We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Professional Hotel Staff Is Very Accomodating. Great Hotel in The Best Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Swissotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Swissotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damrak 96, Amsterdam 1012 LP, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Amsterdam's Fab Four!
Ranked #52 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Kent, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The Professional Hotel Staff Is Very Accomodating. Great Hotel in The Best Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The Hotel is immaculate, nicely furnished and as far as the location, it couldn't be better. If I ever return to Amsterdam, I would definitely stay here again. Only drawback is the restaurant. The food could be better and the restaurant staff needs to be more professional. There's too much fooling around and not enough attention to the customers.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not located in the front facing Damrak. I can get noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,134 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    478
    435
    146
    44
    31
See reviews for
102
441
85
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights in September and really enjoyed my stay.

The hotel is located right next to Dam, which is a major touristy area. I would compare it to staying in Times Square in New York City. It was central enough that most interesting areas in Amsterdam are accessible by foot. Additionally, the hotel is very walkable from the train station. So it's possible to completely forego public transportation and taxis when staying at this hotel.

The hotel was very clean and modern although rooms were small. There was complimentary orange juice and water in the lobby which I enjoyed. The business center had 2 working computers with a printer, so you can easily book and print tickets in advance.

Room Tip: I emailed the hotel requesting a room on a high floor and facing the back of the hotel and got exact...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Wow it’s a big compliment to be compared to a location as Times Square. I could not have said it better as our location truly is unbeatable in Amsterdam and I am very pleased that you were comfortable and well cared for during your stay.
We truly hope that you will find your way back to us for another visit and we will look forward to providing you our warm and engaging hospitality again.

Kind regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager
Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

It's not the first time I went to this hotel, but since it's going through a refurbishment, the rooms are allmost perfect. I had room 409, large, clean, large open bathroom, and perfect bed. I really loved it with black and white colours. The service as usual concerned about your well-being and of course a perfect central location. All in all one of my favourites in Amsterdam.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback regarding your most recent experiences with us. It is always so rewarding for myself and the entire team to here from loyal guests like yourself. I am pleased to read you enjoyed our new features and to be considered one of your favorites in Amsterdam. We look forward to your return to the hotel in the not too distant future and until please take care.

Kind regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager
Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Hotel is located directly at the Dam plaza, shopping streets as well as tram stations nearby. Very silent rooms, nothingbto hear from outside. Very nice business center, with well working computer and printer. Bad internet connection in the room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. I am pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay and admire our central location.
With regards to the internet connection in your room; I will make sure to take this up with our IT department and I am very sorry for any inconvenience caused during your stay.
I truly hope that you will return to the hotel again.

Kind regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager
Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyStuart
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for three nights with two other couples. Located on the Dam Square in the centre of Amsterdam, this hotel enabled very easy access to everything ...... restaurants, shops, local attractions and transport. Just walk out the front door and you were there. The staff were responsive and always provided good information. The rooms are well appointed, comfortable and clean. My only tip is to ask for rooms above the first floor as you are in the centre of Amsterdam and there are also people everywhere.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review concerning your recent stay with us. I think you have absolutely nailed it with the combination of our central location and experienced staff.
We continue to do everything we can to remain focused on these critical elements to provide the best possible home away from home we can.

Kind regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager
Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This newly renovated property is located in the center of Amsterdam steps of dozens of restaurants and local attractions. But the real value is the excellent and caring staff. We had trouble connecting to Internet until the hotel manager arrived and spent half-hour with the technical personnel assuring us a perfect connection. Service above and beyond! Rates a bit high but one gets what they pay for.

Room Tip: Consider upgrade for largerbspace
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your stay with us and I truly appreciate the tender compliments about my team members. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the not so far future.

Kind regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager
Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumbull
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This hotel doesn't look like much on the outside. The lobby is small, clean and modern, but the rooms are remarkable! Beautiful, contemporary rooms with wood floors, high ceilings, exceptional bed linens. Right next to the square, close to shopping and many sites.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
On behalf of the Swissotel Amsterdam team I would like to extend my sincerest gratitude for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us.
Swissotel Amsterdam’s unique location and historical 19th century building is a true virtue of the Amsterdam experience.
We hope we have made your stay in Amsterdam a unique experience.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager
Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Swissotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Amsterdam

Also Known As:
Swissotel Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam Hotel
Swissotel Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Swissotel Hotel
Swiss Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Damrak 96, Amsterdam 1012 LP, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#42 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#43 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Amsterdam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Amsterdam boasts the best location in town, right at Dam Square in the heart of the city centre. Being just 20km from Schiphol Airport and a short walk from Central Station, this 4-star hotel offers a perfect base for your stay in Amsterdam. All major sights and attractions are within walking distance. Offering 110 soundproof rooms and suites, Swissotel Amsterdam makes a quiet and comfortable haven amidst a bustling density of high-end shops, restaurants and bars.All rooms include a Nespresso coffee machine and individually controllable climate control. Hotel guests have free access to Swissotel Amsterdam Fitness, featuring state of the art cardio-vascular equipment, and to the Business Centre, providing free internet and office supplies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, Travelocity, Amex, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Swissotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swissotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.