We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay at a central location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Swissotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Swissotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damrak 96, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% OFF YOUR STAY
Ranked #55 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Gottingen, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable stay at a central location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

The hotel's central location made it convenient to get around. Customer service was good and room was really clean and comfortable.The only downside is that there is no wifi in the room, but the business center (with free internet access) is very near the room anyway. Ps. you gotta ask for toothbrushes, and room slippers at the reception. Also, it would be good to bring your own toothpaste (we get a number of dried up toothpaste tubes with the provided dental kit).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,229 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    524
    477
    150
    46
    32
See reviews for
145
515
92
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

I have been to many hotels in Amsterdam and this is my favourite. The location is perfect and the customer service is excellent. We have stayed at this hotel twice and we received a free room upgrade as we were returning customers. The rooms are lovely and the hotel is very clean. We will always return to Swiss Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in mid Nov 2013. Great location and high level of customer service. Swissotel is a great brand with great properties around the world and I guess because of this reason I was expecting better facilities. The public areas and room were quite basic and a bit run down (dirty walls, windows not closing properly, chipped furniture) and no free WIFI which is uncommon these days. I guess that it could benefit from an all around revamp.
However, considering its rate, location, how friendly and helpful the people are and clean rooms I'd say all in all it's a good value proposition.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Classed as a 4 star hotel. The room we were in was definately not. Asked for a double room and got 2 twins pushed together. No free wifi. Although rooms were clean, housekeeping wasn't that great. On our last day, the beds were not even made. We had flapped up the covers and underneath the sheets were off. They were still this way when we got into them at night

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Stayed for my 30th birthday and was my 1st trip to Amsterdam. The staff could not do enough to make it a special and memorable stay! They surprised us with a room upgrade and later that night with a bottle of sparkling wine and a selection of nuts, all complimentary. The 2nd day of our stay we noticed the pillow menu and were promplty brought the pillows of our choice, which were great! Over all the staff were amazing, polite, friendly and very helpful. We would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to visit Amsterdam! Excellent location, modern hotel, great staff, hotel smelt lovely throughout - strange comment but you will know what I mean if you have been :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

In the city center this hotel is really close to urban transportation and mani attraction of Amsterdam. Is really clean and the staff is kind. The only problem Was internet access with fee of 12€ each day

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

The hotel location is Dam Sqaure.... It is very central, but I didnt really enjoyed the noise from there. First imression is not very good, lobby is small and everything but impressive.
The reception was pretty bussy as I arrived, and was bothered when I heard the receptionist asking the same question ""And how was you flight...?" all the time/all guests... And his main conern was if my credit card provider will authorize "extras" guarantee (room was prepaid)...

Room OK and breakfast really good. Nothing special & too expensive.

They made me mad a day after my returm home... I was charged for the room costs after I left (normal check out!), but room was prepaid. This kind of mistakes makes me mad, so I made a complaint - they were fair and refunded the amount on the same day!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swissotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Amsterdam

Address: Damrak 96, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#45 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Amsterdam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Amsterdam boasts the best location in town, right at Dam Square in the heart of the city centre. Being just 20km from Schiphol Airport and a short walk from Central Station, this 4-star hotel offers a perfect base for your stay in Amsterdam. All major sights and attractions are within walking distance. Offering 110 soundproof rooms and suites, Swissotel Amsterdam makes a quiet and comfortable haven amidst a bustling density of high-end shops, restaurants and bars.All rooms include a Nespresso coffee machine and individually controllable climate control. Hotel guests have free access to Swissotel Amsterdam Fitness, featuring state of the art cardio-vascular equipment, and to the Business Centre, providing free internet and office supplies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Swissotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Swissotel Hotel
Swiss Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swissotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.