

Address: Nassaukade 387 - 390, 1054AE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #224 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We’re located in the city centre, near the many bars, restaurants and cafes of Leidseplein. Just a few minutes away are the Vondelpark, Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum, as well as the main shopping streets. We’re a charming and cosy three-star hotel with 70 rooms, a stylish bar, a lounge, free internet in the lobby and the warmest of welcomes from our friendly staff. Enjoy a free fresh coffee or tea during your entire stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Centre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.