We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice and very friendly boutique hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of King's Villa Hotel

Save Saved
You added King's Villa Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
AMOMA.com TheHotels.com
and 2 more sites!
King's Villa Hotel
Koningslaan 64, Amsterdam 1075 AG, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #190 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
surrey
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A nice and very friendly boutique hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011 via mobile

This hotel is in a very nice area but a little way outside central Amsterdam.but a tram is nearby which goes straight into town. The rooms are well appointed but a bit on the small side. Breakfast is good and the staff are really friendly. It backs on to lake and is very picturesque.
A nice pace to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
6
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

My wife and I stayed here last weekend (September 2011) for two nights. It was our first time in Amsterdam, and so we weren't sure about which parts of town were convenient for tourists - it turns out the King's Villa was perfect for us. It's a 10-minute tram ride (Number 2 line) from the touristy areas, where you can find museums, restaurants, shopping, etc. Just get off at the Valeriusplein stop, walk three blocks, and there's the hotel. Very convenient! The hotel itself is a renovated mansion that backs up to the Vondel Park. It's very comfy and cozy inside, with a very pretty stained glass window as you walk up the staircase to your room (there's also a tiny elevator, but if you're a claustrophobe like, you'll appreciate that you can take stairs up to your room). The hotel staff during our check-in/check-out were all very friendly and spoke excellent English. Our room was a "superior double room" (room 116) and it was a fair size by American standards and HUGE by European standards. Very comfy king size bed, flat screen TV with several English programs, small smoker's balcony off the bedroom and another off the bathroom.

The only reason I gave this hotel four stars instead of five is because the bathroom is a bit outdated and the breakfast downstairs is overpriced (12 Euros/person). But my wife wanted me to mention that the bathroom had very nice shampoo, conditioner, etc because "that's the type of stuff women care about". So there you go, ladies. Nice shampoo that made me feel pretty.

If you want a good (and cheaper) breakfast option, I'd recommend Bagels and Beans at Koningsplein 20 (Number 2 tram line from the hotel to Koningsplein). We sat in the window and a had a great view of one of the canals on a rainy morning for half the price of breakfast at the hotel). Maximum quaintness.

All things considered, it turns out this was a really good option for us in a great location. We were able to enjoy all the tourist attractions in Amsterdam, and at the end of the night we were happy to be in a hotel that was a short tram ride away from the rowdiness.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iran
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

we had a family trip to amsterdam,it was so nice ,staff were very kind and helpful,the place of hotel is very quite and nice and near to a great vandle park,the complete place for rest and to be far from city noise.i sure that if i comming back to amsterdam in future i will go directly to kings villa hotel

Room Tip: all roomes are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

We have stayed at King's villa 2 times and we really enjoy it.
it is right on Vondel Park in a very attractive neighborood. it has an amazing back area.
The bed is soft and comfortable. it's nice to have the rooms with the small balconies. Nespresso in the rooms.
The carpets are shag and stained ( both times and rooms we stayed ) and a few other flaws but still all is made up for by the coziness and the location.
bonus, dogs are allowed.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2010

Amsterdam’s public transport system is superb. Just a few hundred meters from the hotel is tram line 2, for quick and easy connection with nearly all the city’s highlights. Turn the other way for beautiful Vondelpark at your doorstep. Hotel’s recent change to private ownership is amply shown by staff’s attention to detail. My Labrador dog was treated like a princess, no quarrel on my part with the name King’s Villa. A look at the hotel’s website may be worth your while, it tells the truth.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

Gorgeous loft room with the large bathtub was amazing! Beautiful mansion turned to hotel in a decent location if you plan on being home before 1 am as that's when the latest train drops off. Otherwise it is too far to walk from the town center and a taxi is out of the question. Soo expensive!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to King's Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Villa Hotel

Also Known As:
Toro Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Koningslaan 64, Amsterdam 1075 AG, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #190 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the edge of Amsterdam Vondelpark, situated in a quiet and elegant neighbourhood, is a splendid villa built in art nouveau style: the King's Villa Hotel. The classic, romantic appeal of the hotel tells a tale years gone by. Relax and soak up the luxury and homely atmosphere of a hotel where everything has been designed to meet your wishes. The breakfastroom offers a marvellous view of the Vondelpark and evenings are spent in style with a drink in the hotel’s elegant lounge or, in summer, on the patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your King's Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King's Villa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.