We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Choice in Amsterdam but not as Nice as Your Typical Swissotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Swissotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Swissotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damrak 96, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
17% discount now!
Ranked #47 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good Choice in Amsterdam but not as Nice as Your Typical Swissotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2009

We chose the Swissotel primarily for its location and the fact that we can depend on the chain for decent service and rooms. The hotel did not disappoint us there but, as mentioned before, this branch of the chain is a notch below the others when it comes to decor and available services.

The location is very central and you can walk almost everywhere in the city, even the art museums if you are willing to spend the 30-40 minutes. It is across from De Bijenkorf, one of Amsterdam's top department store with an excellent food hall on its top floor - a good choice for some of your meals. The Kalvertstraat shopping street is directly behind the hotel and the Nieuwe Kerk and Royal Palace around the corner. Many of the city's tram lines stop in front of the hotel and most of the rest stop two blocks away near the big Albert Heijn supermarket where you should be able to find almost anything you would need during your visit.

One of our rooms was ready the morning we arrived and we stowed our bags there before heading off to get some brunch before checking back to see if the other room was ready. My room was not clean when we checked back but the desk clerk found me a clean room without any prompting on my part. Most of the rooms overlook 'streets' on the sides of the hotel that are about six feet wide. The only ones overlooking anything but other walls are those on the short sides of the hotel at the back on the Kalvertstraat or the expensive Executive rooms overlooking the Damrak and Dam Square. Windows are double paned and it was surprisingly quiet given how noisy the neighborhood is. The rooms might be described as modern? Very while and blue and somewhat sterile. I did not mind it at all but anyone looking for character will be disappointed. Everything worked well and there was the usual impressive Swissotel espresso machine. The beds were quite comfortable, the TV had English language channels so you could keep abreast of world news and it was easy to keep the room at the desired temperature.

This hotel really has the atmosphere of a small hotel. There is a small work out room and a room with three computers for guests to use on the same floor. The lobby is tiny and the desk staff double as the concierge. One bellman on duty. They were all very good and they gave you the impression that you were staying in a more upscale hotel with very personal service. The restaurant was okay - not great and not horrible.

We paid just over $200 a night for our room and I would definitely return to the Swissotel if I could find rooms at that price again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLAMS, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 24, 2009
Thank you for having been our guest lately. I hope you had a pleasant trip back home. Although you didn’t find us ‘as Nice as Your Typical Swissôtel’ I am however very happy to learn you would definitely return to the Swissôtel Amsterdam if you could find rooms at that price again. We are more than happy to welcome you back.

Thank you for writing your very informative review.

Kind regards,

Steffan Haans
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    853
    640
    206
    65
    42
See reviews for
218
807
132
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2009

My girlfriend and I recently spent 3 nights at the Swissotel Amsterdam and I could not have been more pleased with both the property and the service. We showed up with no reservation and the lady at the desk was about as good as it gets. She really could not have been more accomidating and helpful, from the minute we checked in until the day we left this women did not hesitate to offer help in any way she could, outstanding staff overall. I could go on about the many things I loved about this hotel; A+ Location, free internet in the Swissotel Office, great gym, charming appearence. While I don't forsee myself traveling to Amsterdam again anytime soon, I will no doubt recommend this hotel to anyone & everyone making the trip.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLAMS, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 21, 2009
Dear GlobalMarley,

Thank you very much for granting Swissôtel Amsterdam 5 bullets. It is very important for a hotel to produce good reviews as people nowadays will check Tripadvisor first before booking a room. It really is pure joy to read that you couldn’t have been happier you’re your Swissôtel Amsterdam experience. That is what we are ranking for.
I really appreciate you taking the time to write your review and although you don’t foresee yourself returning to Amsterdam shortly I do hope that when the opportunity occurs you will choose Swissôtel Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Steffan Haans
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2009

Located beside Dam Square you won't get more central than this and yet it was quiet so no problem sleeping. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was average size and kept clean. Excellent restaurant attached to it. If I return to Amsterdam I will have no hesitation staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

I stayed in the Swissotel from the 23rd to the 26th October 09 with my boyfriend. I looked it up on Tripadvisor before booking it & was happy with the reviews so i went ahead & booked it.
On first impressions the hotel looks plain & small. On entering the lobby it is small but welcoming. Luigi, the reception was very chatty & welcoming to us. We arrived in the hotel about 10am even though check in isnt until 2pm, they allowed us to check in. The room was smallish compared to what Im used to very clean & tidy. The bed is very comfy. The bathroom is small with a bath & overhead shower. I would of liked a handrail to help get into/out of the bath. Light fittings around the bathroom mirror was very nice.

The hotel is located right next to Dam square & though there was a funfair on the square, noise wasnt a problem. Our room backed out on to a lane way, but we'd no problem with this as we didnt book into the hotel for the view!

Bedsheets/ towels can be changed everyday if you place a card on the bed requesting it, or leave the towels on the floor. On our first morning there though, house cleaner knocked on the door at 9am, which i considered way to early!

The location is excellent, the staff are friendly. The cost of the 3 nights stay was €407 which is a little bit high for considering its location I would stay here again. Its within walking distance of all attractions, ie red light district, canal tours, wax museum etc.

I would definetly stay here again, and wouldnt hestiate in recommending it to my family/friends.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venlo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

We visited the Swissotel Amsterdam last weekend. We booked a junior suite and this was amazing! We could see the Dam Square from our room and all the attractions of Amsterdam are within a couple of minutes walking.
This hotel offers an excellent service and really has friendly personnel. Even the cook was really friendly and asked several times if he could do anything.
This hotel deserves a good recommendation!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mesa, California USA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2009

The only reason I did not give this property a "very good" instead of "good" is it just seemed a bit run down to be a Swissotel...Stains on carpet and curtains, a few cracks in bathroom tiles, just looked a little dated.

However, the location is excellent, just next to Dam Square (our room even had a view of the Square) -- very convenient to all the major attractions in the city and close to the main train station.

The room was large and comfortable -- it was quiet once we managed to get our window shut properly. We got a good deal on hotels.com booking last minute; I'd recommend that and also the Swissotel Web Site had some posted specials.

Not as nice as other Swissotel properties I have stayed in, but excellent location. Wireless Internet was available for a fee; Business Center was free but you had to use their computers. This was a bit of a bummer for a property that is supposed to be aimed at business travelers.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

After a horrible experience with a B&B in Amsterdam, we ended up at the Swissotel in the middle of Dam Square. The employees were extremely kind and very welcoming. We ended up in a suite that was just lovely. We had an issue with the paid movies showing previews and the internet went down for a few hours, but those issues were quickly resolved. The location of the Swissotel is absolutely perfect for everything you need to see/do in Amsterdam. It is only minutes from the Red Light District. It is surrounded by shopping, restaurants and the bus and tram run directly in front of the hotel. I highly recommend the Swissotel. Happy travels!

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#18 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 603 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Centrum
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Amsterdam

Address: Damrak 96, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Amsterdam boasts the best location in town, right at Dam Square in the heart of the city centre. Being just 20km from Schiphol Airport and a short walk from Central Station, this 4-star hotel offers a perfect base for your stay in Amsterdam. All major sights and attractions are within walking distance. Offering 110 soundproof rooms and suites, Swissotel Amsterdam makes a quiet and comfortable haven amidst a bustling density of high-end shops, restaurants and bars.All rooms include a Nespresso coffee machine and individually controllable climate control. Hotel guests have free access to Swissotel Amsterdam Fitness, featuring state of the art cardio-vascular equipment, and to the Business Centre, providing free internet and office supplies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Swissotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Swissotel Hotel
Swiss Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swissotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.