We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Location, walking distance to all atractions” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Swissotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Swissotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damrak 96, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
LONDON
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
“Central Location, walking distance to all atractions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

Having stayed in the Swissotel twice, we have found this Hotel the most perfectly located Hotel, on the corner of Dam Square, next to the Palace. The Hotel is small (as most are in Old Amsterdam), the hotel stylish, maybe not to every taste, but clean and modern. The room we have had both times, looks out onto the main street (The Damrak), opposite the Department Store. Most complain about the noise, especially from the constantly running trams, although this did not bother us, having lived in London for so long, we must be immune to noise.
The restaurant served ample, typically Continental Style Breakfasts, the restaurant of an evening served good food in an ambient setting, perfect for a couple to relax and unwind.
The reception staff were always very helpful and would suggest good restaurants, clubs, pubs and sightseeing, off the usual tourist circuit, (or as they often told us, "This is where the Beautiful People go"). Our room, which was front facing on the second floor, with a large bay window, was always clean and well aired.

The location was perfect to suit all tastes of tourist, from leaving the hotel lobby, turn left for Tat, Sex and the Seedy side of Amsterdam, turn right and cross the square for Culture, Museums, Shopping and the Restaurant District, best of both worlds and set perfectly between the two.
Everything we wanted to see on both visits, was within walking distance from the Hotel, which was great especially when you have shopped too heavily at the Flower Market.

We would recommend this hotel to anyone on either business or leisure in Amsterdam. It's in a perfectly safe location in the very centre of Amsterdam

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    777
    603
    190
    61
    40
See reviews for
187
752
124
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San José, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

My husband and I were looking for a boutique hotel in the center of Amsterdam, and Swissotel exceeded our expectations. It is a small, but trendy hotel, right on Dam Square. Its location is absolutely perfect: next to the red light disctrict as well as to the main shopping area of the city and nearby plenty of restaurants and cafes.

The concierge at the hotel was really helpful at finding excellent eating places. Our favorite cafe of the area: Luxembourg Cafe.

The rooms at the hotel were a bit small, though normal for European standard. And the downstairs cafeteria was a bit expensive, but you have the option of choosing both á la carte or the buffet.

Swissotel is definitely a good choice for couples and small families. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

We chose this hotel because we were travelling with our parents and needed a wheelchair accessible hotel.

The room wwas of adequate size. The decor was kind of 70s international style circa James Bond. The room was of adequate size. The bathroom was too small for two adults to use simultaneously but adequate for one person. The layout of the hotel is constrained due to the confines of the building footprint. My parents room across the hallway was enormous and had a courtyard view. We had a view of the neighboring building which is under renovation.

The staff was attentive and seemed to especially get along with my parents :) Dam square is very central. The whole city is very beautiful and if we ever return we would like to sample some of the non city central neighborhoods. The locatino is great for a first visit until you find the neighborhood that you really like.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2009

Not having been to Amsterdam, this hotel was perfect. It was right in Dam Square which is walking distance to everything in Amsterdam. The room was simple but nice and the bathroom was huge and very clean. Our window looked out to a shaft but it had some natural light and we are nighttime people anyways, so we didn't mind.
The hotel had a nice cafe to eat at. Dinner was especially quiet and romantic, but casual.
Rooms had all the amenities and again, the location could not be more perfect!

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

The location is excellent and its surprisingly quiet in the rooms, which is not common in Amsterdam. I like the staff; they are happy to answer any requests but at the same time will leave you to yourself. I would recommend this hotel to anyone on business or leisure in Amsterdam. It's a safe haven right in the heart of Amsterdam and 100 meters from the RLD. A little pricey but look where it's at. I've tried several other hotels in the area of the same class and this is the by far the best choice for the Area. You won't be dissapointed.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

Couldn't be in a better spot for access to anywhere in the city. Superb front desk staff--the concierges are very knowledgeable. The lobby and rooms leave something to be desired but are clean, neat and comfortable--just a bit dreary. There is a restaurant in the hotel that fronts on the street. We didn't try it--there's a great bakery down the street where a continental breakfast is very reasonably priced. I filled out the hotel's questionnaire and got a reply back from the manager--that's great service!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2009

We decided to stay in the Swissotel Amsterdam after having stayed in the Swissotel Istanbu, which was a great hotel, very comfortable with excellent service and amenities. The location of this hotel is very good, right on Dam Square and within walking distance of all the main attractions of Amsterdam. Unfortunately when we got to our room, we found that our "king size" bed was actually two single beds pushed together. Returned to reception to request a proper bed, and was given an alternative room on the first floor overlooking a very noisy side alleyway... And later discovered that this too was a pair of single beds masquerading as a king size! Too tired / lazy to argue, we gave up, and stayed put.

There was no bell-boy or any offers to assist with our luggage on arrival, and overall the service was well below par for a four star hotel. The rooms, although fairly clean, were very dated looking, probably the height of fashion in the 1980's but not now.

So to summarize, top location but let down by the rooms, service, and the apparent lack of double beds!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swissotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Amsterdam

Address: Damrak 96, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#37 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Amsterdam boasts the best location in town, right at Dam Square in the heart of the city centre. Being just 20km from Schiphol Airport and a short walk from Central Station, this 4-star hotel offers a perfect base for your stay in Amsterdam. All major sights and attractions are within walking distance. Offering 110 soundproof rooms and suites, Swissotel Amsterdam makes a quiet and comfortable haven amidst a bustling density of high-end shops, restaurants and bars.All rooms include a Nespresso coffee machine and individually controllable climate control. Hotel guests have free access to Swissotel Amsterdam Fitness, featuring state of the art cardio-vascular equipment, and to the Business Centre, providing free internet and office supplies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Swissotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Swissotel Hotel
Swiss Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swissotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.