We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Swissotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Swissotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damrak 96, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% OFF YOUR STAY
Ranked #57 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Exceptional Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Swissotel has a name to defend. As one of the premier brands for 5 star luxury hotel.
And Swissotel is certainly up for that name. What it lacks in size it makes up in service.
Because it's only problem for me is exactly this location, which is quite small a building, if you are used to Swissotel in Istanbul for instance.
Check in was swift, professional, we got an upgrade of our room.
And the the exceptional service appeared : I mentioned an issue with the valet service, which is an extra service they outsource, so not from the hotel itself, but the issue was take in hand personally by Rob, one of the concierges and he took it upon himself to resolve the issue and an hour later an envelope was ready at reception that took care of it.
The room was very spacious, very good bed, very good mattress. Very nice design and about the best and biggest choice of minibar snacks, wow !
The bar was a bit disappointing. There are many more nicer bars to go to then this one.
We didn't take breakfast in the hotel, so I can't comment on that. But I would certainly recommend this hotel for a city trip to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAms, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Heart-warming review. Thank you very much. I will pass on the compliments to Rob.

Please note that the restaurant and bar are not owned by Swissôtel Amsterdam. We merely outsource our breakfast to Restaurant Dam Plaza. Because there is a direct entrance to the restaurant from the hotel lobby it is very understandable people assume it is part of the hotel. You are absolutely right: plenty of bars waiting to be explored in this part of town.
Thanks for recommending Swissôtel Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Harold J. Kluit
General manager
Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,169 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    489
    457
    148
    44
    31
See reviews for
132
486
90
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Spent one night here, but would have stayed for more if I could have. The welcome from the hotel staff was great, the hot towels on arrival was a lovely touch. The room looked right on to Dam Square which was fab and the room and bed was very comfortable. On check out the chilled bottle of water again a lovely touch. I will definitely look to book this hotel again when staying in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAms, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Thank you for the warm words. As for the warm towels: they’re new since last month. Great to read they’re so much appreciated. Please do look for our hotel next time you’re planning to visit Amsterdam. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Harold J. Kluit
General manager
Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

Stayed in the hotel for 3 days - it is located right in Dam square and only about a 7-10 min walk from the Central train station. Amsterdam is not a big place and you can pretty much walk to all the places of interest (except may be the museums and the flea market).

The hotel gave me my room early (I checked in before 12 because I arrived early) which was great. The room was nice, modern and clean. It has a nespresso machine in the room so you can get your coffee. The hotel also has a great business center with 3 Macs and printer for you to print stuff (like boarding passes). Front desk was very courteous and helpful. They have orange juice and water for guests to drink in the lobby and in the business center.

Will definitely stay again if I ever visit Amsterdam again.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room that is near damrak because it may be a bit noisy then in the back. Also - yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAms, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Thank you very very much for pointing out all our assets. Now we do not need to do that anymore. Please promise me next time you’re staying with us to report any malfunctioning in your room straight away so we can fix it on the spot.
Really interesting to read that some reviewers recommend staying in a room at the front side, while others are discouraging it. If you like having a view and really like have the feeling you’re right in the city centre the rooms in the front are you’re cup of tea. If you rather want total quietness I would advise a room in the back of the hotel or one facing the courtyard.
We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,

Harold J. Kluit
General manager
Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Just returned from spending 3 nights at the Swissotel Ameterdam and could not fault it any way
From checking in with the reception staff to dining/bar and housekeeping we could not have had any better service. Location perfect, hotel room 1st class that was room 111 and helpfull staff what more could you ask for a pefect week-end..Thank you Swissotel

Room Tip: Ask for Room 111 it was overlooking Dam Square maybe a bit noisy for some but great to look out at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAms, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
You’re very welcome! Thanks for the boost.
We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Harold J. Kluit
General manager
Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Pros: location, location, location. Booked two rooms, and for a very reasonable price, one was a corner room overlooking Dam Square. Did I mention location? Also, the Dam Square room was big, with a huge bathroom. Very modern. Very reasonable.

Cons: the "other" room, i.e. the one not on Dam Square, was tiny...almost cruise ship tiny. The bathroom was tiny as well. Felt very claustrophobic. I know you don't go to Amsterdam to spend time in your room, but you at least want enough room to stretch your arms.

Overall: entirely worth it. Updated, modern, fantastic location.

Advice: pick your room in advance. Get the corner rooms overlooking Dam Square. Don't stay here if they're going to shove you in a corner.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAms, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Nice review. Thank you very much. The corner room you were in must have been either a suite or a Swiss Business Advantage Room. I tend to believe that you were lucky to have a free upgrade for one of the rooms. I couldn’t make up from your review that you booked two different room types. In that case: yes, if you compare a suite to a classic room, which is our most basic room type, the difference is rather big. Still there is even a difference in size between our various classic rooms. If you want guaranteed space I would suggest to book a Swiss Business Advantage Room, a Junior Suite or a City View Suite. Most of them overlook Dam Square. Please list your preferences in the booking. Please note that certain preferences, like a corner room overlooking Dam Square, cannot be guaranteed 100%, but I will assure you that our staff will take them into account.

Kind regards,

Harold J. Kluit
General manager
Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Swissotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Amsterdam

Address: Damrak 96, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#39 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#48 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Amsterdam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Amsterdam boasts the best location in town, right at Dam Square in the heart of the city centre. Being just 20km from Schiphol Airport and a short walk from Central Station, this 4-star hotel offers a perfect base for your stay in Amsterdam. All major sights and attractions are within walking distance. Offering 110 soundproof rooms and suites, Swissotel Amsterdam makes a quiet and comfortable haven amidst a bustling density of high-end shops, restaurants and bars.All rooms include a Nespresso coffee machine and individually controllable climate control. Hotel guests have free access to Swissotel Amsterdam Fitness, featuring state of the art cardio-vascular equipment, and to the Business Centre, providing free internet and office supplies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, Venere and Otel so you can book your Swissotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Swissotel Hotel
Swiss Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swissotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.