We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Swissotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Swissotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damrak 96, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
17% discount now!
Ranked #49 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location but !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

This is a very central location because its basically on Dam Square. The hotel is clean and the staff were excellent. My only issue was the crowds that you encountered as soon as you left the front doors, you had to be careful or you would get run over. There are other numerous hotels in the area close to Dam Square that do not have the throngs of people.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write valuable feedback for our future guests.
As you mentioned our hotel is very centrally located which can include the occasional hustle and bustle in front of the hotel.

Kind regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager
Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    875
    665
    209
    65
    44
See reviews for
223
834
138
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

When I visited hotel lobby, the staff served to us cool mineral water and steamed towel that was really impressived and nice.
Hotel location was the best so I found easily
Easy approach to pubulic transportion
Room was clean and nice but sometimes I heard street noise.






  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review.
Nice to read you enjoyed Amsterdam to the fullest.
It puts a smile on my face reading you found the service at our hotel to be excellent. This is absolutely one of our strengths.
Our rooms do have sound proofed windows, but being located in the bubbly city centre of Amsterdam it is not possible to keep out all of the noise. If you would stay with us again it is advisable to request a room overlooking our courtyard which are more quiet.

I hope we will be able to welcome you again at Swissôtel Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager
Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Providence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

After a transatlantic trip could not expect a better reception and comfortable hotel in the center of Amsterdam. The rooms are clean, comfortable well designed and decorated.
The staff is superb, professional helpful. I will be back and recommend to all.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write feedback about your recent stay with us. Happy to read that you will recommend the hotel and stay with us again, we cannot receive a better compliment than that.
I will inform my colleagues of your wonderful comments in regard to the service and inspire them to continue to do so.

Kind regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager

Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

This hotel has a perfect location, it is clean, nice with a very friendly and helpful personnel.
I strongly recommend this hotel to anybody. It is perfect no just for family trip but for any sort of trips: individual or in group.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write valuable feedback for our future guests.
We are very proud to be centrally located close to all the main attractions and shops.
Thank you for recommending our hotel, we couldn't receive a better compliment.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager
Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

If you plan to explore Amsterdam on foot, this hotel is perfectly situated. The room has all the amenities you require: coffee machine, wifi, air conditioning even though it had sort of a motel look to it.
The front desk staff are exceptional. I was overwhelmed, arriving at 8:00A.M. to be informed that if I didn't mind waiting just a couple of minutes, my room would be ready for me. What a pleasant surprise after a 14-hour flight!
There were no hidden costs in billing nor any problems with my reservation.
A great hotel for your holiday.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Wow, we feel truly humbled receiving such a wonderful review. We couldn't have given a better description of the hotel and its amenities ourselves. I am very glad to read that we were able to give you your room well before check-in time.

We hope we will be able to welcome you back to our hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager
Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Superior, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for two nights and we really liked it! The location could not be better as it is only a 10 min walk from the train station. This hotel is located in Dam square and only a 15 min walk or so to the Ann Frank house. The bar/restaurant across the street was also very good for late night drinks! The front desk staff was very nice and helpful and everyone spoke English was great! The bed was super comfortable and our rooms air conditioner worked great, it was super hot while we where there so this was great for us! We would stay here again for sure!

Room Tip: Stay off of the main street as we stayed in the back and it was super quite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
I would like to sincerely thank you for having stayed with us during your time in Amsterdam. Thank you for pointing out the convenience of our location and your positive feedback in regard to the hotel and its service in general. We could not have said it better ourselves.
We would love to have you back at the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager
Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

This is a fantastic hotel for location, the entrace is lovely and the staff are very professional and friendly. Our room however did not quite live up to that expectations, although it was just a standard room. The breakfast was good but not fantastic. Overall though, i would recommend, as generally very good. This was our second visit and im sure there will be a third.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
On behalf of all the colleagues here at the Swissôtel Amsterdam I would like to express my most sincere appreciation for you coming to stay with us for the second time.
I also appreciate your feedback with regards to the room, I am very sorry to read that it was not up to your expectation. We are however planning on refurbishing our Classic Rooms beginning next year.
Unfortunately our restaurant facility is outsourced, but I will take note of your comment in regards to the quality of the breakfast.

Our team will eagerly await your hopeful third return so that we take wonderful care of you once again.

Kind regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager
Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#19 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 635 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Centrum
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Amsterdam

Address: Damrak 96, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#36 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#39 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Amsterdam boasts the best location in town, right at Dam Square in the heart of the city centre. Being just 20km from Schiphol Airport and a short walk from Central Station, this 4-star hotel offers a perfect base for your stay in Amsterdam. All major sights and attractions are within walking distance. Offering 110 soundproof rooms and suites, Swissotel Amsterdam makes a quiet and comfortable haven amidst a bustling density of high-end shops, restaurants and bars.All rooms include a Nespresso coffee machine and individually controllable climate control. Hotel guests have free access to Swissotel Amsterdam Fitness, featuring state of the art cardio-vascular equipment, and to the Business Centre, providing free internet and office supplies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Swissotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Swissotel Hotel
Swiss Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swissotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.