We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Swissotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Swissotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damrak 96, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
17% discount now!
Ranked #47 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Really lovely staff happy to help. Great location. Room didnt have much of a view but it was clean and we got a good night sleep. Had breakfast on last day and it was good value after eating out for the other mornings during our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
I would like to sincerely thank you for having stayed with us during your time in Amsterdam.
Thank you for pointing out the quietness of our rooms.
We truly hope that it will not be long before we can welcome you back!

Kind regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager
Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    854
    644
    206
    65
    42
See reviews for
218
811
133
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Level Contributor
103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Nice lobby, nice room, but unspectacular. We asked for a high room, but we didn't get one. Our room on the second floor faced inwards, so it was relatively quiet. However, we had people smoking on the fire escape next to our bedroom window, which wasn't pleasant. Room was comfortable and wifi was free and very good. TV worked OK, and could get BBC One and Two. Service was nice, as we got Lindt Lindor chocolates each night and a small bottle of water.

Towels were quite rough, but they do their job, yet the shower was dismal, simply trickling out. There are no gowns hanging in the wardrobe, but there is a pillow menu. You will need this, as the default pillows are too soft. The bed also needs replacing, as I sunk in the middle.

Overall, not a bad experience: good location and friendly staff. Don't forget that you will have to pay 'city tax' on departure.

Room Tip: Ask to be far from the fire escape if you're at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and mentioning our wonderful location. We are very proud to be centrally located close to all the main attractions and shops.
I am sorry to hear that we were unable to grand your special request, unfortunately this option is subject to availability, although we always try our utmost best to grand requests upon arrival. I also greatly appreciate your feedback with regard to the disturbance on the fire escape and the bed, I have taken note of this complaint and will act accordingly.

I am glad to hear you enjoyed our amenities and service, it is always wonderful to hear this. We do our utmost best to provide our guests a wonderful experience. We do indeed charge city tax on departure, this tax is taken by the city municipality and is tax payable to anyone who stays in Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager

Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Stayed here at the start of a European tour for my wifes 40th. Service was great, location perfect for exploring the good and bad that Amsterdam has to offer! We were allowed to check in 3 hrs early and were given a choice of rooms. The front desk sent a bottle of bubbles and some nibbles up with compliments and couldn't do enough for us. For the price this hotel is great!! There was a little noise from a temporary fun fair and some road works at the front of the hotel but thats hardly the fault of the hotel, we chose a room at the front and slept fine!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our Swiss service during your stay with us. It was our pleasure and we would be more than happy to welcome you back sometime in the future.

Enjoy the rest of your European tour!

Kind regards,

Harold Kluit
Genereal Manager

Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

we stayed on first floor and while room good size and attention to extras (slipper..pillow menu..water at night) windows did not open which was too bad but good since up to 3am in morning with racket from people hanging out at mcdonalds. gave us no issue switching rooms and moved our luggage. second room much quieter but very small and didnt bother with the added xtras first room had. breakfast was very good...mini bar prices reasonable for europe. staff very good...helpful and pleasant. before our cancellation day the room rate dropped and we were able to take advantage. make sure to check before u pay the rate u booked online....nb...book direct is better vs via online middle men. overall, good hotel but dont expect fairmont.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Charlene,

Thank you for your fair review! We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and its amenities.

Kind regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager

Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

First, valet parking is a joke...be prepared to start your trip with anxiety! Second, be prepared to receive this answer regarding restaurant and parking service " these items are contracted out so we (hotel) have no control over them". Even after asking the staff to remove the sanitary wrappers from under our bed they did not. Not my best experience, and since I visit Amsterdam monthly, I now know of one hotel I will try to avoid.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Sue,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that our services did not meet your expectations. I will take your comments to heart and share them with my colleagues.

Kind regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager

Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liege, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

The room I got was very nice and big.
Good bed etc
But no parking, difficult access (works on the road)
Desk staffs not all friendly
And windows letting enter a lot of noise. Avoid it while the fancy fair occurs !
Free internet connection is good

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Renaud,

Thank you for your review. Indeed due to our central location we do not have on-site parking available, we do however offer a valet parking option. In regard to the noise, we do have more quiet rooms on higher levels of the hotel and the ones overlooking our court yard.

Again, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we hope to see you again.

Kind regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager

Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

This was our first trip to Amsterdam and really lucked out getting Swissotel. Location is perfect - walking distance to train station and other inner city activities. Hotel is very clean, and managed extremely well.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Randjones,

We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Swissôtel Amsterdam.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager

Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#18 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 603 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Centrum
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Amsterdam

Address: Damrak 96, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Amsterdam boasts the best location in town, right at Dam Square in the heart of the city centre. Being just 20km from Schiphol Airport and a short walk from Central Station, this 4-star hotel offers a perfect base for your stay in Amsterdam. All major sights and attractions are within walking distance. Offering 110 soundproof rooms and suites, Swissotel Amsterdam makes a quiet and comfortable haven amidst a bustling density of high-end shops, restaurants and bars.All rooms include a Nespresso coffee machine and individually controllable climate control. Hotel guests have free access to Swissotel Amsterdam Fitness, featuring state of the art cardio-vascular equipment, and to the Business Centre, providing free internet and office supplies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Swissotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Swissotel Hotel
Swiss Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swissotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.