We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Swissotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Swissotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damrak 96, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great location and staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Great location and very friendly staff. I really enjoyed my stay here and the room was great. There are plenty of sights and bicycle hire stores nearby. There are also a lot of shopping opportunities.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us, and mentioning our beautiful location. Stepping on a bicycle is a great way to get around in the city, at the hotel we offer bicycles to rent, you can even hire them in advance by contacting us directly.

Kind regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager
Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    772
    599
    188
    61
    40
See reviews for
187
743
123
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lyon, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The hotel has an ideal central location, although rooms on the street side can be very noisy. I ended up walking in and out of the room because it was in such an ideal place. The staff was very nice and friendly upon check out, although there were some billing issues, but most of them were taken care off immediately. Breakfast was great!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and mentioning our wonderful location. We are very proud to be centrally located close to all the main attractions and shops.
Due to this central location the rooms in the front really give you the feeling of being in a big city, with all the hustle and bustle that goes with it. The rooms in the back and inner side are more quiet. It is advisable to mention your preference when booking with us directly.
I am very sorry to read that you experienced some billing issues, please accept our sincere apologies for this inconvenience. If there is anything we can help you with, please be so kind as to contact us directly at amsterdam@swissotel.com so we can follow-up on this matter?

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager
Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Greeted by really friendly attentive staff they couldn't do enough for you. Really nice upgrade to a junior suite with amazing views of the dam square with sparkling wine and nibbles on arrival and every night really special attention to detail was left for us such as the following days weather on a cars and chocolates. Would highly recomend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Wow.. I feel truly humbled and appreciative to read such wonderful feedback on our hotel and especially our attentive service. Your experience really speaks to what we strive to achieve for all of our guests. Your comments will certainly be shared and will inspire all our team members to go the extra mile.
I am glad to read you enjoyed our complimentary upgrade, judging from the bubbles you have received you had something to celebrate, congratulations!
Thank you for recommending us, we cannot receive a better compliment than that, thank you!

We hope to welcome you soon again.

Kind regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager
Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

classic room.

good size, clean, comfort bed, (more than King size.?), i love the bed linen..super soft,
the staff were super helpful, the business room providing computer with internet access and printer with no cost, they served chocolate and nuts also.
as this hotel located right on Dam Square, noise is the problem, noise came from the crowd, tram, traffic light.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you so much for leaving this review and what a compliment to read you loved our bed and linnen. We offer this product in our online shop at www.swissotelathome.com.
We appreciate you mentioning our business center, we indeed offer free access to Apple computers, printer and complimentary amenities such as chocolates. I am glad to read you enjoyed it.
Our rooms do have sound proofed windows, but being located in the bubbly city centre of Amsterdam it is not possible to keep out all of the noise. If you would stay with us again it is advisable to request a room overlooking our courtyard which are more quiet.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager
Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This hotel was central and the staff were wonderfully helpful on any queries we had. Rooms are a good size and the beds were very comfortable. We had an issue with our in room coffee machine and staff fixed it immediately. Overall a great little hotel in a great city

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
So pleased to read that you enjoyed every bit of your stay with us and that our staff could be of assistance in regards to all your questions.
Due to our limited amount of rooms and high quality personal service we offer we are a truly boutique hotel amidst the bigger hotels in the busy city center.

The Swissôtel Amsterdam team hopes to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager

Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Swissotel is very centrally located so expect the noise of a busy city centre when the windows are open. We had no trouble sleeping though, once the windows were closed and the aircon was gently humming away we both went straight off to sleep. The rooms are medium sized and the bathrooms are pretty small but clean and functional. Free WiFi for guests and a turn-down service in the evening were nice touches. The staff were friendly and helpful and there's a left-luggage facility if you need to store your bags before or after your stay. It's a 10 minute walk to the central train station and all that Amsterdam has to offer is walking distance away.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write feedback about your recent stay with us. Happy to read that you enjoyed our friendly service and high-end amenities.
Swissôtel Amsterdam is a 4 star boutique hotel and is situated in 4 monumental buildings, therefore our rooms may vary in view, size and location as all of our guests have different preferences and wishes. It is always advisable to inform us about your room preferences and we will do our utmost to accommodate you accordingly.

We truly hope that you will find your way back to Amsterdam for another visit and we look forward to providing you our warm and engaging hospitality again.

Kind regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager

Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swissotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Amsterdam

Address: Damrak 96, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#31 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#37 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Amsterdam boasts the best location in town, right at Dam Square in the heart of the city centre. Being just 20km from Schiphol Airport and a short walk from Central Station, this 4-star hotel offers a perfect base for your stay in Amsterdam. All major sights and attractions are within walking distance. Offering 110 soundproof rooms and suites, Swissotel Amsterdam makes a quiet and comfortable haven amidst a bustling density of high-end shops, restaurants and bars.All rooms include a Nespresso coffee machine and individually controllable climate control. Hotel guests have free access to Swissotel Amsterdam Fitness, featuring state of the art cardio-vascular equipment, and to the Business Centre, providing free internet and office supplies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Swissotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Swissotel Hotel
Swiss Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swissotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.