We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large clean comfortable room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Swissotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Swissotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damrak 96, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% OFF YOUR STAY
Ranked #56 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
New Jersey, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Large clean comfortable room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We started the week in Amsterdam in a small canal side hotel with steep stairs and decided to move to a larger hotel mid week. Pleasantly surprised at the size, decor and cleanliness of the room. Expected smaller European style room and bathroom. Very comfortable king size bed. They gave us free upgrade to a suite too. My first stay in a Swissotel but I'll definitely consider them in the future. Good value for the quality of hotel too. Not much more than the tiny canal hotel room but many more amenities (except included breakfast).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
I would like to sincerely thank you for having stayed with us during your time in Amsterdam.
Thank you for pointing out the size and cleanliness of our rooms.
We truly hope that it will not be long before we can welcome you back

Kind regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager
Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,203 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    510
    469
    148
    45
    31
See reviews for
139
501
91
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alwadi
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Don not miss opportunity to stay in Swissotel when you get fair price. Very good location, Friendly staff, clean room, FREE WIFI, quiet environment. I personally advise all to stay there. The only thing need to be changed is bathroom items essence.


  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
I would like to truly thank you for taking the opportunity to write such wonderful feedback about the details of your experience with our hotel and personally recommending us.
We truly hope that you will find your way back to Amsterdam for another visit and we will look forward to providing you our warm and engaging hospitality again.

Kind regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager
Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ra'anana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

The hotel is perfectly located right on Dam square. Rooms and the hotel in general is very clean and well kept. the service of all the hotel team is really great! Wonderful breakfast! Once in Amsterdam again i would definately go there again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to provide your feedback on your recent experience at our hotel.
We greatly appreciate this feedback that you have shared that will allow us to recognize many colleagues for a job well done.
Our team will eagerly await your hopeful return so that we take wonderful care of you once again and create more lasting memories.

Kind regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager
Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

My husband booked this hotel for my bday (Jan,26-Jan,29). We got a very nice room with the beautiful view on Dam squire. I was impressed with the coffee machine in the room. Also each room has a big flat TV with lots of channels including russians one. Room was perfectly cleaned, excellent white bed linen and with awesome pillow menu.
Staff are really friendly and were always ready to help.
The first night we got complimentary plate of fruits. Also on my bday, I got free bottle of champagne, some nibbles and card.
Every night room service was providing us with bottle of water and some small sweets before bed.
I just want to say thank you to all staff for the professionalism and hard work. You guys awesome!

Room Tip: ask for the room with the view on dam squire
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
We are absolutely thrilled to have been able to take care of you during your stay.
Your experience really speaks to what we strive to achieve for all of our guests and these comments will allow us to share the story and continue to inspire our team to always do more for our guests.
I hope we will be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager
Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

As walk-ins we didnt think they could manage to fit a group of 7 (4 double rooms) in, but they did..! As soon as you walk in, you get hit with this warm scented aroma, which was homely.. Fantastic rooms so you can see the beautiful town... brill location will be back for my 30th

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Wow.. I feel truly humbled and appreciative to read such wonderful feedback on our hotel and especially our service.
We look are looking forward to welcoming you back and make your 30th birthday celebrations extra special for you.

Kind regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager
Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

The hotel location are awesome, just next to Dam Square many restaurants and cafes around the hotel. The room facilities was good there is a Coffee maker and huge TV screen with a lot of good TV channels. the only problem with this hotel is the cleaning staff they are not professional at all, they never cleaned the room well and they never refill the minibar, i found that one of room service staff tried to open my safe box because when i came to the hotel after my lunch the safe box was already blocked some one was trying to randomly enter a pass code then the manager came and open it so the hotel can open the safe box any time not only you!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

This hotel is wonderful. The staff take care all the details ans remarks. They are so friendly, so warmly, so precisse. I want to congratule all the staff, from the housekeeping to front desk staff. I hope the hotl continue the same way. I'll come back at this hotel as soon as possible. I have enjoy a lot in Amsterdam. Thanks everyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
We greatly appreciate this feedback that you have shared that will allow us to recognize many colleagues for a job well done.
Looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager
Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swissotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Amsterdam

Address: Damrak 96, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#30 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#46 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Amsterdam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Amsterdam boasts the best location in town, right at Dam Square in the heart of the city centre. Being just 20km from Schiphol Airport and a short walk from Central Station, this 4-star hotel offers a perfect base for your stay in Amsterdam. All major sights and attractions are within walking distance. Offering 110 soundproof rooms and suites, Swissotel Amsterdam makes a quiet and comfortable haven amidst a bustling density of high-end shops, restaurants and bars.All rooms include a Nespresso coffee machine and individually controllable climate control. Hotel guests have free access to Swissotel Amsterdam Fitness, featuring state of the art cardio-vascular equipment, and to the Business Centre, providing free internet and office supplies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, Hotel.de and Otel so you can book your Swissotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Swissotel Hotel
Swiss Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swissotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.