We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Good Staff, Updated Rooms, Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Swissotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Swissotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damrak 96, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
17% discount now!
Ranked #50 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, Good Staff, Updated Rooms, Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was the second time that I stayed in the Swissotel in Amsterdam. It is in a great location, in the busy Dam Square and across the street from the high end Dutch department store De Bienkorf (The Beehive!) There are a slew of restaurants within walking distance, and many attractions. One can also pick up the tram right outside the hotel.

The rooms are small-- boutique-like-- but very clean and pleasantly updated. Our room was facing the back part of the hotel--- no view, but it was very quiet--- perfect for sleeping. The staff is friendly and efficient. The food in the hotel was great, if not a tad pricey.

I would stay in this hotel again. One thing though... if you're rooming with another person, and you don't want to share a bed, I would definitely request separate beds, or upgrade to the suite, where there is a sofa. They cannot guarantee separate beds, it seems. My friend and I lucked out and got what we wanted after writing to the hotel and going back and forth for a bit stressing that we are not a couple, and do not wish to sleep together in the same bed. At first, the lady in customer service was all, "Ok, but there are no guarantees." I wrote back and was all, "Um.. If you cannot 'guarantee' a room with two beds, then we have to change plans." It was then when she assured us the two twin beds. This I found kind of strange. But truly, it is a great hotel.

Room Tip: Room 301 is very clean and quiet with no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    868
    663
    209
    65
    44
See reviews for
222
830
135
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I decided to stay at this hotel after looking up several similar sized hotels and very glad to make the right decision. The location of the hotel is very close to main station and major places that must be visited. The hotel staff is very warm and helpful. If you are looking for a hotel that is centrally located, clean and value for money I would strongly suggest staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortaillod
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Very well situated hotel. Comfortable and good service. Unique bad point is to have to pay for Internet use...Good surprise in finding an Espresso machine in the room. Bed a little bit too soft and create backache.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The hotel is wonderfully located right next to Dam square. We have stayed at Swissotel properties before and were a bit disappointed in this one. It was clean and is being maintained, but the rooms are small, the views poor, and the staff not very knowledgeable, and do not go out of their way to help as with other hotels in this line. Bottom line, it was not terrible, but was just about average.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights in August and found the hotel perfect for everything we needed. At the time of booking, I advised the hotel the trip was a surprise for my boyfriend's birthday, and on arrival we were told they had a gift for him, which he could call to reception and collect at any time. When we called reception, they had a bottle of champagne and some snacks sent to the room, which was a lovely touch!

The room itself was spacious and had everything we needed. The only small problem was we were on the first floor and the noise made it impossible to sleep for more than a few hours at a time.

The location & staff made up for this though, however if i went again i would request a room on a higher floor.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a high floor to try get a better sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caernarfon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

An excellent hotel. We arrived late and was offered an upgrade to the junior suite. The room was spacious and bed very comfortable. Staff at the hotel were very helpful and welcoming. Highly recommended and will definitely use the hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
218 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This hotel has a great location, location, location. The rest is average. Very small rooms, small lobby, average linens & towels and average value.. I will say the staff is very friendly. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#19 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 626 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Centrum
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Amsterdam

Address: Damrak 96, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#37 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#39 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Amsterdam boasts the best location in town, right at Dam Square in the heart of the city centre. Being just 20km from Schiphol Airport and a short walk from Central Station, this 4-star hotel offers a perfect base for your stay in Amsterdam. All major sights and attractions are within walking distance. Offering 110 soundproof rooms and suites, Swissotel Amsterdam makes a quiet and comfortable haven amidst a bustling density of high-end shops, restaurants and bars.All rooms include a Nespresso coffee machine and individually controllable climate control. Hotel guests have free access to Swissotel Amsterdam Fitness, featuring state of the art cardio-vascular equipment, and to the Business Centre, providing free internet and office supplies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Swissotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Swissotel Hotel
Swiss Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swissotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.