We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Beds, Shabby Appearance” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Swissotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Swissotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damrak 96, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% OFF YOUR STAY
Ranked #56 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Tualatin, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Comfortable Beds, Shabby Appearance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

What I liked: The location was good and within easy walking distance of most sights. The bed was very comfortable and the staff at the front desk was friendly. The bathroom was fairly large with a lot of counter space.

What I didn't like: The room was not maintained well and though it was clean, it had many dings, dents and scuffs on the walls, doors, and floor which made it feel shabby. The hall outside of the room reeked of cigarette smoke during our entire stay despite the fact that it was non-smoking and there were also bits of trash in the hallway that were never removed during our 2 night stay. The business center had 3 computers, but one was not working correctly, which was frustrating when the 2 working computers were occupied. The hotel restaurant was fairly expensive and the food wasn't good. Lastly, the cost for wifi was quite expensive.

For the price I paid I expected more than I received and if I traveled to Amsterdam again I would make reservations at a different hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,210 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    512
    473
    148
    45
    32
See reviews for
140
505
91
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Went for a weekend to the swissotel in amsterdam. Great location, very close to the center and all the main spots in the city. The rooms are average. A bit overpriced for what you get compared to previous experiences.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

For a chain that prides itself on being a top notch business hotel, the lack of free WiFi is disappointing. Yes there is a business center on floor 1 (floor 2 to us non-Europeans) with 3 Mac stations, but that's not very convenient, especially if more than a few people want to get online.
Good location, right on Damrak St (and Dam Square), which seems to be the main drag through the heart of Amsterdam, and very close to the Central Train Station.
No real complaints other than the lack of free WiFi. Good A/C, clean hotel, nice shower.
I'd recommend it, but then my experience with Amsterdam hotels is limited to just this one.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohr, Aargau, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We have booked Tickets for the Swissotel one and a half months in advance and even recieved a confirmation.
Fast forward to the day the hotel was booked. We arrived in the afternoon and were immediately informed that there has been a mistake and that our room has been given to somebody else.
Then they rebooked us to a hotel outside of the center and the whole hassle for us started. For most of our plans which we did we had to be in the center of the city which we told them. As compensation they gave us two trips with a taxi. This was kind of a joke since we had to travel back and forth often. Because of that we had to spent lots of extra money on transportation in a city where hotels and taxis aren't really the cheapest. Money can be replaced, my main problem is the lost time that this has caused us, so much traveling to our destinations instead of being right there in the center.
This was the third time in the swissotel and even the first two experiences were alright, I will never again stay at the swissotel because of the weekend they ruined for us and the additional nerves and money it cost us. The worst kind of experience is when you arrive in a foreign city and they tell you your hotelroom is not available. The least I expect from my hotel is being dependable, the Swissotel has proven that this is not one of their traits.

Overall, I can't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Let me start by stating that we attach special value to our most loyal guests and it goes without saying you are one of them. The more appalled I was learning that we were not able to accommodate you during your last visit due to a system error. I want to offer my profuse apologies for this most unhappy cause of events.
We completely understand that this has caused you great inconvenience and trouble and therefore I will write you a personal email to elaborate on the situation which occurred and how we can restore your faith in our hotel.


Kind regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager
Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Dismade to find that no breakfast was included in our "junior suite" rate, it was extra and as it turned out very poor and the staff more interested in conversation. The room was lovely and very clean. The staff were nice but again not greatly forthcoming.

Overall disappointing !!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

The hotel applies an almost unique policy. If you don't show up at 2 pm they give away your room. That is ridicolous. And the Manager is unfit to talk to international customers. I will never come back.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed here for my husbands birthday. They were very welcoming and couldn't do enough to help us. To celebrate my husbands birthday they left a bottle of bubbly for us to enjoy. They helped us with all travel arrangements.
The room was lovely, everything we needed for a city break. We had a small room without a view - but there isn't really a view from the hotel. The benefit of this room was that it was so quiet, we didn't hear any traffic and had a brilliant night's sleep.
We had breakfast on the morning we left and this set us up for the day.
They have a very handy business centre on the first floor where you can use the internet and print for free. This was great for printing boarding passes for the airport and could also be used to book tickets to jump queues at the museums (esp. Anne Frank's house).
Overall a lovely place to be based during our trip to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swissotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Amsterdam

Address: Damrak 96, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#46 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Amsterdam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Amsterdam boasts the best location in town, right at Dam Square in the heart of the city centre. Being just 20km from Schiphol Airport and a short walk from Central Station, this 4-star hotel offers a perfect base for your stay in Amsterdam. All major sights and attractions are within walking distance. Offering 110 soundproof rooms and suites, Swissotel Amsterdam makes a quiet and comfortable haven amidst a bustling density of high-end shops, restaurants and bars.All rooms include a Nespresso coffee machine and individually controllable climate control. Hotel guests have free access to Swissotel Amsterdam Fitness, featuring state of the art cardio-vascular equipment, and to the Business Centre, providing free internet and office supplies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelsNL and Otel so you can book your Swissotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Swissotel Hotel
Swiss Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swissotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.