We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Location , Very Friendly Staff ;-)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Singel Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Singel Hotel to your Saves list
Singel Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Singel 13-17, 1012 VC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free canal cruise
Ranked #133 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
london
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and Location , Very Friendly Staff ;-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I visited this hotel for the 3rd time now and standards are still very good here, I stayed in Amsterdam's smallest room, which was quite big compared to what i was expecting , comfy bed, tv , desk ,separate ensuite , and a wardrobe and safe, The hotel is located very well on 5 mins from central station , breakfast was good.

The hotel staff are very good and always help out.

I would recommend this Hotel, keep up the good work and see you in June ;-)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    267
    126
    34
    28
See reviews for
73
227
80
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a great time. The location was perfect, close to central station and along the Singel canal. A convenient and central location but set back from everything so it wasn't noisy. The staff were all very friendly and helpful with suggestions about where to go to eat or rent bikes. The room it's self was basic but still nice. We had a view of the building next door which might bother some people but we didn't mind, we didn't spend much time in the room anyway. Breakfast each day was fab with lot's of choice. We found a deal for this hotel on Trivago so it was very good value when you compare it to hostels in the local area. I would definitely recommend this hotel and visit again, thank you!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Wonderful stay and an extra thank you to the lovely, always smiling and super friendly receptionist, who surprised us with 4 boat trip tickets. Courtesy of the hotel!! We will definately return for a longer period of time!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Small (as with most old Amsterdam buildings) but very comfortable and clean room. Staff extremely helpful. Rather closer to Red Light area than expected but my 11 year old was completely oblivious so not a problem. Would be happy to stay again.

Room Tip: We asked for a canal view. My lad would happily have stayed another night as he was keen on sitting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanaken, Belgium
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Stayed in the hotel for two nights. It is at a very good location, the room was small, but decent. The bathroom was ok, although the sink was tiny and the shower was only separated by a glass panel from the toilet (there was no proper shower cabin).
The room was always clean and warm, even though it was on the ground floor.
The only negative thing was that being so close to the reception (rooms 7 and 8) means that you hear all the people coming and going and their loud chattering as well. It's not ideal if you're not a good sleeper. For me the bed was a bit too soft.
Breakfast is in the price, it's a standard continental breakfast with some ham, salami, cooked eggs, cheeses, butter, bread, yoghurts, cereals, fruit salad. i was missing some fresh vegetables like tomatoes. The breakfast area is very small compared to the number of rooms (about 20 places) so you might need to wait for 5-10 minutes to be seated if you happen to arrive at the wrong time. Fruit juices (orange and mix) were not refilled when we had breakfast there.
Wifi is for free and it's decent. Parking place is available at the central station of Amsterdam (~500 meters), it costs 55 eur/day.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Visited in Feb 2014. Hotel was in great location, staff very friendly and helpful. Double Room was clean but quite small if staying for more than a few days. Suited us perfectly for the weekend. Breakfast was good with plenty of tea and coffee. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

I booked the smallest room in Amsterdam. It was perfect! Clean comfortable bed and bathroom. Great location. Friendly staff. I caught the train before breakfast so I cannot comment on it, but the breakfast room looked nice. I would recommend this quaint location

Room Tip: The room was a bit warm with no option for fresh air or climate controll.....that may be due to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Singel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Singel Hotel

Address: Singel 13-17, 1012 VC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Singel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Singel Hotel:The Singel Hotel, located in three characteristic 17th century canal houses at the beautiful and quiet Singel canal, is perfectly located in the city centre. This comfortable three star hotel is situated at one of the best locations of Amsterdam. An ideal mix of nostalgic atmosphere and modern comfort close to all major attractions.Typical brown cafes and good restaurants are just around the corner and all public transportation can be reached within walking distance.This charming Singel Hotel offers, behind the attractively restored facade,32 up-to-date renovated rooms, an elevator and accomodation for 65 guests. Our friendly staff will do everything to make your stay unforgetable. Location:The Singel Hotel is very easy to reach. There is a direct train connection from Schiphol Airport to the Amsterdam Central Station which takes less then 15 minutes.Coming out of the Amsterdam Central Station you cross the station square and turnright at the Prins Hendrikkade. After 200 meters you turn left at the Singel canal. You will reach the Singel Hotel in 200 meters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Singel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Singel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.