We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room but ...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Swissotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Swissotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damrak 96, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% OFF YOUR STAY
Ranked #57 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Liege, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice room but ...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

The room I got was very nice and big.
Good bed etc
But no parking, difficult access (works on the road)
Desk staffs not all friendly
And windows letting enter a lot of noise. Avoid it while the fancy fair occurs !
Free internet connection is good

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Renaud,

Thank you for your review. Indeed due to our central location we do not have on-site parking available, we do however offer a valet parking option. In regard to the noise, we do have more quiet rooms on higher levels of the hotel and the ones overlooking our court yard.

Again, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we hope to see you again.

Kind regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager

Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,165 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    487
    455
    148
    44
    31
See reviews for
129
486
90
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

This was our first trip to Amsterdam and really lucked out getting Swissotel. Location is perfect - walking distance to train station and other inner city activities. Hotel is very clean, and managed extremely well.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Randjones,

We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Swissôtel Amsterdam.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager

Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

We arrived straight off the plane & went to Swissôtel Amsterdam & were greeted by Louise. Warm facewasher & cold glass of water later we were whisked away to our room & our bags brought up after. Nothing was to hard for Louise & it made the welcome more special to feel like a person not just a visitor. Thank you again Louise, one day we may come back!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Debra,

Thank you again for leaving such lovely reviews, we can't thank you enough!

Kind regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager

Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

The hotel is wonderfully situated, an easy 10 minute walk from the train station and only one minute from Dam Square. There are plenty of restaurants, pubs and shops close by.
There is a tour operator next door and when we were there, the funfare was set up in the Square for the Koningsdag celebrations that weekend, our room was to the rear of the hotel, however there was no noise during the evening. The room was a good size, I liked the pillow menu, which we used. We had a minor electrical problem when the coffee machine tripped the circuit, however, the maintenance was there within minutes to rectify the problem. All the staff were very pleasant and professional would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, you made our day!

Thank you for this lovely review and we hope to see you again soon,

Kind regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager

Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Superb position.
Close to the station, canal and shops and restaruants .
Rooms a bit small, but as I was out all the time, this wasn't a problem.
Stayed on a room only basis, as pricey and good places to eat close by.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel Ninian!

Kind regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager

Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslemere
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Hard to choose a hotel in a city for City break. Found this very central, clean and comfortable. Room was a good size, excellent amenities, bathroom a very good size. A little noisy but not the fault of the hotel. Staff most helpful. Did not use the restaurant or bar but it looked very pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you Clare for your lovely review! We hope to have you stay with us here soon again.

Kind regards

Harold Kluit
General Manager

Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

This property is so in the thick of action. You can start walking to all major attractions within a short stroll from one another. The interior of this property is neat. It may look small from the outside but it really is cozy inside. The manager, Mr Hammerseth (hope I got his name correctly), was really a helpful chap...

Room Tip: Try the Presidential Suite. It's really cheap and spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Dato,

Thank you for your kind review of our property and our colleague Albert Hammerseth (yes, you did get his name correctly!).

We hope to welcome you back soon,

Kind regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager

Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Swissotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Amsterdam

Address: Damrak 96, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#39 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#48 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Amsterdam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Amsterdam boasts the best location in town, right at Dam Square in the heart of the city centre. Being just 20km from Schiphol Airport and a short walk from Central Station, this 4-star hotel offers a perfect base for your stay in Amsterdam. All major sights and attractions are within walking distance. Offering 110 soundproof rooms and suites, Swissotel Amsterdam makes a quiet and comfortable haven amidst a bustling density of high-end shops, restaurants and bars.All rooms include a Nespresso coffee machine and individually controllable climate control. Hotel guests have free access to Swissotel Amsterdam Fitness, featuring state of the art cardio-vascular equipment, and to the Business Centre, providing free internet and office supplies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, Venere and Otel so you can book your Swissotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Swissotel Hotel
Swiss Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swissotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.