We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior location and staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Swissotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Swissotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damrak 96, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% OFF YOUR STAY
Ranked #52 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Superior location and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This hotel was central and the staff were wonderfully helpful on any queries we had. Rooms are a good size and the beds were very comfortable. We had an issue with our in room coffee machine and staff fixed it immediately. Overall a great little hotel in a great city

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
So pleased to read that you enjoyed every bit of your stay with us and that our staff could be of assistance in regards to all your questions.
Due to our limited amount of rooms and high quality personal service we offer we are a truly boutique hotel amidst the bigger hotels in the busy city center.

The Swissôtel Amsterdam team hopes to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager

Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    492
    152
    46
    33
See reviews for
147
538
96
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Swissotel is very centrally located so expect the noise of a busy city centre when the windows are open. We had no trouble sleeping though, once the windows were closed and the aircon was gently humming away we both went straight off to sleep. The rooms are medium sized and the bathrooms are pretty small but clean and functional. Free WiFi for guests and a turn-down service in the evening were nice touches. The staff were friendly and helpful and there's a left-luggage facility if you need to store your bags before or after your stay. It's a 10 minute walk to the central train station and all that Amsterdam has to offer is walking distance away.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write feedback about your recent stay with us. Happy to read that you enjoyed our friendly service and high-end amenities.
Swissôtel Amsterdam is a 4 star boutique hotel and is situated in 4 monumental buildings, therefore our rooms may vary in view, size and location as all of our guests have different preferences and wishes. It is always advisable to inform us about your room preferences and we will do our utmost to accommodate you accordingly.

We truly hope that you will find your way back to Amsterdam for another visit and we look forward to providing you our warm and engaging hospitality again.

Kind regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager

Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

My wife and I just got back from a few days stay at the wonderful Swissotel Amsterdam. A few things to highlight:

- Location: perfect, couldn't ask for a more central location that's a moment's walk from the train station, Dam square, all the shopping streets and canals you could ever want to visit and more. Don't be turned off by staying in a "touristy" area - it's really the best location possible.

- Rooms: nice and clean and comfortable. We had a king size bed that was perfect for the two of us and FINALLY a hotel where the pillows aren't two feet thick! The room otherwise had a large smartTV and air conditioning, spacious closets and a nice bathroom. Really good all around. Based on a Trip Advisor review, we asked (and received) a room on the top floor, so there was absolutely no noise to be heard from the busy streets below. The A/C is a bit loud on the highest setting, but nothing too disturbing.

- Restaurant: unfortunately didn't eat there, but looked nice

-Wi-Fi: Free and worked fine

Staff: Very friendly and was eager to help when we had questions. Also we were able to store our bags there at the hotel until our flight home, so that was nice. They also gave free bottles of water when we left, so that was a nice touch too :)

Overall a great hotel in a great location - would stay there again for sure!

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room on the highest floor possible to make sure you don't hear any noise fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
On behalf of all the colleagues here at Swissôtel Amsterdam I would like to express my most sincere appreciation for having stayed with us during your time in Amsterdam, and leaving such a wonderful review.

I will inform my colleagues of your kind words and continue to inspire our team to always do more for our guests. Moreover, I am glad to read that you enjoyed our complimentary amenities and beautiful location, we are very proud to be centrally located close to all the main attractions and shops.

It is truly a wonderful compliment to receive that you would stay with us again. We hope to welcome you back at Swissôtel Amsterdam soon!

Kind regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager

Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This hotel is all about location, location, and more about location. Red Light District is about 10 minutes walking, Dam Square is about 50 steps away, and the tram is directly in front of the hotel (like 10 steps). Its 20 minutes away from the Heineken Experience as well. If you are planning on being out all day, then i would highly recommend this hotel. Its located perfectly, food and drinks right around the corner, McDonalds/starbucks you name it, its pretty much next door. Rooms are a bit small (but that's expected), the bathrooms are a little bigger than an airline bathroom (first class), they provide toiletries which are replenished everyday. Hotel staff is friendly but not the most helpful (if you don't know your way around, ask them, but also look it up online yourself, as they are not that knowledgeable of their own city. Since everything is walking distance, grab a map from the front desk, and walk your way around yourself. Get lost in Amsterdam, its perfectly safe, and chances are you will learn a lot more, after 1 day, you will be able to navigate around the city without a map. Great cafes, restaurants, bars, only walking distance away.

Can be some street noise, but what the heck, its all part of the experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
On behalf of all the colleagues here at Swissotel Amsterdam I would like to express my most sincere appreciation for having stayed with us during your time in Amsterdam.
We are very proud to be centrally located close to all the main attractions and shops. As you pointed out everything is either in walking distance or easily accessible by public transport or do as the locals do and rent a bike.
I am sorry to read that the front office staff was unable to help you with your requests in regards to the city. We always try to do our best and if we do not know we are more than willing to do some research, I am sorry that this wasn't the case.
Swissôtel Amsterdam is a 4 star boutique hotel and is situated in 4 monumental buildings , therefore our rooms can vary in size. However according to Amsterdam standards the size is quite average.
We hope to welcome you back at our hotel soon, if you do, please check-out our social media pages for the ins and outs of Amsterdam's city life.

Kind regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager
Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Located in the midst of Amsterdam and perfect for walking or taking the tram. Great front desk...friendly personal service and good dining recommendations. The room was comfortable and the hotel has the best beds.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you so much for writing this review, we do indeed pride ourselves to provide calm amidst the hustle and bustle of the Amsterdam city center in which we are located. I am very glad to read that you enjoyed our Swiss service and what a compliment to read that you liked our beds and comfortable rooms.

We would be glad to have you back anytime soon.

Kind regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager
Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Nice break in the middle of Amsterdam.
Friendly and supportive front desk staff.
Got free room upgrade on 2nd trip.
Great location in the middle of everything (train station, tram, shopping, restaurants...)


  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and mentioning our wonderful location. We are very proud to be centrally located close to all the main attractions and shops.
I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed our complimentary upgrade!
We hope to welcome you again soon for a third visit to our hotel.

Kind regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager
Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swissotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Amsterdam

Address: Damrak 96, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#42 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Amsterdam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Amsterdam boasts the best location in town, right at Dam Square in the heart of the city centre. Being just 20km from Schiphol Airport and a short walk from Central Station, this 4-star hotel offers a perfect base for your stay in Amsterdam. All major sights and attractions are within walking distance. Offering 110 soundproof rooms and suites, Swissotel Amsterdam makes a quiet and comfortable haven amidst a bustling density of high-end shops, restaurants and bars.All rooms include a Nespresso coffee machine and individually controllable climate control. Hotel guests have free access to Swissotel Amsterdam Fitness, featuring state of the art cardio-vascular equipment, and to the Business Centre, providing free internet and office supplies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, HotelsNL and Otel so you can book your Swissotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Swissotel Hotel
Swiss Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swissotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.