We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Singel Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Singel Hotel to your Saves list
Singel Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Singel 13-17, 1012 VC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #166 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Finland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Singel hotel is in a great location - a short walk from the Central Railway station and near to many attractions. I highly recommend to take the train to and from airport as it was very easy, cheap and quick.

The hotel itself is pretty small and so are the rooms in general. Only problem to me was those fitted carpets on the floor, which I can't stand but other than that the rooms were in ok condition. Biggest bonus was that the hotel seemed to be very quiet by night, no noice from the streets nor from the other guests.

There was an ok breakfast as well and some here have mentioned that they had to queue for a table, as the breakfast area is small, but we didn't have this as a problem. There was always room and even a high-chair for a baby, which was a bonus for our child.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatyerFin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Only stayed for one nigh with my girlfriend over her birthday, although this is not the cheapest 3 star in Amsterdam i would stay again. Great location and the staff where friendly, breakfast was nice too.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee WI
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

June 2014 was my second stay at The Singel Hotel (the last time was about 5 years ago). The hotel is a relatively short walk from Centraal Station - easy enough if you don't have a lot of luggage and are in reasonable shape. The hotel has an elevator - a definite plus!

The staff at the Singel Hotel were all every helpful and knowledgeable. Everyone spoke perfect English (typical of most Amsterdammers!) and were willing to chat a bit - very hospitable!.

My room was a double at the back of the hotel so I didn't have a view but it was quiet (which was good because the Netherlands football team was doing well in the World Cup!). The canal view rooms are much more scenic however they are on the street side so there is much more noise from vehicles and pedestrians. The room had a spacious bathroom that was updated relatively recently. The room and bath were very clean and comfortable. I didn't really hear anyone except the loud Americans that came in the middle of my visit.

The breakfast buffet was great - I'm still thinking about the fresh bread that they had! The offerings included fresh bread (white and brown), pre-sliced bread, english muffins, croissants (regular and chocolate!) and several types of cereal, several types of yogurt, sliced meats, sliced cheeses, hard boiled eggs, fruit and juices. The hotel staff would get you hot tea and coffee if you wanted it. The breakfast alone makes me want to go back soon!!!

Internet access was very good - I had no problems during my entire stay.

I would recommend the Singel Hotel most certainly!

Room Tip: If you want quiet and dark, ask for a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This hotel is well situated near everything from the train station to the main tourist attractions. We stayed for one night and we didn't use the transportation at all. every thing is walking distance. it is located on the Singel canal in a safe and quiet area. The hotel is Far enough from the red district street which could be little scary for some people. The room is very good as a space, cleanliness and calmness. I liked the area very much and there are restaurants and food corners around with very good prices (actually there is a fish corner that has a very delicious fish sandwiches).
The only thing that I disliked is the staff, nothing but they seemed non willing to help. Wi-Fi signal is very poor and disconnect every few minutes.

Room Tip: take a room with a view on the canal it is very lovely especially at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank maimoaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Stayed there with a friend , he got a bronchial infection and needed a dr. The young lady working the desk fond him a Dr. Nearby and made an appt for him. Dr. Gave him some prescriptions which I filled. I have stayed here numerous occasions and like the location , near Central station and tram line. Free WiFi and European breakfast. Rooms are smallish as expected for the reasonable rates. If raining they have loaner umbrellas.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BBQPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This was a small hotel about 5 minutes walk from the railway station situated in a quiet street overlooking the canal.

It was close to lots of restaurants and cafes and was well served by the local trams.

The hotel was well presented, there was a good choice at breakfast and the staff were helpful.

The only downside was the room - it was clean, bright and charming with a comfortable bed, but because it was in the eaves, it had a low, sloping ceiling and was quite small

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank none50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
A-Train Hotel
A-Train Hotel
#146 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 689 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#119 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 889 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#145 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 3,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Avenue Hotel
Avenue Hotel
#185 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 1,146 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,020 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Singel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Singel Hotel

Address: Singel 13-17, 1012 VC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Singel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Singel Hotel:The Singel Hotel, located in three characteristic 17th century canal houses at the beautiful and quiet Singel canal, is perfectly located in the city centre. This comfortable three star hotel is situated at one of the best locations of Amsterdam. An ideal mix of nostalgic atmosphere and modern comfort close to all major attractions.Typical brown cafes and good restaurants are just around the corner and all public transportation can be reached within walking distance.This charming Singel Hotel offers, behind the attractively restored facade,32 up-to-date renovated rooms, an elevator and accomodation for 65 guests. Our friendly staff will do everything to make your stay unforgetable. Location:The Singel Hotel is very easy to reach. There is a direct train connection from Schiphol Airport to the Amsterdam Central Station which takes less then 15 minutes.Coming out of the Amsterdam Central Station you cross the station square and turnright at the Prins Hendrikkade. After 200 meters you turn left at the Singel canal. You will reach the Singel Hotel in 200 meters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Venere, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Singel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#