We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Minimal Hotel with Excellent Staff - BRILLIANT Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Singel Hotel

Save Saved
You added Singel Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Singel Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Singel 13-17, 1012 VC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free canal cruise
Ranked #132 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Minimal Hotel with Excellent Staff - BRILLIANT Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Me & My Partner often travel to Amsterdam, and usually stay elsewhere however this time we decided to stay at the Singel, a very 'cute' hotel with lovely rooms (a little on the small side) - However the location makes this hotel so much better than anywhere we've stayed in Amsterdam - 2 minutes from the station and only a few minutes from Dam Square.

Breakfast is included, however there isn't any hot food available.

Room Tip: Ask for canal facing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    251
    117
    33
    26
See reviews for
67
210
76
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
White Plains, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

As another reviewer mentioned, it is close to the Centraal train station but not to most other places. Know that despite the fact that it is not in the Red Light District there are "stores" near it with the light on and the "business owners" advertising themselves at the window--which was shocking to my 9-year old. Service was so so--but perhaps it was the Dutch way. Breakfast was pretty good. We were given a smoking room despite our preference for a non-smoking room. We thought it was just an ok hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a non-smoking floor if you don't smoke (all but the top, 4th floor are non...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, USA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

My girlfriend booked this place and she had the idea from the web site that it was central location. Well its central to train station but not to the city center. We walked so much everyday to be around activity. Also the rooms are so tiny you step over each other. We arrived early and they made us wait until check in time. Its an OK place if you are in a budget.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

The rooms were neat and tidy,couldn't see tv from one of the beds,friendly enough staff who didn't interfere with our trip.promised a canal boat tour on making the booking which never was mentioned once during my stay.disappointed!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Distance from Central Station is no more then a 5minute walk. 1.walk out the station, cross the bridge.
2. Turn right and walk until you reach Singel Canal 2mins.
3. Turn left and stick to the left side of the canal and in 1 minute you will find it.
The receptionists were extremely helpful on all occassions and 24 hr reception.
There is a luggage room for checking out as we had 7 hours to burn before the flight.
Also there is a hot drinks machine that you can use in reception and the beast area.

We had a twin room. It was basic- The bathroom was very clean and good shower and so was the room and beds- not the most comfortable of beds though.

Our room was on 2nd floor and pretty small. Just enough room to move around the beds.

We had a view of a brick wall.(but we were out day till night) as you do in Amsterdam. But there are canal view rooms.
Smoking rooms are on 4th.

We never had our included breakfast - always had a FEB(full English) elsewhere.

The best thing is the location. It's a 1 minute walk to the closest coffeshops.
Doors(across the canal),Popeye,Freeworld,Dampkring,Siberie and so on.
It's a 5 min walk maximum at an avg pace to Dam square & Red Light District.
It's obviously close the Station.
And it's not on a busy road so quiet outside.

I would stay here again. It is rather expensive for a basic hotel for English standards at fifty odd quid a night but unless u want to share rooms/bathrooms you can't get much better.

Stayed check in 2 Friday to 12 Sunday checkout.

Free umbrellas in reception-
Wifi is really good.

Would stay here again definitely.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights. While it is a little expensive it was worth it. The rooms were cleaned daily and our room looked over the canal which made for a pleasant view. Good wifi in the room, comfy beds, good heating and hot water. However water goes all over the bathroom floor when showering. Some staff were friendly and helpful, others were a bit average. Breakfast was good and filled us up for the majority of the day. Was in a great spot to explore Amsterdam, when we checked out other places to stay that were similar price while we were there; to extend our stay in Amsterdam. You definitely get more bang for your back at this hotel. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Singel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Singel Hotel

Address: Singel 13-17, 1012 VC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Singel Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Singel Hotel:The Singel Hotel, located in three characteristic 17th century canal houses at the beautiful and quiet Singel canal, is perfectly located in the city centre. This comfortable three star hotel is situated at one of the best locations of Amsterdam. An ideal mix of nostalgic atmosphere and modern comfort close to all major attractions.Typical brown cafes and good restaurants are just around the corner and all public transportation can be reached within walking distance.This charming Singel Hotel offers, behind the attractively restored facade,32 up-to-date renovated rooms, an elevator and accomodation for 65 guests. Our friendly staff will do everything to make your stay unforgetable. Location:The Singel Hotel is very easy to reach. There is a direct train connection from Schiphol Airport to the Amsterdam Central Station which takes less then 15 minutes.Coming out of the Amsterdam Central Station you cross the station square and turnright at the Prins Hendrikkade. After 200 meters you turn left at the Singel canal. You will reach the Singel Hotel in 200 meters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Singel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Singel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.