We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel but Take Be careful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Swissotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Swissotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damrak 96, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
17% discount now!
Ranked #49 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Hotel but Take Be careful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

The hotel location are awesome, just next to Dam Square many restaurants and cafes around the hotel. The room facilities was good there is a Coffee maker and huge TV screen with a lot of good TV channels. the only problem with this hotel is the cleaning staff they are not professional at all, they never cleaned the room well and they never refill the minibar, i found that one of room service staff tried to open my safe box because when i came to the hotel after my lunch the safe box was already blocked some one was trying to randomly enter a pass code then the manager came and open it so the hotel can open the safe box any time not only you!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,851 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    870
    663
    209
    65
    44
See reviews for
222
831
136
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

This hotel is wonderful. The staff take care all the details ans remarks. They are so friendly, so warmly, so precisse. I want to congratule all the staff, from the housekeeping to front desk staff. I hope the hotl continue the same way. I'll come back at this hotel as soon as possible. I have enjoy a lot in Amsterdam. Thanks everyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
We greatly appreciate this feedback that you have shared that will allow us to recognize many colleagues for a job well done.
Looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager
Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
109 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

The hotel is a short walk to the Amsterdam Central train station from the airport and next to the Royal Palace. The front desk staff great you at check-in with a hot towel to help you warm up quickly. THE BEST THING EVER! The staff is friendly and even offer pillow selection before turn down service. I was celebrating my birthday. They manager gave me a bottle of champagne and snacks as a present to thank me for choosing to spend my special day with them. Oh, and our room had a real door bell - too cute.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of Dam Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
We are absolutely thrilled to have been able to take care of you during this special occasion. We greatly appreciate this feedback that you have shared that will allow us to recognize many colleagues for a job well done.

I hope it goes without saying that we can make ourselves at least a yearly visit to recognize this special day and we will truly look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager
Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kusadasi, Turkey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Stayed 3 nights between 16-19 January 2014 as a couple. Great location on Dam Square. Walking distance to nearly EVERYTHING.Hotel and rooms are very well decorated and clean. Beds and pillows are really very comfortable. Nice and helpful staff. Maybe the only negative point is that the walls are very thin so that noise can cause problems for some guests. Our late check out request was turned down on sunday, even though we wanted to pay the extra charge.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at Swissôtel Amsterdam.
I appreciate you for pointed out our very central location, which is a stone throw away to all wonderful things Amsterdam has to offer.
I am very sorry we were unable to grant you a late check out. We always do our utmost to grant any preferences and requests, however this is subject to availability and therefore we are not able to guarantee this.
We are greatly looking forward to your return to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager
Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockbridge, Georgia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

The hotel is within walking distance from the central train station.
The staff was extremely friendly and helpful with directions, suggestions, etc.
The rooms were well appointed, clean and comfortable. All of the necessities were available, from hair dryer to turn down service with chocolates and bottled water.
The hotel was right in the center of town and in walking distance to all attractions, restaurants, bistros, etc.
The security was excellent - you needed your room key to get into the elevator and the staff was available 24/7.
The small drawback, was there was not lobby area to congregate and visit in, but the attached bar/restaurant was available and you could stay as long as you pleased.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Wow.. I feel truly humbled and appreciative to read such wonderful feedback on our hotel and service. We are looking forward to your next visit and I am confident that our team will find new ways to “WOW” you.

Kind regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager
Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Superb clean, modern hotel in the heart of the city. The staff have 1st class knowledge of the city & are very friendly. I have stayed in Amsterdam many times & this is by far the best hotel I have stayed in.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you so much for your 5 star review. Being called the best hotel, is a HUGE compliment.
I will take pride in expressing my thanks and appreciation to the entire team here. We truly hope that you will find your way back to Amsterdam for another visit and we will look forward to providing you our warm and engaging hospitality again.

Kind regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager
Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

Came to Swissotel in Amsterdam from a Best Western in Paris, and a Luxury Hotels of the world in Lausanne.
This hotel rocks in every way, from reception,to room service, to bell boy and the guy that polishes your shoes. Nothing is a problem, and if it is a problem they make you feel like it's not a problem. The room was huge, I think we were upgraded, the beds are massive, you get a choice of luxury pillows, there's even an espresso machine and an iPad Dock in your room, along with a big flat screen tv. Situated as close to town centre as you could be, perfect in every way. Try it you'll love it.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Wow Thank you so much for taking the time to write this very detailed and wonderful review.
I wouldn’t have been able to do it better myself.
Your experience really speaks to what we strive to achieve for all of our guests and these comments will allow us to share the story and continue to inspire our team to always do more for our guests.

Our team will eagerly await your hopeful return so that we take wonderful care of you once again and create more lasting memories.

Kind regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager
Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#19 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 627 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Centrum
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Amsterdam

Address: Damrak 96, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#39 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Amsterdam boasts the best location in town, right at Dam Square in the heart of the city centre. Being just 20km from Schiphol Airport and a short walk from Central Station, this 4-star hotel offers a perfect base for your stay in Amsterdam. All major sights and attractions are within walking distance. Offering 110 soundproof rooms and suites, Swissotel Amsterdam makes a quiet and comfortable haven amidst a bustling density of high-end shops, restaurants and bars.All rooms include a Nespresso coffee machine and individually controllable climate control. Hotel guests have free access to Swissotel Amsterdam Fitness, featuring state of the art cardio-vascular equipment, and to the Business Centre, providing free internet and office supplies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Swissotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Swissotel Hotel
Swiss Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swissotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.