We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Swissotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Swissotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damrak 96, Amsterdam 1012 LP, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #56 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Dundas
1 review
“Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Good job throughout our stay. Keep up the good service. From the moment we got there until the day we left we were very well looked after. When we left, we felt sorry that we were leaving so soon and will definitely return next time we are in town.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Your experience really speaks to what we strive to achieve for all of our guests and these comments will allow us to share the story and continue to inspire our team to always do more for our guests.

Kind regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager
Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,223 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    513
    471
    159
    47
    33
See reviews for
121
477
88
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Peoria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

This hotel is about three to four long blocks from the Central Train Station, right at the heart of Dam Square. Elegant, sleek facilities, but not pretentious. Ask for a Dam Square view - it's worth it!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
What an amazing way to describe our hotel.
We truly hope that it will not be long before we can welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager
Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemmer
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

The hotel was very comfortable and on a special location, in the very middle of Amsterdam. Directly at De Dam and less than 100m to the Kalverstraat. The central station is about 15 min. walking. Allthough the room was small, the quallity was perfect! Lovely bed and a good equipped bathroom. And rooms are good isolated for street noise.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Nice small hotel in the center of everything in Amsterdam. Excellent staff very helpful! Rooms are clean, comfortable and up to date including the mini bar. If your looking for something practical you wont go wrong with this hotel. Many restaurants on the side streets with great breakfast and dinner.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Been to Amsterdam for the 6th time, been to the Schiller hotel and Esthrea hotel before.
Following those standards and some recommendations I've decided to try Swissotel for the first time.

Can't say i was too happy, room size was ok, but furniture ugly,old and beaten up.
water pressure is poor, and lights on bathroom didn't work well - not a 4 stars hotel standard.

Beside of the bed, which was amazing and the pillows that were incredibly comfy, I couldn't find anything good to say about this hotel.

BIG ISSUE THAT WAS VERY DISAPPOINTING: THEY CHARGE 12E A DAY FOR WIRELESS INTERNET ?!?!?!
why ????
it wasn't the same at former visits to Amsterdam, very disappointing

Room Tip: dont take room 301
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Münster
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Staff was very friendly and helpful.
We even got a room upgrade ( Junior Suite incl. the City view which usually costs extra ) for free at arrival.
Rooms are nicely made up and the Chocolate collection from the MiniBar was THE BEST! :)
The Junior Suite has a 2m x 2m bed. :O
The Hotel is situated right in the city center in between all of the shops and restaurants and like 200 m from the trainstation.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
I would like to sincerely thank you for coming to stay with us during your time in Amsterdam.
I am happy you appreciated your room upgrade and our MiniBar chocolates.
I hope you were able to enjoy the Winter Market and our Swiss Chalet in front of our hotel aswell and get into the holiday season spirit.
We are greatly looking forward to your return to the hotel in the not too distant future and until please take care.

Kind regards,

Harold Kluit

General Manager
Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jericho
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Great location: 5 mins walk from Amsterdam Central station, 7-10 mins walk to 9 street shopping area. Holliday street fair and big shopping mall in front of hotel, big shopping street behind the hotel, walk distance to everywhere including canal tour. Nice restaurants around hotel, on dam square.
Friendly and very helpful staffs: every staff nice and helpful, so warm

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
We are so delighted to hear that your experience here at Swissôtel and in the city of Amsterdam was so enjoyable.
Reading through all the details of the experiences you had, really shows that you took full advantage or your stay with us and I truly appreciate that.
We truly hope that you will find your way back to Amsterdam for another visit and we will look forward to providing you our warm and engaging hospitality again.

Kind regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager
Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Swissotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Amsterdam

Address: Damrak 96, Amsterdam 1012 LP, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#46 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#47 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Amsterdam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Amsterdam boasts the best location in town, right at Dam Square in the heart of the city centre. Being just 20km from Schiphol Airport and a short walk from Central Station, this 4-star hotel offers a perfect base for your stay in Amsterdam. All major sights and attractions are within walking distance. Offering 110 soundproof rooms and suites, Swissotel Amsterdam makes a quiet and comfortable haven amidst a bustling density of high-end shops, restaurants and bars.All rooms include a Nespresso coffee machine and individually controllable climate control. Hotel guests have free access to Swissotel Amsterdam Fitness, featuring state of the art cardio-vascular equipment, and to the Business Centre, providing free internet and office supplies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Swissotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Swissotel Hotel
Swiss Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swissotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.