We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, welcoming and great location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Singel Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Singel Hotel to your Saves list
Singel Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Singel 13-17, 1012 VC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #141 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfortable, welcoming and great location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Reading these reviews led us to book this hotel and we were not disappointed. The location is excellent, all the staff we met were friendly and welcoming and our room (36) was a good size, quiet and clean with a huge and comfortable bed. I was a little disappointed not to have a canal view so if that is important to you, make sure to request it and book early. The advantage of rooms at the back like ours is that they're likely to be much cooler and quieter during the peak summer months.
Overall, this hotel is a gem and I have no hesitation in recommending it to others. We shall definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    286
    136
    36
    30
See reviews for
76
248
86
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just back from weekend in Amsterdam.Hotel is very well situated,about ten minute walk from central station with a superb location looking out on to the singel canal,
Rooms were fairly small but very clean,all you need for a short stay.
Reception staff very freindly,we arrived hours before we could check in but there is luggage storage and as they were still serving breakfast he told us we would be welcome to have breakfast which was a nice touch after being up at three am that morning.All reception staff are very helpful and speal excellent english.

Room Tip: 4th floor have smoking rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very nice and clean small hotel. Has elevator and comfortable rooms with their own bathroom. The staff are pleasant and will help to provide any information you need. It is near the train station and central square, easy to find. Pet friendly. All recommendations!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I chose this hotel for its location: it is a short walk from the Central Station and is in the heart of Amsterdam. It also sits in front of the water of one of the most important canals. Our room was comfortable enough, and clean, and had a window on the street, from which we could see the Canal and the bikes passing by. Although right on the street, the room was quiet and we did not have reasons to complain about the noise (however, this was March when not many people stay out long). Other rooms in the hotel do not share the same view, so they may be a bit darker. Breakfast included in the price was OK, although not memorable. Still, they had a good selection of Dutch salami and cheese. Staff was in general very nice, friendly and helpful. Needless to say, they spoke fluent English. Overall, I would stay in this hotel again, as it was reasonably priced, comfortable, and in a great location.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side of street are brighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Cork
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is in a great location, its about 6 mins. walk from central station. The train from the airport goes every 20 mins.(I think) .The staff were all very helpful. The breakfast is the usual continental menu. There was good variety. Our room was small. The beds were comfortable .Our room was situated at the front of the hotel was never woken by any noise and I am a light sleeper. Dam Square is about 10 minutes walk.There are a few lovely restaurants and bars nearby. If it happens to rain there are umbrellas by the door which you can borrow. would definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Enjoyed our stay. Hotel central to most attractions with friendly staff. Rooms are basic but very clean and comfortable and staff very helpful. Can recommend this hotel and would return. Only 5 minutes from central station, trams and canal tours. 10 minute walk from Anne Franks house and 10 minutes from most other major attractions. I would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A small but cosy hotel in the heart of Amsterdam. Great location not far from central station with cafes,restaurants and shops in the hood. Tram around the corner. Small rooms but good beds and pillows. Good breakfast and very helpful staff. Excellent hotel for short stays!

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Singel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Singel Hotel

Address: Singel 13-17, 1012 VC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Singel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Singel Hotel:The Singel Hotel, located in three characteristic 17th century canal houses at the beautiful and quiet Singel canal, is perfectly located in the city centre. This comfortable three star hotel is situated at one of the best locations of Amsterdam. An ideal mix of nostalgic atmosphere and modern comfort close to all major attractions.Typical brown cafes and good restaurants are just around the corner and all public transportation can be reached within walking distance.This charming Singel Hotel offers, behind the attractively restored facade,32 up-to-date renovated rooms, an elevator and accomodation for 65 guests. Our friendly staff will do everything to make your stay unforgetable. Location:The Singel Hotel is very easy to reach. There is a direct train connection from Schiphol Airport to the Amsterdam Central Station which takes less then 15 minutes.Coming out of the Amsterdam Central Station you cross the station square and turnright at the Prins Hendrikkade. After 200 meters you turn left at the Singel canal. You will reach the Singel Hotel in 200 meters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Priceline, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Singel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Singel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.