We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticks all the boxes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Swissotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Swissotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damrak 96, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% OFF YOUR STAY
Ranked #52 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Ticks all the boxes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights nights on business, we usually use the Krasnapolsky (sp) round the corner so I was a bit apprehensive as the outside looks a bit dodgy.
But I need not have worried as the Swissotel is a clean and modern place. The room was quite large with a big bed, mini-bar and TV with pay per view films (honestly I didn't use this facility).
Location is very good, just off the square and up the road from the train station and, I was told, the red-light district is just round the corner.

Would come back for pleasure.......with the missus.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
I am happy we were able to take away your worries and ticked all the boxes.
Would be lovely to welcome you and the missus back to our hotel

Kind regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager
Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    492
    152
    46
    33
See reviews for
147
538
96
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The folks at the front desk were so helpful and friendly, the rooms were very clean. When we needed more pillows and extension chords, they ran them right up, as if a small hotel with personal service.
The gym and business center are nice and open 24 hours (business center has several Mac desktops), including some "treats".
Well located, right off of Dam Square. Close to everything, including flower market, Red light, everything really (though it's a small city).
You have to pay for Wifi; I believe was about Euro 25 for 48 hours use.
As others have said, one side of the hotel's windows look out onto another building/brick wall, where the other side has a better view. We looked at the building, but was fine with us. You may want to ask for the better view (though may be louder).
Overall, very good stay. Thanks to the hotel management and employees.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

I am always pleased to read good comments about my staff. I will make sure to pass on the compliments to the team members involved. As you might have read in previous reviews, service and friendliness are our top priority as are our guests.

It is interesting to notice that some reviewers try to convince readers to avoid a room in the front of the hotel and others actually recommend the rooms overlooking Dam Square. It is just a matter of preference.The rooms in the front really gives you the feeling of being in a big city, with all the huzzle and buzzle that goes with it. The rooms in the back and inner side are more quiet. It is advisable to mention your preference when booking with us directly, and we will do our utmost to accomadate you accordingly. Please do note that requests are always subject to availability and can't be guaranteed.

It seems you enjoyed the hotel and all Amsterdam has to offer to the fullest.

I hope we will be able to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager
Swissotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Very ideal location just across from Dam square. We drove there and had a hard time locating it because 1) our gps wasnt very good and 2) the Swisshotel signage was kinda small and easily overlooked in my opinion. Staff did come out onto the street to find us so they did do their best to help us. If you are driving there, be prepared to pay 50Euros for parking charges in the closest covered carpark which was connected to the small shopping centre across the road.

The room itself was good and we appreciated the lovely pillow selection. Service was attentive, friendly and accomodating.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for this great review .It indeed can be quite a challenge to find your way by car in the city centre of Amsterdam. If you would visit us again in the future please note that we can also recommend our 'B Smart Parking' valet parking service. Within 20 minutes after your arrival a 'Smart Parking' employee will pick up your car and park it safely in the nearest available closed garage. Your car will be supervised 24 hours a day. To return your car please inform the reception 30 minutes in advance. 'Smart Parking' costs € 21 a day. Pick up fee is € 10. This can save a lot of money.
I am pleased to read you enjoyed our pillow selection.

We really hope to welcome you back to our hotel!

Kind regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager
Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hythe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Saga found this hotel for us, as we had added 2 nights in Amsterdam onto the end of a Rhine cruise. Swissotel is centrally placed in Dam Square, so it is really convenient for walking, catching trams, etc. The staff were very friendly and keen to ensure that we were happy. The room was delightful, though we didn't get on with the coffee machine. We rang reception to find out how to make a cup of tea and they immediately sent someone up with a kettle! Breakfast was superb. Having been disappointed with grumpy service in the city it was good to have genial and helpful reception staff at the hotel. It isn't particularly cheap, but on this occasion we were happy to be so well-placed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you ever so much for this very nice review.
I am happy to read you enjoyed your additional 2 nights at our hotel.
Swissotel is very centrally located as it is situated in the heart of the city centre of Amsterdam, next to Dam Square. I am sorry to read you had some bad service experiences in the city. Personalized service and friendliness are our top priority. If you will visit us again, please ask our concierge for some tips on nice restaurants, he would be pleased to advise you and make the necessary arrangements.

All of our guest rooms are equipped with a Nespresso machine, which you can use for coffee and tea, although a kettle would also be perfect for a nice cup of tea.
I hope we are able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager
Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Very clean , nice hotel in a very central location . So good going to use this hotel again in February . Got a free upgrade on the room and the nice warm towels to warm up your hands as you check in is a nice touch

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Great to learn you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we are honoured we can welcome you back to our hotel again this February.
I am pleased to read you enjoyed our welcome refreshment towel at time of check.

We look forward to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Harold Kluit
General manager
Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
weston-s-mare
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

this hotel was well located right on the square which i found good because i have a tendancy to get a little worse for wear in amsterdam and finding my way home can be a bit of a task! the rooms are clean and the service friendly, the hotel restaurant isn't bad and if i remember rightly there is a gift shop too where i bought a reasonable diamond necklace for the girl i was staying with. the only downside i found was that there are just a lot of people begging for money in the area and when i went to the newsagent down the road to get a paper on the sunday morning i really had to run the gauntlet of quite agressive beggars, this of course is no fault of the hotel, but it is a locational hazard, i did however find that most of them responded to some stiff english swear words and left me alone. this place isn't cheap but nothing in amsterdam is, it is good value for money however.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

I am sorry to read you have had some bad experiences with some wanderers. Due to the fact there is quite some police surveillance this luckily occurs very rarely. We are very centrally located in the bubbly city centre of Amsterdam and therefore it is indeed easy to find your way back home.

We hope you will find your way back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Harold Kluit
General Manager
Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swissotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Amsterdam

Address: Damrak 96, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#42 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Amsterdam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Amsterdam boasts the best location in town, right at Dam Square in the heart of the city centre. Being just 20km from Schiphol Airport and a short walk from Central Station, this 4-star hotel offers a perfect base for your stay in Amsterdam. All major sights and attractions are within walking distance. Offering 110 soundproof rooms and suites, Swissotel Amsterdam makes a quiet and comfortable haven amidst a bustling density of high-end shops, restaurants and bars.All rooms include a Nespresso coffee machine and individually controllable climate control. Hotel guests have free access to Swissotel Amsterdam Fitness, featuring state of the art cardio-vascular equipment, and to the Business Centre, providing free internet and office supplies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelsNL, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, EasyToBook and Otel so you can book your Swissotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Swissotel Hotel
Swiss Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swissotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.