We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value - fun staff ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Prinsen Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Prinsen Hotel to your Saves list
Prinsen Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vondelstraat 36-38, 1054 GE Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #220 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good value - fun staff ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We didn't expect too much from this budget hotel. We were pleasantly surprised by the pretty frontage, the cosy bar, substantial breakfast, and funny, helpful staff.

Our two rooms (one basement, one second floor) were basic but clean and comfortable. Early morning street noise was a bit of a problem.

Ideally positioned for the museums, but walking distance from most of the centre and the Vondel Park, the hotel was a great base for our family break.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    90
    65
    26
    22
See reviews for
24
96
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

At an average of 90-100 euros a night this hotel is an excellent value. The location is nice, just near Leidseplein on a quiet street. You have easy access to buses and trams. Museumplein is within easy walking distance.

The rooms are basic, but not that small. The bed was comfortable, but a little saggy. I had a great view with a balcony. The TV had several English channels and the wifi was reasonably fast. The bathroom is also basic, but functional. The shower is not divided, but has enough of a decline to avoid water getting everywhere. The room does have a safe, but it's really too small for most devices.

Breakfast was simple with cheeses, meat, yogurt and hard boiled eggs. Considering the room rate it was a deal to have it included. Service from the staff was friendly and helpful. Overall the Prinsen Hotel was an excellent value and I would come back to it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We really liked the location of this hotel. It is close to .vondel ark, the trams, and the museum. We arrived by train to Central station, and walked, with our back packs, to the hotel, in about half an hour. The staff at the desk were friendly and efficient. The room was mall, and clean. The bathroom was a wet room, but functional. The lift was good. The breakfast room was adequate, very busy the first morning, better the second. Not a bad variety of foods on offer. We had French doors that opened up to a balcony at the front of the building, which was pleasant. Nice and quiet at night. We found it a little expensive, but the nice neighborhood made it worthwhile.

Room Tip: Nice quiet rooms, even in the front. We were on the first floor, easy to use lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This hotel was good for a weekend break. The rooms are small but clean. Staff are efficient and fairly pleasant. The breakfast is a continental buffet, nothing amazing but more than adequate. I would stay there again. Not much else to say really - it's a rather average hotel but certainly nothing wrong with it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Lovely hotel, great staff and ideal location no.s 1,2 and 5 trams from central station
The breakfast was nice. Would certainly use this hotel next time we go to Amsterdam
Would have loved coffee making facilities in the room

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I don't really have anything to add apart from the title. The staff are brilliant, the room was clean but very (very) small, a wet room rather than a bathroom and my room was like a sauna!! There's no kitchen at the hotel so don't expect anything exceptional for breakfast. Great location though.

Don't be put off though, for the right price this hotel is on the money for location and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Single rooms = very small and room 43 is like a sauna, with the radiator off!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

The hotel's location and price is the only advantage. While centrally located near Leidseplein, the hotel is not very comfortable to stay at. The rooms are small and could barely fit two suitcases. The bathroom is clean but very (very) small. The breakfast is..well I wouldn't call it a breakfast but a morning snack instead. Moreover, the staff is not very friendly and Wi-Fi access is limited and not working properly.
As a businessman, I expect businesses to encourage customers to return to their business, but I highly doubt this hotel will see any returning visitors.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel, even a hostel would be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Prinsen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prinsen Hotel

Address: Vondelstraat 36-38, 1054 GE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #220 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Prinsen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Budget Places, Priceline, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Prinsen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prinsen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.