We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travel and Sport hockey group's parents” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Prinsen Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Prinsen Hotel to your Saves list
Prinsen Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vondelstraat 36-38, 1054 GE Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #219 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Travel and Sport hockey group's parents”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

The school group was accommodated at the Stayokey Vondelpark; the parents were at the Prinsen. This is what the parents had to say:


Overall accommodation – Not bad
Check in – Not bad
Room quality – Can improve
Staff service – Not bad
Food – Can improve
Location – Excellent

They felt that there were many other hotels in the same area with cheaper rates.

Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    94
    68
    26
    22
See reviews for
26
101
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

Our group of 10 couples had a very enjoyable weekend stay at Prinsen at end of October 2011, and loved the hotel. Rooms were very comfortable and clean, although they are quite small you'll find this is the case with the majority of Amsterdam hotels at this price range. Breakfast is very good and provides a good choice. Hotel is ideally situated within a couple of minutes walking distance from Liedesplein Square on one side where you'll find a wide range of lively bars and decent restaurants and on the other side Vondelpark is also only a couple of minutes walk and is well worth a visit.

The main central areas of Dam Square and Central Station are about 15 mins walking distance from hotel, but there's also a fantastic tram service from Leidesplein to Dam Square - we bought 48-hour tram tickets from the ticket office at Liedesplein for 11 Euros each, and found them to be great value allowing you to travel on any tram
around Amsterdam. The tram service in general to all areas of the city is very good.Walking around was no problem, but it's also convenient to hop on and off the trams when you're pushed for time.

Useful advice when walking around and crossing any street is to watch out for the bicycles - they're absolutely everywhere. When crossing roads, you'll always be looking out for cars and scooters as well as the trams, and tend to forget the bicycles so keep your eyes peeled for them.

If you have time have a look around Rembrandt Square (just a few minutes from Dam Square) as that also has a good range of bars and restaurants, and try to make time to take in Museumplein (just a few minutes walking distance from Prinsen Hotel) and Waterlooplein.

An absolute must is the Canal Boat Tour - get your tickets from the departure points at Central Station. Several options available, but we went for a 1.5 hour tour for 13 euros each -well worth doing and make sure you take a camera. We did this on our second day, but if you do this on your first day, it would give you a better idea of the layout of the city and landmarks.

One last tip - on getting from Schiphol Airport to Prinsen Hotel (or any of the central hotels for that matter). If there's a few of you all with cases and bags, don't even bother with the train and tram option - just go for a pre-booked taxi. The Prinsen and other hotels recommend using www.schipholhoteltaxi.com and that firm offers a meet-and-greet option where they're waiting for you in the airport as soon as you arrive. We used this option, and booked it a few days before we travelled - at a cost of 47 Euros for 4 passengers, we thought that was reasonable and it meant we were at the hotel within half an hour of getting through luggage reclaim at the airport. On a weekend break when you're pushed time, means you can get checked in at the hotel and then get out exploring Amsterdam as soon as possible.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

I stayed in the Prinsen Hotel with a friend for 3 nights. We were in Amsterdam for the marathon.
The hotel is very well located, close to the museums and also the Leidseplein which has plenty of lively bars and a choice of restaurants. The rooms are small, but they are comfortable and the shower is really good.
The breakfast was continental - cereal, fruit, juice, breads, cheeses etc, and was plentiful and tasty.
The courtyard/beer garden is nice. There isn't really much of a bar, just a few stools near reception, but you can get a drink.
It is in a quiet location. To get back to the airport, a shuttle bus goes from just on the bridge - ask at reception.

Room Tip: They have rooms in the basement, which you might get if you book a single. Make sure to specify twin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
97 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

When i arrived at the Prinsen I was greeted by a friendly night clerk. At first I was dismayed that my room was to be in the basement, but he jollied me out of it, assuring me that the room looked out onto the pleasant courtyard garden. I did and watched the wild green parrots and the sparrows compete for food in the morning. The room was very very narrow but included everything necessary to comfort, especially the downy bedding and the little table and chairs. The fixtures were a little funky, but it was clean. Upstairs there is a great morning room for breakfast overlooking the garden. The spread was nice - lots of cured meats, hard boiled eggs, rustic breads and croissants, and yogurt and granola. Good fruit and juices. I did enjoy the management, who gave me directions, advice and sold me a seltzer water and ice late at night Friendly and unpretentious. A place to buff your shoes in the lobby. Good value, good location for museum hounds and shoppers alike. Price not bad at all for convenience.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

A clean hotel with friendly, helpful staff. The beds were not the most comfortable and the fittings and bathrooms, whilst clean, were basic. That aside, for the price it is a good place to stay, especially for the Museum quarter

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

My sister and I started our European vacation in Amsterdam, before embarking on a River Cruise down the Rhine. The Prinsen was on a beautiful, quiet street and within walking distance of the big museums. The room was extremely small for two adults, but we have come to expect that in Europe. We had a small balcony and in order to open the balcony door, we had to put one of the side chairs on the bed!! We still laugh about that. The bad part was the owner was very stingey. I like to use two towels for my shower and we asked him for an extra towel, we were told that this is not an American 5 star hotel and he only had a certain # of towels. Getting bar soap was even more difficult, so if you stay here, bring your own! On the other hand, the breakfast was good and rooms were clean. I would stay here again....just bring my own towel and soap!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

57-bedroom hotel packed into a typically narrow Amsterdam building a short way south of Leidseplein and north of Vondelpark. We stayed in the only 'family' room which was in the lower ground floor (basement) down some pretty steep stairs (but there was a lift). We received a very warm welcome and were shown local places of interest on the complimentary map. As a hotel it was entirely adequate for our needs. It does not set out to be a luxury hotel, so think of it more as a guest house.

The price included breakfast, which was one of the reasons we chose this hotel. Breakfast was continental buffet-style. Seating is limited, which probably explains the 7.30 - 10.00 window for breakfast.

We only used the hotel for sleeping and breakfast, so we didn't place too many demands on it. Its central location in a quiet street was ideal, and it had a nicely-kept small garden at the rear, although as this was used by smokers we only used it when there were not any there.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Prinsen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prinsen Hotel

Address: Vondelstraat 36-38, 1054 GE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #219 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Prinsen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Otel, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Prinsen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prinsen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.