We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and cosy hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Singel Hotel

Save Saved
You added Singel Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Singel Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Singel 13-17, 1012 VC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free canal cruise
Ranked #133 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Kilkenny, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely and cosy hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

My partner and I stayed here for three nights midweek. It's a small hotel located in the heart of Amsterdam. Less than a 5 min walk to central station and trams. We walked almost everywhere- just one rainy day we got trams to tourist spots that were a little bit out. 24hr unlimited tram ticket is 7.50 pp. Our bedroom was small, clean and modern. Our room was looking out onto the canal which was beautiful! We slept great at night as the hotel is on a quiet street.
A continental breakfast each morning was of a great standard with a fresh selection of breads and cereals.
I really would recommend this central hotel. It's convenient and great value!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    252
    117
    33
    26
See reviews for
67
210
76
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Clean & basic room with good bed. Mostly white furnishing, which make you feel less uncomfortable in the small space...
Helpful staff and good location.
Breakfast was almost the same throughout our 4 days stay.., tasty though..

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buenos aires
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Very helpful and friendly staff,
Good location in front of one of the canals.
Red Light, 10 ´wallking; Central Station, 5´ ; Anna Franks house, 5 ´
Breakfast is very good, but there are not hot meals.
Avoid the small room 20, if you want to have a view of the canal; its not nice when you request by internet, a location with view to the canal, and when you open the window, you see a wall.
Price is ok,
I would choose this hotel again, no doubts :)


Bar in the breakfast room for some more socializing among guests.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

This review is based on my stay with a friend in Feb 2009 (Trip Advisor doesn't allow me to select the date of my stay any earlier than a year ago).

The hotel is right by Central Station (a few minutes' walk). The receptionists were helpful and courteous. We had arrived a little early so the rooms weren't quite ready, which was okay as it allowed us to have a wander around the immediate area for an hour.

Whether you get a room with a fantastic view of the canal or a view of a grey wall comes down to chance really. You can always request for it but I would guess most other guests would request the same thing. If you are wondering what my view was like, I've attached the picture. To be honest it didn't bother me too much.

Rooms were very basic but comfortable, and for that time of year, very warm. Location is very good as it is about a 10-minute walk to Dam Square, and roughly the same to the Red Light District.

We did not use any of the dining faciilies as we ate and drank out all the time.

Overall, very pleased.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Me & My Partner often travel to Amsterdam, and usually stay elsewhere however this time we decided to stay at the Singel, a very 'cute' hotel with lovely rooms (a little on the small side) - However the location makes this hotel so much better than anywhere we've stayed in Amsterdam - 2 minutes from the station and only a few minutes from Dam Square.

Breakfast is included, however there isn't any hot food available.

Room Tip: Ask for canal facing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

As another reviewer mentioned, it is close to the Centraal train station but not to most other places. Know that despite the fact that it is not in the Red Light District there are "stores" near it with the light on and the "business owners" advertising themselves at the window--which was shocking to my 9-year old. Service was so so--but perhaps it was the Dutch way. Breakfast was pretty good. We were given a smoking room despite our preference for a non-smoking room. We thought it was just an ok hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a non-smoking floor if you don't smoke (all but the top, 4th floor are non...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Singel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Singel Hotel

Address: Singel 13-17, 1012 VC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Singel Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Singel Hotel:The Singel Hotel, located in three characteristic 17th century canal houses at the beautiful and quiet Singel canal, is perfectly located in the city centre. This comfortable three star hotel is situated at one of the best locations of Amsterdam. An ideal mix of nostalgic atmosphere and modern comfort close to all major attractions.Typical brown cafes and good restaurants are just around the corner and all public transportation can be reached within walking distance.This charming Singel Hotel offers, behind the attractively restored facade,32 up-to-date renovated rooms, an elevator and accomodation for 65 guests. Our friendly staff will do everything to make your stay unforgetable. Location:The Singel Hotel is very easy to reach. There is a direct train connection from Schiphol Airport to the Amsterdam Central Station which takes less then 15 minutes.Coming out of the Amsterdam Central Station you cross the station square and turnright at the Prins Hendrikkade. After 200 meters you turn left at the Singel canal. You will reach the Singel Hotel in 200 meters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Agoda so you can book your Singel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Singel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.