We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab 4 days” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Swissotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Swissotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damrak 96, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% OFF YOUR STAY
Ranked #57 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fab 4 days”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Had booked this hotel as it was the cheapest (within reason) central hotel. I had the option of free cancellation until a few days before and I kept looking for deals elsewhere but nothing seemed any better (hotels are very expensive in Amsterdam). I am so glad I didn't switch hotel.
Great location.
Modern decor in public areas.
Very friendly and helpful staff.

We didn't have breakfast at the hotel as there are some many delis and pancake houses etc close by at a fraction of the price.

Rooms were well equipped but a little on the plain side (not like the pics at all) but a massive bed. Bathroom good, shower could have done with a little more pressure. All clean.

The only downside was the charge for wifi but i hear they are working on that (i think the only swissotel to charge).

No probs with noise at night, the only time would be the excessive road sweepers about 7-8am but didnt bother us too much.

Loved Amsterdam and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,214 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    514
    473
    150
    45
    32
See reviews for
141
507
91
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

An excellent, clean and quiet hotel in a great central location. With friendly and helpful staff,close proximity to public transport, lovely restaurant, and a business centre on site this hotel was an excellent choice for our stay in Amsterdam. We appreciated the spacious, clean room, comfortable bed and in-room tea and coffee facilities. The hotel is in walking distance of many tourist attractions and located very close to shopping stores, post office and Central Station. Trams to all the tourist sites depart from outside the hotel, making sightseeing a breeze in Amsterdam. I highly recommend this hotel for a stay in Amsterdam

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The hotel is in a great location, right next door to Dam Square, so is ideal if you are on a sightseeing trip. My room was a little noisy and there was little light as the window overlooked a narrow alley way, with an office next door. The staff were very extremely polite, courteous and friendly and couldn't do enough to help. Great service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
On behalf of all of the colleagues of Swissôtel Amsterdam I would like to sincerely thank you for sharing such wonderful feedback on your recent stay with us.
As you pointed out we are very centrally located, The rooms in the front really give you the feeling of being in a big city, with all the huzzle and buzzle that goes with it. The rooms in the back and inner side are more quiet. It is advisable to mention your preference when booking with us directly.
We are greatly looking forward to your return to the hotel in the not too distant future and until please take care.

Kind regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager
Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dehradun, India
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Room was small
Bathroom not clean
Front rooms have view but not the back rooms
Dingy gallery
Not relaxing atall
Changed the room for better view facing dam square again bathroom was not clean
Would not recommend to travellers but for that budget it's good and center of town
Every thing is in walking distance

Room Tip: Not recommanded
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
We truly appreciate your honesty concerning your stay at Swissôtel Amsterdam.
If your bathroom was not cleaned sufficiently I sincerely apologize as this is unacceptable and I will take this up with the team members involved.
We would like to contact you directly to learn more from your experiences.

Kind regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager
Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed at the Swissotel for 3 nights. The location couldn't be better as it's in the very centre of Dam Square. I asked for a quiet room and that is exactly what we got. Although it was the centre of Dam Sq we couldn't hear any noise whatsoever. We had a classic room and it was spacious enough considering the bed was absolutely huge and very comfortable. The room was cleaned daily to a high standard and all the staff that we came across were all very friendly and helpful. There are tea and coffee making facilities in the room but one tip i would give is to take some whitener for your tea as they only provide coffee milk and it was awful in tea. We asked for some regular milk but were told it would be 3 Euro's for a small jug so we declined as it seemed ridiculous to be charged extra for a small jug of milk. Anyway they must have thought better of it because they called us back and then sent someone up with the milk free of charge. We didn't have breakfast or any other meals at the hotel so i can't comment on that. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

The location of this hotel was perfect. We walked everywhere,on an occasion we did take taxis but being right in Dam Square was wonderful. The shops and best restaurants were all around us. The front desk staff was fabulous. They knew us by name immediately, they provided excellent help in finding the places we wanted to see. They brought anything we needed or wanted to our room. I loved the clothesline in the bathtub. Their were two females, myself and my cousin and the bathroom provided plenty of room for both of us to use the vanity and get dressed. We loved that we could control the temperature in our room. I always travel with my own pillow, but not this time, they provided a pillow menu. When we first arrived they brought up 3 different kinds plus what was on the bed and we picked the perfect pillow for us..I was thrilled. The room was clean, the only thing we could have used was a dresser to put clothes in. I used all draw space. My cousin kept her clothes in her suitcase ..they immediately brought up more hangers. The bed was very very comfortable. Each night they pulled down the bed, left a candy with the next days temperature. The front desk staff made our stay in Amsterdam so much better then expected. They wrote directions, they walked us outside to the direction we needed to go. I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzelia Israel
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

the staff is very helpfull and willing to submit any nessecary assistance
the rooms are pleasant and spaceous
the location is just at the very center where all the activities, transportation and shopping are

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swissotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Amsterdam

Address: Damrak 96, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#47 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Amsterdam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Amsterdam boasts the best location in town, right at Dam Square in the heart of the city centre. Being just 20km from Schiphol Airport and a short walk from Central Station, this 4-star hotel offers a perfect base for your stay in Amsterdam. All major sights and attractions are within walking distance. Offering 110 soundproof rooms and suites, Swissotel Amsterdam makes a quiet and comfortable haven amidst a bustling density of high-end shops, restaurants and bars.All rooms include a Nespresso coffee machine and individually controllable climate control. Hotel guests have free access to Swissotel Amsterdam Fitness, featuring state of the art cardio-vascular equipment, and to the Business Centre, providing free internet and office supplies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelsNL, EasyToBook and Otel so you can book your Swissotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Swissotel Hotel
Swiss Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swissotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.