We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Swissotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Swissotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damrak 96, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #48 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Rohr, Aargau, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very disappointing experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We have booked Tickets for the Swissotel one and a half months in advance and even recieved a confirmation.
Fast forward to the day the hotel was booked. We arrived in the afternoon and were immediately informed that there has been a mistake and that our room has been given to somebody else.
Then they rebooked us to a hotel outside of the center and the whole hassle for us started. For most of our plans which we did we had to be in the center of the city which we told them. As compensation they gave us two trips with a taxi. This was kind of a joke since we had to travel back and forth often. Because of that we had to spent lots of extra money on transportation in a city where hotels and taxis aren't really the cheapest. Money can be replaced, my main problem is the lost time that this has caused us, so much traveling to our destinations instead of being right there in the center.
This was the third time in the swissotel and even the first two experiences were alright, I will never again stay at the swissotel because of the weekend they ruined for us and the additional nerves and money it cost us. The worst kind of experience is when you arrive in a foreign city and they tell you your hotelroom is not available. The least I expect from my hotel is being dependable, the Swissotel has proven that this is not one of their traits.

Overall, I can't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Dismade to find that no breakfast was included in our "junior suite" rate, it was extra and as it turned out very poor and the staff more interested in conversation. The room was lovely and very clean. The staff were nice but again not greatly forthcoming.

Overall disappointing !!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mpdea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

The hotel applies an almost unique policy. If you don't show up at 2 pm they give away your room. That is ridicolous. And the Manager is unfit to talk to international customers. I will never come back.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank Saverio L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed here for my husbands birthday. They were very welcoming and couldn't do enough to help us. To celebrate my husbands birthday they left a bottle of bubbly for us to enjoy. They helped us with all travel arrangements.
The room was lovely, everything we needed for a city break. We had a small room without a view - but there isn't really a view from the hotel. The benefit of this room was that it was so quiet, we didn't hear any traffic and had a brilliant night's sleep.
We had breakfast on the morning we left and this set us up for the day.
They have a very handy business centre on the first floor where you can use the internet and print for free. This was great for printing boarding passes for the airport and could also be used to book tickets to jump queues at the museums (esp. Anne Frank's house).
Overall a lovely place to be based during our trip to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HEO76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Excellent location. Trolley right out side. Once we figured them out, moving about the city was a breeze.One day we got on in the wrong direction and had a nice trip to the end of the line. Desk staff excellent. Can only think of one negative. Taxi must be accessed across the street on the other side of tracks while dodging bicycles, trains, and autos. Hotel staff does a great job of helping cross. Would I stay here again? You bet I would.

Room Tip: Up grade from base room. More space etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SamSpitally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diep River;Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights and found it so convenient . We received excellent service from the staff who were always polite and accommodating. The hotel room was also really comfortable and very clean. A really great hotel and I will definitely return!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Monica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Level Contributor
76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I have made several trips to Amsterdam and until now I have not found a really good hotel in Amsterdam. I have not finally found it in the Swissotel. The location is very good and perhaps there are better locations to be but the hotel itself is one of the best in Amsterdam that I have experienced. I am sure one of the Grand old hotels that are 5 star rated could be better but this hotel is very good. The rooms are nice and neither too small or larger and very comfortable. I held back on giving this 5 stars only because of the lack of a good restaurant in the hotel. The people there treat you very well so it is easy to overlook that fact.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,018 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#16 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 726 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Amsterdam

Address: Damrak 96, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#37 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Amsterdam boasts the best location in town, right at Dam Square in the heart of the city centre. Being just 20km from Schiphol Airport and a short walk from Central Station, this 4-star hotel offers a perfect base for your stay in Amsterdam. All major sights and attractions are within walking distance. Offering 110 soundproof rooms and suites, Swissotel Amsterdam makes a quiet and comfortable haven amidst a bustling density of high-end shops, restaurants and bars.All rooms include a Nespresso coffee machine and individually controllable climate control. Hotel guests have free access to Swissotel Amsterdam Fitness, featuring state of the art cardio-vascular equipment, and to the Business Centre, providing free internet and office supplies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, EasyToBook, Fairmont Hotels and Venere so you can book your Swissotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Swissotel Hotel
Swiss Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing