We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amsterdam business trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Swissotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Swissotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damrak 96, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Beverage!
Ranked #53 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Lasswade
1 review
“Amsterdam business trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Excellent & welcoming Hotel staff, great for business but would use for a short stay holiday too! easy access to city visitor attractions and local transport. If you want to see Amsterdam this is a great base

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
On behalf of all the colleagues here at Swissôtel Amsterdam I would like to express our sincere appreciation for choosing to stay with us and for also taking the time to share your wonderful feedback with your fellow travelers.

Our team will eagerly await your hopeful return so that we take wonderful care of you once again.

Kind regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager
Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    635
    542
    168
    52
    38
See reviews for
159
618
108
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The hotel staff were very helpful and stored our bags when we arrived early in the morning.
The room was fine and bathroom spotless .
Considering the location it was surprisingly quiet.
It is the location that is perfect, a short walk from Central Station and right by The Square.
It's easier to chose to walk out via the bridges than have to walk in!
Amsterdam was wonderful and really worth a visit when it's so easy to get to. I would certainly make a return trip.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write feedback about your recent stay with us. Happy to read that you would stay with us again, we cannot receive a better compliment than that.

Kind regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager

Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

The hotel is nothing special. I'm not sure what all the good reviews are about? Maybe the location for some people is the most important factor of the hotel. The location is great, can't argue with that... but this is where alle the excitment ends...

The room was very small... not 20m2+ as advertised. I guess they add up the bathroom to the room size. It didn't look like the picture on the website. When we said this in the reception they couldn't be less bothered.

Wouldn't expect much but the price was quite high... higher than good hotels in London or Paris.

If you care only about the location it might be a hotel for you... but I think there are better hotels nearby for the similar or better price.

Room Tip: Don't choose standard room as they are very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and mentioning our wonderful location. We are very proud to be centrally located close to all the main attractions and shops.
I am sorry to read that we were unable to meet your expectations, it goes without saying that the staff should have been more attentive to your complaints, please accept my sincere apologies.
We are planning on renovating our classic rooms beginning next year, fitting the modern interior of the hotel.

Kind regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager
Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Very good hotel with polite service in the center of town. Very close to central station, shops and main squares with numerous cafes.

Rooms were not huge but big enough compared to other hotels. All was clean except the couple of hairs on the sheets, which were not properly removed (the sheets were fresh, this happens with washing in hotels as far as I know).

Service was polite and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
First and foremost I would like to thank you for having stayed with us during your time in Amsterdam.
Thank you for pointing out our friendly and polite service.

Secondly, it goes without saying that Housekeeping should do an excellent job and I am appalled to learn that they did not. It is unacceptable to find hairs on the sheets and I will make sure to take this up with our Housekeeping Department.

Please accept our sincere apologies.

Kind regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager
Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We have just got back from a weekends break at Swissotel. I cannot fault them. The rooms are clean and tidy, we were even lucky enough to be able to check in before 12, which having arrived early was lovely.

The staff are nothing but helpful and even helped organise a birthday surprise. Would highly recommend this hotel, the location is second to none, allowing you to walk to all the sights, once off the train from the airport we didn't use any transport again till we left, yet saw most major sites.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back that was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and mentioning our wonderful location. We are very proud to be centrally located close to all the main attractions and shops.
I am very glad to hear that we were able to accommodate in organizing a birthday surprise! In the future if you require any assistance before arriving at the hotel our concierge is always at your disposal.

Kind regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager
Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

I travelled with family (Mum and my wee brother). We booked a 3 bed standard room and was upgraded to business at check in, courtesy of the hotel. This hotels location is ideal. One can literary cover almost all the touristy bits of amsterdam within walking distance. Very near to Central station as well.

The hotel is well maintained. The exterior and interior of the hotel was very new and well kept. We had a large LCD screen, and a nespresso machine in the room which was great. Beds and pillow were very comfortable. I am very particular on how bathrooms are maintained when i stay in a hotel, and i would say that swissotel was great. It was clean and modern. The staff at the front desk was extremely helpful and nice in giving touristy tips and also booking restaurants for our evening meal. There i a small gym on the 5th floor look well equipt with weight and cardio machine - extensive enough for a quick work out whilst on holiday.

We did not go for the breakfast as we were more keen on eating out as such i cannot comment on them.

I would definitely stay in this hotel the next time i am back in amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Your experience really speaks to what we strive to achieve for all of our guests. Your comments will certainly be shared and will inspire our team members to go the extra mile.
We truly hope that you will find your way back to Amsterdam for another visit and we look forward to providing you our warm and engaging hospitality again.

Kind regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager
Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

This hotel is centrally located adjacent to Dam Square. The location makes it an ideal spot around which to do your sightseeing. The staff are excellent and the facilities and rooms are of a good standard. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Amsterdam. Watch out for the push bikes on the footpath and everywhere else.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
On behalf of all the colleagues here at the Swissôtel Amsterdam I would like to express my most sincere appreciation for you coming to stay with us.
Thank you for mentioning our beautiful location and excellent staff, I will pass on your kind comments.
It is indeed advisable to watch for bikes when crossing the streets here in Amsterdam.
We are greatly looking forward to your possible return to the hotel.

Kind regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager
Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swissotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Amsterdam

Address: Damrak 96, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#37 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#44 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Amsterdam boasts the best location in town, right at Dam Square in the heart of the city centre. Being just 20km from Schiphol Airport and a short walk from Central Station, this 4-star hotel offers a perfect base for your stay in Amsterdam. All major sights and attractions are within walking distance. Offering 110 soundproof rooms and suites, Swissotel Amsterdam makes a quiet and comfortable haven amidst a bustling density of high-end shops, restaurants and bars.All rooms include a Nespresso coffee machine and individually controllable climate control. Hotel guests have free access to Swissotel Amsterdam Fitness, featuring state of the art cardio-vascular equipment, and to the Business Centre, providing free internet and office supplies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Swissotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Swissotel Hotel
Swiss Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swissotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.