We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No 'feel good' factor” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Prinsen Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Prinsen Hotel to your Saves list
Prinsen Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vondelstraat 36-38, 1054 GE Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #220 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“No 'feel good' factor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Location is the only reason you should book this hotel. Rooms are not really nice (but quite clean) and the breakfast doesn't deserve its name

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    80
    55
    23
    22
See reviews for
19
83
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tubingen, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

The location of this hotel is good. Short walking distance to museums and center. No traffic noise but inside the hotel you hear everything from the neighbours. Rooms are very small. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Nice garden in the back yard.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

The staff were very nice.
My room (43, on the top floor) was big enough for me and was clean and nice. Bathroom was a bit old but I can't really complain.
There was noise, especially in the morning around breakfast time. It kept me from sleeping in which was annoying - but then I shouldn't really be sleeping in while on holiday.
The Wi-fi was expensive, and only worked 50% of the time in my room. When I went down to reception to show them the issue it worked fine. I'm guessing the router is on the ground floor, so the upper levels don't get the best coverage.
The location of this hotel is amazing! It's down a quite street, but literally a 3 minute walk to a bustling central square. Couldn't be better!

Room Tip: If you are hoping to use Wi-fi, I do not recommend the top level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012 via mobile

Some quirkiness, not the absolute highest standards, but that was not an issue for us. Basically a very old house converted into a hotel (B&B really). Helpful staff, the classic 'amsterdam gap' under all the doors not helping sound insulation (tip: use a towel if the noise bothers you) Does have a lift, most rooms (our group used 6 of them) seemed OK mostly with minor faults we could overlook. Good location. Those who must have certain options like coffee/tea in the rooms or a plentiful supply of specific foodstuffs at breakfast should check that out before travelling IMHO as nothing is a given in a small hotel / B&B like this. Seasoned travellers who want the compromise of a decent priced room yet still in a good location will be very familiar and hopefully comfortable with the style and quality of this sort of establishment. As long as you are not expecting the Hilton you should be happy with the Prinsen.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012 via mobile

Appalled when went to our room. So small we and our ( not oversized ) luggage could not fit. Basin in room. bed pushed against wall. How do you get out? Refused room and moved to another. Pleasant enough stay. Good breakfasts. Very disappointed not to have tea and coffee making facilities. This required us to get hot water from Starbucks and carry back to hotel. Not really hot when we got back but best we could do. Very clean. Great location. Staff a bit withdrawn. Wi Fi expensive and inconsistent pricing depending on who was on duty. Would stay again but don't accept room 44!

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights, I was impressed when I came in to find the some of the staff helpful. I was on the ground floor which suited me as I had a big suitcase. The room was nice, very quaint, tv was good with loads of diffrent channels, the bathroom was great, clean, big.

The hotel is around the corner from Vondel Park. Public transport is very close, you can get a tram to most of the tourist areas or a bus. I was a little disappointed with the breakfast as it was cold meats, boiled eggs, fruit and tomatos.

The staff were mostly good there were the 2 on in the morning that I had a problem with, 1 of them was just a pain in the butt that I avoided when coming out and then other 1 was rude and arragont. There is a cat who lives in the hotel, he doesn't go into rooms but you'll see him most morning when breakfast is on, he's a friendly little fellow who just wants a scratch, his name is Mr Spencer.

Room Tip: Choose an upper level floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BELFAST
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012 via mobile

AMSTERDAM - great city to explore and this is a pritty decent location from which to do it. Hotel serves basic functions of eating and sleeping so more like a large bed and breakfast. Breakfasts in hotel were nice - bread, eggs, ham cucumber, tomatoe, cereal - the usual buffet breakfast fair. Coffee machiene for self service also. Note no kettle in the bed rooms so if your partial to a cup of tea in your room then I'm afraid you have to go to reception to get a cup of boiling water for your tea!! a slight bit annoying for tea and coffee drinkers. The Dutch and staff in general were fine at this establishment - the older Dutch gentleman who seemed to work the late shift at reception ( possibly the owner) was a nice friendly guy well suited to speaking with guests and was very helpful - even suggested we don't pay 100 euro for late check out but use his luggage hold room free of charge - a genuinely decent chap - as our flight was late at night with check out at 11 o'clock in the morning. The younger dark haired gent who worked reception by day was rude, arrogant, condescending and gave the air of he could not care less when approached by guests - he was a little too "as matter of fact " for my likeing - he didn't seem to have the people skills of the older gentleman - he could learn from him let me tell you. On a whole decent location to city within walking distance - close to ledesplein 2-3 mins by foot on door step of vondlepark also. would use again as really only a basic base to get your head down at night pitty about the staff with no people skills!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Prinsen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prinsen Hotel

Address: Vondelstraat 36-38, 1054 GE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #220 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Prinsen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and EasyToBook so you can book your Prinsen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prinsen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.