We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small drab rooms for a 3-star price” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Prinsen Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Prinsen Hotel to your Saves list
Prinsen Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vondelstraat 36-38, 1054 GE Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #234 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Small drab rooms for a 3-star price”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The Prinsen Hotel has a good location and the front desk staff was friendly. However, the rooms are small, drab, and stuffy. The breakfast fare was nothing special, and the weekend staff in the dining room was nothing short of surly. If the rates were cheap it would be OK, but for what we paid it was a ripoff. This is a 1-star hotel for a 3-star price.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street are surprisingly noisy at night given this is a small side street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in summer. Our room was on the top floor, so was warm but ok as the windows open to allow ventilation. The room and bathroom were clean and adequate for a base for exploring. The Prinsen is close to many attractions- easy walk to museums, Volendam Park, Ann Frank House, etc as well as bus, tram and train. Breakfast was great- cereal, fruit, meats and cheeses, eggs, breads, etc. The garden was pleasant to relax in after a hard day's exploring Amsterdam. We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Very well located on the border of centrum in DAM. walking distance to many museums and clubs. Buses and train is also available.
The hotel is small with very small rooms. Good enough to sleep, have shower and have breakfast. The people at the reception are kind and helpful.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Rashnavadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
331 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed at the Prinsen hotel for 3 nights last week and had a wonderful stay. The hotel is in a great spot just 5 mins walk from the Leidseplein and a great choice of restaurants and bars. The room was comfy and we had the added bonus of a balcony which was lovely when we came back after a meal. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice and a good coffee machine which produced a wide range of hot drinks. The hotels biggest plus has to be the staff who were all really friendly and the Moroccan chap in particular was really helpful and always had a smile for us. We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monkeychops181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Friendly welcome and good customer service throughout four day stay. Booked room on top floor, was warned room was hot given very good weather, and it was. Beds comfortable and clean.

Breakfast catered for most tastes, cereal, bread, yoghurt, fruit, cold meat etc.

Good base for two adults who did not want any more than a bed, a shower and a breakfast to get us up and out for the day. Close to a lot of attractions and within walking distance of all others, assuming mobility is not an issue. Trams and canal bus close by if walking is not your thing.

Room Tip: Experienced a hot summer so assume lower floors would be cooler given room on top floor had no air c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ctimes2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I found the hotel easy to find from their instructions and was pleasantly surprised and I was pleased to arrive after 29 hrs travelling. Although the room was tiny the bed was very comfortable and en suite excellent. The room would be too small for two people although I had a double bed, good TV coverage, breakfast was perfect with good assortment. Some staff friendly. Great location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riols, France
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Credit where due, the hotel has a relatively good location and the little back garden is charming, but that is as far as the positives go...

Okay, not quite as some members of staff were actually service orientated, but one guy in particular was nothing short of a pain. I will not go into detail here; suffice to say thoug that it was his attitude more than anything else that sullied my stay - so much so in fact that I waited more than a week before writing this review lest I not be fair to the hotel overall.

One individual (which unfortunately we encountered every day) aside, the place could have been much cleaner; the room was ok, but the communal areas which appeared tired if not just plain dirty. The beds were much too soft & sagging to afford us a proper night's sleep and ventilation was non existant in the room.

With reference to the breakfasts lets just say basic, uninspired and lack of variety are the words foremost in my mind. In fact, we only had breakfast once but that was enough to venture out for something decent the rest of the time (and typically, I hate paying for the same thing twice).

The cherry on the cake though was a small depression that functioned as the shower basin and you've guessed it, the tackiest shower curtains. Come on, even the budgets offer an actual shower partition!

No, I am afraid at this price it simply was not good enough.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jacquesward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel
Hotel Europa 92
#224 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 417 reviews
Vondelpark
Alexander Hotel
Alexander Hotel
#156 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#132 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 681 reviews
citizenM Amsterdam
#37 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prinsen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prinsen Hotel

Address: Vondelstraat 36-38, 1054 GE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #234 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Prinsen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Prinsen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing