We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location within walking distance of train station” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Swissotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Swissotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damrak 96, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% OFF YOUR STAY
Ranked #52 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Natchez, Mississippi
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
319 helpful votes 319 helpful votes
“Central location within walking distance of train station”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2008

Clean hotel in the heart of Amsterdam a ten-minute walk from the train station. The business center offers free Internet and printing. You have to use the key card to use most of the facilities, including the elevator. There are a number of restaurants on the same block as the hotel – and many are open late.

Denver Mullican, New Orleans

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    492
    152
    46
    33
See reviews for
147
538
96
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2008

Hotel is good, nice rooms, typical European standard. A bit noisy doors and A/C.
But if you came to Amsterdam for some adventure… you know what I mean…..this hotel not for you.
You not allowed smoke in the room or even bring to your room Anything!!!
Excellent location. Will be great for families and kids, but not for 21-35 adults

  • Liked — location !!!!!!!!! GREAT
  • Disliked — no smoking in the room
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2008

Stayed in the Swissotel during the weekend of the marathon. Booked the Junior suite and had a room on the 3rd floor overlooking Dam Square. All the staff were very nice and helpful with little touches like a complementary half bottle of wine and toblerone when we arrived in our room.

Only downside was the Dam square fun fare which was quite noisy but we expected a little noise from the trams and being so close to the square. This was out of the hotels control and it did not spoil our visit.

The room was very special, clean and modern with a huge bed so if you fall out with your partner there will still be plenty of room for you both to share the bed and create quite a large no mans area. Bathrobe and slippers were also provided but you had to leave the bathrobe on your departure the slipper although cheap you could keep. Usual mini bar, safe, LCD wide screen TV, DVD player and music centre.

We ate in the hotel on our first evening and were quite happy with the meal, service and price. Breakfast is quite expensive but sometimes you get what you pay for. Just across from the hotel is de Bijenkorf store and its well worth a visit to the 5th floor food hall which is open till 7pm I think but it is very modern with a good choice of foods which are all freshly cooked and prepared while you wait. For me and my wife to eat a lovely meal with wine cost only 33 euros. Great if you’re not sure what you fancy and you can eat outside on their terrace garden.

Another gem we found was the new library between the central station and Nemo. Top floor has a wonderful eating place where again the food is freshly prepared and cooked as you order. You can eat out side with great views of Amsterdam.

Overall had a great weekend and if going back again I would definitely have no problems staying here again.

  • Liked — Central, clean and friendly staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2008

I was very happy with our stay at the Swissotel in Amsterdam. The location is great, right on Dam Square, so perfect for sightseeing. It's also an easy walk down the main street to the train station, so getting to/from the airport is quite simple and reliable - much better than going by bus or car.

The room was clean, modern and well-appointed, with a comfortable bed, good closet space, coffeemaker, and a lovely bathroom. We faced a small alley, away from the front of the hotel, so no view but no problems with noise. I also much appreciated the free internet access in the business center.

Breakfast was good, included with our package (I would not pay 20 pounds for it otherwise.)

On previous trips I've stayed at the Crowne Plaza (nearer the train station, area and rooms weren't as nice) and the NH New Amsterdam (beautiful but a long way to the train station, better if you're traveling by car.) For leisure travel I would pick the Swissotel again.

  • Liked — location; business center with free internet access
  • Stayed June 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2008

I found this hotel was ok. The location is excellent for a trip to Amsterdam only a short walk to everywhere you need to go. I think it was rated as a 4 star but i would have thought it's more like a 3 star hotel. The breakfast is very expensive 20 per person. The rooms are a decent size and were clean and comfy. The decor was just a bit outdated. Apparently hotels in amsterdam are quite expensive so I'd say this would be a standard 4 star over there.
Dam square is lively and there is lots going on there during the day. You would be right next to shopping areas, canal tours, madamme tussauds, close to red light district and anne frank house. Van gogh museum is about 20 mins walk away. Also big tip for anyone don't get a taxi from the airport. It cost us 50 euro and was only about 15 mins in a taxi. I don't think they are regulated so they charge what they like.
There is a train from central station that will take you straight to the airport for a few euro. Its a few hundred yards from the hotel.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — outdated decor
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2008

Smart and high standard (for Amsterdam) where good hotels are at a premium in the centre.

Please note, that luscious building portrayed on the Swissotel website is Dam Palace, not the Swissotel :-) The actual property is a rather narrow but pleasing facade given a bit of extra presence by some big Swiss flags.

The standard room was nice, smart, but really rather tight. Saying that it was laid out very intelligently and everything had its own little space. My room had a Nespresso machine which was not functioning. Rather smokey smell despite being a n-s room.

Business facilities were good and quick internet connection. The concierge was a very helpful guy. He was needed because there was a lack of communication between the Swissotel website and the hotel's reservations. But he sorted it out nicely.

The bar is rather dead and throws you out on the dot of midnight, which is a shame but good for business.

Not cheap by any means but it's fine and if you're in this part of town I think it's the best option available.

Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2008

After some dissapointment with our previous stay in London, and especially in Paris, we really find this swissotel Amsterdam a big relief; a Sort of happy ending of our long travel. It costs me cheaper than a small hotel in Paris.

It has clean, very spacious room, relatively new, and nice modern design, with full facilities, mini bar, tea and coffer maker, sofa, business desk, internet connection, etc. etc. Right in the heart of amsterdam, with view from my room directly to dam square. Hotel staffs are very nice, the services meets professional expectations.

I will recommend to everyone who wish to stay in great hotel in the heart of amsterdam city!

The only note from me is the street noise, they could have made it better sound-proof. But, with dam square view and ambience, it pays off to me, but probably not for everybody.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swissotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Amsterdam

Address: Damrak 96, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#42 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Amsterdam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Amsterdam boasts the best location in town, right at Dam Square in the heart of the city centre. Being just 20km from Schiphol Airport and a short walk from Central Station, this 4-star hotel offers a perfect base for your stay in Amsterdam. All major sights and attractions are within walking distance. Offering 110 soundproof rooms and suites, Swissotel Amsterdam makes a quiet and comfortable haven amidst a bustling density of high-end shops, restaurants and bars.All rooms include a Nespresso coffee machine and individually controllable climate control. Hotel guests have free access to Swissotel Amsterdam Fitness, featuring state of the art cardio-vascular equipment, and to the Business Centre, providing free internet and office supplies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelsNL, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, EasyToBook and Otel so you can book your Swissotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Swissotel Hotel
Swiss Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swissotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.