We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Swissotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Swissotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damrak 96, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% OFF SEASONAL SAVER
Ranked #51 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Leeds
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“A very pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

On our arrival we were greeted with hot towels at reception to quickly freshen up. Water and fruit were also readily available which I thought was a lovely touch. We were booked in for just the 1 night to celebrate my friend's 50th birthday. We visited the Ann Frank museum and then strolled through heart of the city. When we returned in the evening my friend was surprised to find a bottle of wine and nibbles placed in her room from the management in celebration of her birthday....Thank you. Our rooms were spacious and had everything that was needed for an enjoyable stay. Lots of toiletries which is great when your travelling light. The rooms have a coffee machine in them but as my friend prefers tea they provided her with a small kettle. The check in / out process was quick and hassle free. I will not hesitate to book this hotel again when I next return to Amsterdam as the location is fantastic and the service from the staff is excellent. Thank you for a truly wonderful stay

Room Tip: If you prefer quietness at bedtime I would recommend that you don't request a room facing Dam Sq...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Glad we could make your celebration a special one! I will pass on the great comments to my colleagues which helped making your stay a memorable one. Hope to welcome you and your friend for the next celebration to our hotel.

Kind regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager

Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    610
    534
    163
    49
    35
See reviews for
151
595
104
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Decent hotel with a perfect location at Dam square.
Some noise from the surrounding streets but not to bad. Helpfull staff and perfect with bikerental at the hotel. Close to everything with shops, restaurants and nightlife near by.

Room Tip: Get a room as high as possible due to lively surrounding streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

This was my second time at this hotel, and once again, they didn't disappoint. I have mobility issues, and normally need to ask for a bit more than a regular guest, and again, they rose to the occasion admirably. From helping secure a mobility scooter hire (rental) to being able to provide an accessible room designed to ease getting a scooter through the doorway, they had all of the bases covered in making sure that I was mobile and comfortable. And they provide equal attention to all of their guests this way. Like all hotels, they can't permit smoking, but they have small, covered outdoor smoking areas scattered all around the building. Free internet and snacks in the Business Center, the next day's weather forecast left on your pillow, a newspaper at your door in the morning, espresso machines in the rooms and cable TV from all over Europe are just a few of the ways they pamper you. Several times when we were looking for small, obscure museums that few people knew about, they'd research it and draw us a map. When I went home, there was already a message waiting for me about an item left behind. These people do not miss a trick. I love this hotel and will only stay here when I visit Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Try and get one of the 3 rooms in the front corner of the building that have small balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
All of our guests are royalty and this is a great confirmation of all of our efforts put in to each and every guest’s stay. We strive to make all stays a memorable one and will make sure to do so the next time you stay with us again.

Kind regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager

Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

The hotel is on Dam Square, right in the centre, close to everything and just 10 minutes from the station. Rooms are perfect and reasonably priced.

Because it has a street entrance the space is quite narrow and the lobby is fairly dark inside. A lighter colour paint would make it much brighter.

We would definitely recommend the hotel and stay again.

Room Tip: When we were there there was major construction work on the street outside and this continued throug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write feedback about your recent stay with us. Happy to read that you will recommend the hotel and stay with us again, we cannot receive a better compliment than that.

Kind regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager

Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Just got back from long weekend with family. We booked two rooms and they are nicely prepared upon arrival, though the wardrobes seem quite outdated compared with the rest of the room, the room is overall cozy and you got what you need. Both rooms are located on lower floors and facing the back street where the Burger King and McDonald are, but the isolation is very good, we were not disturbed by the noise from the street or other guest rooms at all.

Business center is open 24 hours, you can access with room key, very convenient if you need to print out tickets.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Great feedback for our future guests, thank you! Indeed all of our rooms are properly isolated as we are located in the very epicenter of Amsterdam. We do hope to welcome you and your family in the hotel again anytime soon.

Kind regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager

Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

The location could not be better, overlooking dam square.

The room we had was a bit small, and the "view" was straight into a brick wall. The bed was not very comfortable, but the pillow-menu was good.
This is not the place to stay if you are planning on spending a lot of time inside. But it was OK, and very quiet considering the location.

The staff were friendly and helpful.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay in the hotel.
The hotel boasts various views such as the beautiful dam square but also one of Amsterdam's shopping streets. I will share your kind feedback regarding the staff with my colleagues.

Kind regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager
Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

I struggle to think of anything negative to say about this hotel.............and I love to moan about most things!!

The loaction is perfect, overlooking Dam Square, 10 min walk from Centraal Station, 10 min walk to "De Wallen" (Red light district), surrounded by restaurants and bars, 2 mins from the main shopping area.........as I said......Perfect.

The hotel itself is very clean, well kept, has very attentive staff, both on reception and housekeeping.

I will definately be coming back :-)

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
I will take great pride in expressing my thanks and appreciation to the entire team here. I truly feel your experience reflects our service culture and values and it will be a great story and example to share with our team and we certainly hope that you will find your way back to Amsterdam so that we can have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager
Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swissotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Amsterdam

Address: Damrak 96, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#37 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#40 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Amsterdam boasts the best location in town, right at Dam Square in the heart of the city centre. Being just 20km from Schiphol Airport and a short walk from Central Station, this 4-star hotel offers a perfect base for your stay in Amsterdam. All major sights and attractions are within walking distance. Offering 110 soundproof rooms and suites, Swissotel Amsterdam makes a quiet and comfortable haven amidst a bustling density of high-end shops, restaurants and bars.All rooms include a Nespresso coffee machine and individually controllable climate control. Hotel guests have free access to Swissotel Amsterdam Fitness, featuring state of the art cardio-vascular equipment, and to the Business Centre, providing free internet and office supplies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Swissotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Swissotel Hotel
Swiss Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swissotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.