We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Singel Hotel

Save Saved
You added Singel Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Singel Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Singel 13-17, 1012 VC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free canal cruise
Ranked #122 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

just back from spending 5 nights at this lovely hotel spotlessly rooms very friendly and helpful staff couldn't do enough for you beds very comfy would go back again thanks to all staff very central for everything

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    155
    265
    119
    39
    27
See reviews for
66
203
73
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

My 2 nights at the Singel was excellent, always a friendly welcome, I've stayed here several times and keep coming back time and time again.
A Great location, good breakfast, and first class service.
Will indeed be back again on my next trip to the city

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

I was booked at the hotel for 2 nights, and enjoyed my stay.

The reception staff were friendly and welcoming, the room was crisp and clean, and the continental breakfast hit the spot exactly!

Plus, of course, the location in the city was excellent.

I'm looking forward to returning on a future visit to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

second visit and this hotel is not wearing well.......uncomfortable beds, meager breakfast, noisy front rooms onto the night scene of nearest bridge. Well located to the train station ONLY if you have a small roller bag, not any substantial luggage Well located to good restaurants. Going to look for a touch more luxury in a different hotel next time: will be worth the comfort! As Amsterdam is tolerant of the all night partying going on....and the Singel is in the middle of all that, will have to look a bit further out to a quieter neighborhood.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I visited this hotel for the 3rd time now and standards are still very good here, I stayed in Amsterdam's smallest room, which was quite big compared to what i was expecting , comfy bed, tv , desk ,separate ensuite , and a wardrobe and safe, The hotel is located very well on 5 mins from central station , breakfast was good.

The hotel staff are very good and always help out.

I would recommend this Hotel, keep up the good work and see you in June ;-)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a great time. The location was perfect, close to central station and along the Singel canal. A convenient and central location but set back from everything so it wasn't noisy. The staff were all very friendly and helpful with suggestions about where to go to eat or rent bikes. The room it's self was basic but still nice. We had a view of the building next door which might bother some people but we didn't mind, we didn't spend much time in the room anyway. Breakfast each day was fab with lot's of choice. We found a deal for this hotel on Trivago so it was very good value when you compare it to hostels in the local area. I would definitely recommend this hotel and visit again, thank you!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Wonderful stay and an extra thank you to the lovely, always smiling and super friendly receptionist, who surprised us with 4 boat trip tickets. Courtesy of the hotel!! We will definately return for a longer period of time!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Singel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Singel Hotel

Address: Singel 13-17, 1012 VC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Singel Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Singel Hotel:The Singel Hotel, located in three characteristic 17th century canal houses at the beautiful and quiet Singel canal, is perfectly located in the city centre. This comfortable three star hotel is situated at one of the best locations of Amsterdam. An ideal mix of nostalgic atmosphere and modern comfort close to all major attractions.Typical brown cafes and good restaurants are just around the corner and all public transportation can be reached within walking distance.This charming Singel Hotel offers, behind the attractively restored facade,32 up-to-date renovated rooms, an elevator and accomodation for 65 guests. Our friendly staff will do everything to make your stay unforgetable. Location:The Singel Hotel is very easy to reach. There is a direct train connection from Schiphol Airport to the Amsterdam Central Station which takes less then 15 minutes.Coming out of the Amsterdam Central Station you cross the station square and turnright at the Prins Hendrikkade. After 200 meters you turn left at the Singel canal. You will reach the Singel Hotel in 200 meters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Otel, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Singel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Singel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.