We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, good location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Singel Hotel

Save Saved
You added Singel Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Hotels.com
and 8 more sites!
Singel Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Singel 13-17, Amsterdam 1012 VC, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free canal cruise
Ranked #133 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Clean, good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights. While it is a little expensive it was worth it. The rooms were cleaned daily and our room looked over the canal which made for a pleasant view. Good wifi in the room, comfy beds, good heating and hot water. However water goes all over the bathroom floor when showering. Some staff were friendly and helpful, others were a bit average. Breakfast was good and filled us up for the majority of the day. Was in a great spot to explore Amsterdam, when we checked out other places to stay that were similar price while we were there; to extend our stay in Amsterdam. You definitely get more bang for your back at this hotel. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    145
    248
    117
    38
    27
See reviews for
64
189
67
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Turku
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Service and location were excellent. Price was affordable and whole hotel offered great value for money. Only minus was clear scent of detergent in room. And special thanks to lending umbrellas free of charge.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

Though I am a frequent visitor to Amsterdam it is 45 years since I stayed in this hotel. As you can imagine things have changed,but only for the better.The hotel is larger and very 21st century . All the modern conveniences of internet,radio t.v. en suite bathrooms,none of which existed in1967.But the famous Dutch hospitality has not altered at all.From the moment I arrived soaked through early on Tuesday morning,too early to officially check in ,the staff put themselves out. By the time I had filled out the registration form my room was magically ready.The breakfasts provided are typically of the continental type but the bread is fresh to cut yourself,the cold meats constantly replenished,as were the boiled eggs.The young lady who helped in the restaurant remembered my coffee order on all the following breakfasts,no mean feat with a busy restaurant. As I say things have changed but the hotel is still in the centre of things,near the station ,near to tram and bus routes,and on one of the prettiest canals. The only change I didn't appreciate ,it is no longer 17 guilders a night.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

Had a fab weekend in amsterdam this hotel was excellent. Spotless and only a few minutes walk to damrak and redlight.Had a great view of singel canal out our bedroom window although our room was on the small side it was clean and comfy and staff were very friendly and helpfull will definitely be returning :)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Some of the hotel being refurbished but didnt affect our floor. We got the time wrong for breakfast but although late were still able to eat and even had a pot of coffee made for us - I would have awarded 'service' an average rating had it not been for that. Lovely room with a fab view over the canal.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Basic hotell with good location. Nothing bad to say, but also nothing special. I was travelling with my friend, so we did not need any special service from hotel. Breakfast OK, rooms clean and big enough, location was great, staff was very helpfull and spoke good English. I will choose this hotel when visiting next time Amsterdam

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torino
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Very good position, near train station and the canals.
Easly reachable from the airport with the train. Possible to walk everywhere central Amsterdam,
Room nice and confortable. The reception still old and requires some upgrade.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Singel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Singel Hotel

Address: Singel 13-17, Amsterdam 1012 VC, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Singel Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Singel Hotel:The Singel Hotel, located in three characteristic 17th century canal houses at the beautiful and quiet Singel canal, is perfectly located in the city centre. This comfortable three star hotel is situated at one of the best locations of Amsterdam. An ideal mix of nostalgic atmosphere and modern comfort close to all major attractions.Typical brown cafes and good restaurants are just around the corner and all public transportation can be reached within walking distance.This charming Singel Hotel offers, behind the attractively restored facade,32 up-to-date renovated rooms, an elevator and accomodation for 65 guests. Our friendly staff will do everything to make your stay unforgetable. Location:The Singel Hotel is very easy to reach. There is a direct train connection from Schiphol Airport to the Amsterdam Central Station which takes less then 15 minutes.Coming out of the Amsterdam Central Station you cross the station square and turnright at the Prins Hendrikkade. After 200 meters you turn left at the Singel canal. You will reach the Singel Hotel in 200 meters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Otel, HotelsClick, EasyToBook, HotelsNL and Venere so you can book your Singel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Singel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.