We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location and amazing staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Prinsen Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Prinsen Hotel to your Saves list
Prinsen Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vondelstraat 36-38, 1054 GE Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #226 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Ashford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best location and amazing staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Staff where always helpful friendly and gave some good locations to visit

Helped with ordering Dominoes as we had know clue as the the dutch menu

Amazing facility, really clean rooms and we would all recommend and go again

Room Tip: we were on the second floor rooms 14 and 12 ? at the front there was no noise no disturbance with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    69
    53
    22
    21
See reviews for
19
71
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

6 of us stayed, two double rooms and two singles, all on the basement level which looked out onto garden. The two doubles were fine in a relatively modern two storey extension, not massive but comfortable, clean and everything worked. Corridors a bit jaded but not a problem. The two singles were not as good. Both were small and affected by noise either from the lift shaft or by staff starting work early. Also a dish washer or similar started at about 5 in the morning. If you are taking a single room do some checking first and if you are a big person let them know!
Breafast was good and the service at reception effusive . Well located within easy reach of trams to the Centre, lovely park 5 mins walk away and Museumplein similar distance.

Room Tip: Some of the showers are small and not suitable for large people; reception was very helpful and ensu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I was here for three nights. Two of us. We got a renovated room (number 40). It was not in basement, nice view. Actually, room is small, but it has everything you need. Bath is very good, nice shower, hot water.

The breakfast was much better than I really expected. Bread, butter, cheese, chocolate pasta, original orange juice, coffee machine, fruit salad.

Location is the best about this hotel. Few minutes from Leidseplein, and cca 20 min to the Dam (capital square) by walking. You can also take a tram. Vondel park is few min by walking.

If you are travelling by plain (Schiphol airport), remember to take a red bus number 197 (single journey - 5 E per person), which will take you directly to the Leidseplein. Then you will see a big Marriott hotel, go straight, and easily you will find the hotel. This way of transport is much more practical than train to the Central Station, then tram to the Leidseplein.

The staff is very kind. They also gave us a map of the city. I recommend this, cause of the location, clean rooms, nice breakfast and price was also ok. We paid 278 E (nonrefundable reservation).

Room Tip: Ask if it is possible to get a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We had a very comfortable one-night stay at Prinsenhotel. It's only a few minutes walking to Vondelpark, Leidseplein and Museumplein. Only the carpets in the hallway need to be renewed. The breakfast was nice, great coffee! The single room was very small, the double with garden view very nice.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

I really enjoyed staying in this hotel: the room was large enough for three people, there was an elevator, free wifi, the breakfast was excellent (I still miss the orange juice!). Location was fine too, the 1 tramway took us every day to Dam Square. I would come again to this place if I returned to Amsterdam.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights. Good location, close to Vondelpark and the museums, and a 20 minute walk to Dam Square, and all the attractions closer to the city. Helpful, friendly staff, and Jack the resident cat was a real bonus. Room was a very small double but spotlessly clean. Continental breakfast each morning was fine for us, cereals, toast (different breads and rolls), good selection of jams, etc. I'd have no problem in recommending this hotel and returning to it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

The hotel bedrooms were clean, if basic, and the hotel is in a good position to trams & buses. We didnt spend much time in the rooms so suited our needs. The breakfast was more than adequate. On the down side, the bar in reception never seemed to be open, we tried to get a drink and were told it was closed.
Staff were friendly and very helpful with directions on the first day. We also got checked into our rooms early.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Prinsen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prinsen Hotel

Address: Vondelstraat 36-38, 1054 GE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #226 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Prinsen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, Venere, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Prinsen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prinsen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.