We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swissotel Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel Amsterdam

Best prices from these 14 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Swissotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Swissotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damrak 96, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
hampshire UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Swissotel Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2007

very good hotel,b/fast was of a very high standard the rooms were very clean.but one word of warning this is a smoking hotel,they do have to non smoking rooms which you must ask for we did not known this hense a very smelly room,the staff were very helpful, and its in a great location [right on dam square]
and not far from the station

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    559
    499
    154
    46
    33
See reviews for
147
554
96
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Simi Valley, California
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2007

Great hotel...Had 2 connecting rooms. Rooms were clean and hotel was centrally located. One block from red light district. Hotel staff was very helpful with information. Would definitely stay at this hotel again and actually we are planning on it again next summer.

  • Liked — Clean, quiet, helpful staff
  • Disliked — nothing...loved it
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2007

We decided to stay for five nights in Dam Square this our second trip to Amsterdam. We chose the Swissotel, and we upgraded from a Standard room to Superior. We took the Connexion shuttle from the Airport and a "hotel reserved taxi" back all went well.

Room: #217 wasn't ready when we arrived at Noon ,but was soon after. is one of a few that's has a balcony (small enough for 2 to stand out on) that overlooks Dam Square and its a beautiful view, people everywhere.From where I could see there were no more hotels with this. Room was well appointed with Comfortable bed (not like the Marriott but good enough), good linens and a separate downstairs landing when you come in the and you could never hear any hallway noise. Good bathroom except little counter space, HOT steamy shower, safe, good closet space, desk. Room is actually on 3rd floor.

Tips; I Amsterdam card. If you stay busy and like to tour its the way to go. Learn to use the trams, as they are easy quick. Rent a GPS (from City Navigators) while we watched numerous people trying to figure out maps we walked from place to destination w/out hardly ever a mis-step. Watching the kids Ice skate in Leidseplein Sq. .Get To Anne Frank House early and miss the crowds.

The Good: Balcony overlooking Dam Sq, Balconies are few here in the Dam but almost unheard of overlooking Dam Sq. The Staff as wonderful as they will attend to your needs. We felt security to be excellent at this hotel. You need your card to enter the elevator and staff is always present. Very clean Hotel as well. Excellent e-mail communication with hotel staff before arrived and helped us with all of our needs.

Not so Good; Its a Loud room and you have to be okay with that going in.Run the ac/heat on High and it cuts out most of the noise. Weather last time we went it was July and there is no comparison to Winter. Its costs a lot more to go in Summer and I can see why, its as much the long hours of daylight as it is the temperature. Like many shower only baths water runs out in to bathroom floor quickly , the shower is so good its hard to turn off. Room never did get warm above 65 degrees.

After our second trip to Amsterdam I would say we easily prefer Leidseplein to Dam Square. I also have to compare the Swissotel to the Marriott. If we had to choose it would be Marriott due to wanting to be in Leidseplein and its generally a better area to us than Dam Sq. Bed was more comfortable at Marriott. We would still Highly recommend the Swissotel for people wanting to be in or near Dam Square. The Hotel is good for couples and Single travelers.

  • Liked — Balcony
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2007

This trip was a suprise 30th Birthday treat.
The hotel is really central to everywhere. The room we were allocated was great, it was on the first floor, The bed was huge and extremely comfy and our room was very quiet.
The staff were friendly and helpful.
We went for breakfast one morning that wasn't included in the price and it was fairly pricey at 20 Euro's each. There are loads of Places to eat close by for a lot cheaper.
Will stay here again on my next visit to Amsterdam.

  • Liked — The Bed
  • Disliked — Pricey Breafast
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2007

We are just now getting around to writing this after spending a few days of our honeymoon in Amsterdam. The staff at the Swissotel was friendly and the hotel very modern and clean with comfortable rooms. The location is perfect as it sits next to Dam Square. Fantastic smoke shops, restaurants, bars, and shopping line the immediate area - you couldn't get a better location than this. We would stay here again if we have the chance. Check out the Cinema Paradiso restaurant while you're there, delicious!

  • Liked — Excellent breakfast every morning
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2007

went and stayed at the swissotel last year and didnt have any complaints. However wasnt impressed this year. Staff werent as friendly and although rooms were clean, they were very dated. Will book somewere else next year.

Stayed November 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2007

Great hotel in a great location. I would reccomend the Swissotel to anyone travelling to Amsterdam. Staff were very friendly rooms were spotless and food was great. On the negative side Amsterdam is very expensive city to shop or drink in.

  • Liked — Cleanliness of rooms and great costumer service.
  • Disliked — nothing.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swissotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Amsterdam

Address: Damrak 96, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#36 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#42 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Amsterdam boasts the best location in town, right at Dam Square in the heart of the city centre. Being just 20km from Schiphol Airport and a short walk from Central Station, this 4-star hotel offers a perfect base for your stay in Amsterdam. All major sights and attractions are within walking distance. Offering 110 soundproof rooms and suites, Swissotel Amsterdam makes a quiet and comfortable haven amidst a bustling density of high-end shops, restaurants and bars.All rooms include a Nespresso coffee machine and individually controllable climate control. Hotel guests have free access to Swissotel Amsterdam Fitness, featuring state of the art cardio-vascular equipment, and to the Business Centre, providing free internet and office supplies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your Swissotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Swissotel Hotel
Swiss Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swissotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.