We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love This Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Swissotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Swissotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damrak 96, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
17% discount now!
Ranked #47 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Love This Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

I have been to Amsterdam many times and this is one of my favorite hotels. Rooms are very spacious, trendy and the hotel is centrally located on Damrak. It's very easy to walk to and from the train to get to the hotel. The train ride is about 15 mins from the airport. And the location is uber central to walk all of the quite essential tourist destinations. Although, the hotel is in a central and noisy area - once inside your room room's are very quite and relaxing.

Of course, the staff is super friend and knowledgeable - They directed to me a few fantastic pancake and local (non-tourist) dinning spots.

Room Tip: Try to obtain a room in the front of the hotel with views of the square on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
It is really great read that you count us among your favourite hotels. Competition is quite fierce so I take that as a huge compliment. I assume and hope we will be able to welcome you back soon. thank you very much for the review.

Kind regards,

Harold J. Kluit
General manager
Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    850
    638
    206
    65
    42
See reviews for
216
807
132
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

This is a nice, convenient, pleasant hotel. Of note are the helpful staff and the pitchers of water and juice at the front desk. Most places in Amsterdam you have to buy water, same price as beer!, so the hotel water was much appreciated.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
You're welcome. We also have pitchers with water and orange juice, as well as savoury snacks, in our business centre at the first floor. We just purchased three brand new iMacs for the guests to use completely free of charge in the business centre.
Thanks for your review and please come back soon.

Kind regards,

Harold J. Kluit
General Manager
Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Stayed at the hotel last week for three nights. Upon arrival we were greeted by an Asian lady with a great sense of humor, probably the best reception I’ve had in my 100’s of hotel visits. I saw her interact in the same way with other visitors.
Our room was at the back, so it was silent, however the apertures have very low insulation and I can understand those who claim the rooms may be noisy if one’s room faces the main street.
Being situated on Dam square the location is, of course, brilliant. Rooms are modern and a good size and come with a healthy welcome snack and personalized note from the manager. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Thank you for the review. The rooms at the rear side of the hotel are of course the most quiet ones. Especially to people who are not used to any outside noise at all we would recommend those. We did our utmost to soundproof the rooms in the front, but you can impossibly for instance shut out the tinkling of the trams completely. A lot of people actually think of it as charming .
Great to read you had such a pleasant stay. I will pass on the compliments to Louisa, whose sparkling persona is one of our most valuable assets.

Kind regards,

Harold J. Kluit
General Manager
Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

My company booked me into this hotel, so I was delighted with the superior hospitality and proximity to The Jordaan district and Centraal Station on the Dam Square. Upon arrival, we were greeted with a personalized thank you note, a split of red wine and a tray of tasty nibbles. After a sleepless first night in a 2nd floor room overlooking a noisy side alley, we asked for and were granted an upper interior room resulting in blissful quietude for the rest of our 4-day stay. The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful, especially front desk clerk Cindy Bergers who noticed my birthday would occur on our checkout day and surprised us with a complementary bottle of bubbly.

We opted out of the hotel breakfast, preferring to eat in our cozy, comfy rooms since it was so easy to purchase yogurt and pastries at the nearby Albert Heijn supermarket a block away and make our own coffee with the in-room Nespresso machine. The Swissotel is perfectly located on multiple tram lines to get to the museum district and restaurants beyond the city center (we recommend Blauw for an updated Indonesian feast). Best of all, a 5 minute walk takes you to the loveliest canal neighborhood, Jordaan (Amsterdam’s version of Greenwich Village) and delightful restaurants like Zwaantje for traditional Dutch fare and Café DeReiger for a classic ‘brown’ bistro experience.

Room Tip: Book ahead and request an interiior, upper floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
This sounds like you really made the best out of your Amsterdam stay. Thank you very much for the great review, which includes a suggestion or two for future visitors. I will pass on your compliments to Cindy.

I sincerely hope we will be able to welcome you back to our hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Harold J. Kluit
General manager
Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainsboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

I liked this hotel nice friendly staff good rates and great area. Can get noisy a bit but i never mind that. The rooms are kindof old though, bearable though if all you want to do is sleep in them.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Thank you for your review. I sincerely like the great comments we get on our staff lately. I hope to welcome you back to our hotel during your next trip to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Harold J. Kluit
General manager
Swiss147tel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights. Room rate was good, in Amsterdam hotels are very expensive.
It is centrally localted on a busy street.
Everything was good and as you would expect from a Swissotel, but next time I will stay with my family in a quieter district or Haarlem.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Thanks for the review. Swissôtel Amsterdam is located right in the middle of the city centre, which is indeed a very busy area. Actually upon entering the hotel you will find yourself in an oasis of tranquility. We do our utmost to keep the busy city outside by soundproofing our room and create a quiet atmosphere. Judging from a lot of reviews we do succeed in that.

Kind regards,

Harold J. Kluit
General manager
Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

the rooms are spacious, front desk staff incredible friendly and the view from the room fantastic. The hotel is centrally located, can't be better, ie. in front of Dan Square.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the street so you can see the street movement of pedestrians day and night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelAmsterdam, General Manager at Swissotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Thank you for pointing out our location. There are only two hotels located at Dam Square. Swissôtel Amsterdam is one of them. For people who have never been to Amsterdam: DamSquare is the main square of the city. It's famous for the Royal Palace, which was actually built as town hall.

Kind regards,

Harold J. Kluit
General Manager
Swissôtel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#18 of 354 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 598 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Centrum
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Amsterdam

Address: Damrak 96, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#37 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Amsterdam boasts the best location in town, right at Dam Square in the heart of the city centre. Being just 20km from Schiphol Airport and a short walk from Central Station, this 4-star hotel offers a perfect base for your stay in Amsterdam. All major sights and attractions are within walking distance. Offering 110 soundproof rooms and suites, Swissotel Amsterdam makes a quiet and comfortable haven amidst a bustling density of high-end shops, restaurants and bars.All rooms include a Nespresso coffee machine and individually controllable climate control. Hotel guests have free access to Swissotel Amsterdam Fitness, featuring state of the art cardio-vascular equipment, and to the Business Centre, providing free internet and office supplies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Swissotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Swissotel Hotel
Swiss Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swissotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.