We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than in Switzerland.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Swissotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Swissotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damrak 96, Amsterdam 1012 LP, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #56 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Better than in Switzerland.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

Came to Swissotel in Amsterdam from a Best Western in Paris, and a Luxury Hotels of the world in Lausanne.
This hotel rocks in every way, from reception,to room service, to bell boy and the guy that polishes your shoes. Nothing is a problem, and if it is a problem they make you feel like it's not a problem. The room was huge, I think we were upgraded, the beds are massive, you get a choice of luxury pillows, there's even an espresso machine and an iPad Dock in your room, along with a big flat screen tv. Situated as close to town centre as you could be, perfect in every way. Try it you'll love it.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Wow Thank you so much for taking the time to write this very detailed and wonderful review.
I wouldn’t have been able to do it better myself.
Your experience really speaks to what we strive to achieve for all of our guests and these comments will allow us to share the story and continue to inspire our team to always do more for our guests.

Our team will eagerly await your hopeful return so that we take wonderful care of you once again and create more lasting memories.

Kind regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager
Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,224 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    513
    472
    159
    47
    33
See reviews for
121
477
89
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We are loyal customers of Swissotel Amsterdam and in previous years wrote several positive comments about the place. This time we were had a slightly new and shocking experience when we found ourselves (family with 8 year old boy) in a junior sweet with 100 transparent glass wall between the room and the bathroom and toilet. It is at least a bit eccentric for a business type hotel and still not clear for us how it is possible to live without a fraction of privacy.
Of course the ever friendly hotel staff transferred us to a normal sweet with normal doors after a bit of angry discussion and the rest of our short stay was ok as usual. But beware! Some of the rooms in this hotel are far from normal!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

The hotel was absolutely excellent! It's located right on Dam Square, meaning that it's right in the heart of the city. With shopping streets branching out of it and parallel to it, it's a great destination for shopping. For those looking for a little adult fun, it's also a 5 minute walk from the biggest coffeeshops and from the red light district. Also, if you're lucky enough to visit in the winter, the street Swissotel is on (Damrak) hosts something called the "Wintermarkt," which is a colorful, vibrant street market full of booths that sell everything from food to clothes to toys. On that same street (but year round), you'll also find many stores called "Tours and Tickets," which can assist you with setting up.. well.. tours and tickets for visits in Amsterdam.
As to the rooms, they were very spacious, clean, well-decorated, and most importantly comfortable. The pillows were so nice, I genuinely wanted to ask if they sold them.
As to the staff, they were very friendly, very knowledgable of the city, and could speak a host of languages fluently.
As to the cost, yes, it's a little high compared to other hotels. One must keep in mind, however, that this is a 4-star hotel in the city center in one of the most touristic cities in the world. We were a little surprised they charged us around an extra hundred euros (total, not per night) than expected for something they called the "city tax." This was, however, for a triple room so it didn't do much damage.
All in all, I massively recommend staying at Swissotel if you're going to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Go online and join the "Swissotel Circle" program for free, before arrival. It'll give...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond BC Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

The biggest draw to this hotel is the location, it cannot be beat. The hotel room was very nice, but just a little dust line around the edge of carpet where an upright vacuume just cannot get. We loved the Nespresso espresso machine in the room, a fantastic touch. The Concierge was fabulous and told us how we could get a regular bus to Markam, about 20 kms away, to see this old fishing village, and it saved us loads over a tour there. We would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you very much for taking your time to detail your experiences at our hotel so well .
I also appreciate your feedback and I will make sure to communicate this to the team members involved, which will allow us to follow up and improve.
Reading through all the details of the experiences you had in Amsterdam it really shows that you took full advantage or your stay and I truly appreciate that.
We are greatly looking forward to your return to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager
Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Noone can tell anything for the excellent location of the hotel which is almost at Dom Square. 5 min. Walking distance to the central station, at the heart of nightlife and very close to most museums.
As a hotel, rooms are very old, small and only beds are OK. Noise from outside if you have a room looking at street.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your experience at our hotel.
As you pointed out we are very centrally located, The rooms in the front really give you the feeling of being in a big city, with all the huzzle and buzzle that goes with it. The rooms in the back and inner side are more quiet. It is advisable to mention your preference when booking with us directly.
Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager
Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

This hotel is in a great location and the staff is very friendly/attentive. The room that I was in was too noisy and the staff promptly moved me to a much more quiet room for the duration of my stay. Room was great and bed was extremely comfy.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
On behalf of all the colleagues here at the Swissôtel Amsterdam I would like to express my most sincere appreciation for you coming to stay with us.
I also appreciate your feedback with regards to the noise disturbances you experienced. It is very nice to see that our colleagues were able to respond with care and empathy in this situation.We are greatly looking forward to your return to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager
Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

It's been said many times but this hotel really scores an ace card for it's location next to Dam Square. This meant is was perfect in most ways, i e near central station and all tourist attractions and with great places on Dam Square itself.

Worried about being near Dam Square about the noise but this wasn't an issue during our stay and the room was comfy and the hotel clean.

The desk staff were really helpful and had a high standard and cheery nature. Very helpful at all times and going extra mile even just to come round from desk and press button for the lift.

Just a note for British travellers there is a city tax you pay on arrival (it's not much) as well as a deposit for the mini bar etc which get's converted and given back in Euros on check out obviously the amount depending on how much you use in the hotel during your stay.

If going to Amsterdam again this is the hotel we'd stay at again for sure.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
I could not have said it better as our location truly is unbeatable in Amsterdam.
I will take pride in expressing my thanks and appreciation to the entire team here. I truly feel your experience reflects our service culture and values and it will be a great story and example to share with our team.
We are looking forward to your next visit and I am confident that our team will find new ways to “WOW” you, and provide the unique personalized service you come to expect of us.

Kind regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager
Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Swissotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Amsterdam

Address: Damrak 96, Amsterdam 1012 LP, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#46 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#47 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Amsterdam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Amsterdam boasts the best location in town, right at Dam Square in the heart of the city centre. Being just 20km from Schiphol Airport and a short walk from Central Station, this 4-star hotel offers a perfect base for your stay in Amsterdam. All major sights and attractions are within walking distance. Offering 110 soundproof rooms and suites, Swissotel Amsterdam makes a quiet and comfortable haven amidst a bustling density of high-end shops, restaurants and bars.All rooms include a Nespresso coffee machine and individually controllable climate control. Hotel guests have free access to Swissotel Amsterdam Fitness, featuring state of the art cardio-vascular equipment, and to the Business Centre, providing free internet and office supplies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Swissotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Swissotel Hotel
Swiss Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swissotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.