We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience at Hotel Nadia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nadia

Save Saved
You added Hotel Nadia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Nadia
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Raadhuis Straat 51, 1016 DD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Basel
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience at Hotel Nadia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2009

After reading several excellent reviews on the website, I decided to book a room for myself at Hotel Nadia for a short stay in Amsterdam (3 days) for myself. The Amsterdam Hotels are generally pricey and not good value for money. However, Hotel Nadia is different. It is a marvellous little 2-star hotel in the centre of the city with 5-star service. Upon arrival, my bags were carried to my room, I received a welcome drink and there were fresh flowers in my room. The room itself was not big, but tastefully decorated, clean and comfortable (double bed for a single person). All this for €61,10 per night including the breakfast - that's excellent value for Amsterdam! The choice for breakfast was limited, but it was quite nice. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and I felt very welcome at all times. I definitely recommend Hotel Nadia for a great stay in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,982 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,311
    1,192
    341
    86
    52
See reviews for
325
1322
344
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

The location of the Hotel is close to the Anne Frank house, a supermarket, and tram stop. The staff was very helpful and friendly, the breakfast was toast, jam, coffee. Being of the European style the hotel had a typical steep and narrow staircase, small rooms and small bathrooms. That being said; the rooms were very clean, the staff great and we would stay there again! This place is a real bargain.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

After alot of research of hotels in Amsterdam we plumped for this one as the price included all local taxes, breakfast and if you paid cash on arrival got a further 6% discount - I found it very hard to find anything this cheap (unless you start looking at hostels and sharing bathrooms etc) in central Amsterdam so we took a gamble....

Well, we were very pleasantly surprised.
We walked with a couple of overnight bags from Central Station and found it very easily.
As someone else mentioned - I was prepared for the stairs but was still shocked.. but its SOOOO Amsterdam and to be fair they look daunting but while they are steep they aren't too bad.

Check in was delightful.. the woman behind reception offered to get someone to take our bags from the bottom of the stairs to our room and offered us a can of ice cold diet coke, 7up etc comlimentary - while they took our bags to our room.

Our room was no. 4 and was half way down the stairs so not too bad to climb at all.
We got to the room there was a lovely bouquet of flowers on the table with a note saying 'welcome, we hope you enjoy your stay' and found ourselves looking straight through 3 huge windows! out to a lovely canal and the beautiful Westerkerk Church.

Yes the bells rang a bit but these are the same bells that Anne Frank heard (the Frank house is just a small block away) during their time in hiding and this is Amsterdam so we weren't expecting no noise.

The hotel is in a nice neighbourhood and the stroll to Dam Square is only about 10 minutes but that is also far enough away from the crazyness (but hilarious-ness) of the red light district to be quite alot less busy and we weren't disturbed in the night.

We had a fan in the room, which was nice.
My only complaint would be that we were given 2 single beds (which in itself isn't a problem) but the single beds were tiny!! I would say a few inches smaller than a normal single bed and I did feel like I was going to fall out a few times.
Oh and another thing was the toilet roll.... really not what you would expect from a hotel... bit like school toilet paper...

The breakfast was pretty good, breads, rolls, cheese, croissants, yogurts, coffee, tea, biscuits, jams, peanut butter, honey, apples etc... We certainly filled up enough and enjoyed it.. the breakfast room is very small but everyone seemed to get a seat and it does run from 7.30-10.30am so time for everyone.

So, all in all I would definately recommend this to friends, family etc

Quite small rooms but enough for your needs - who stays in their room while in Amsterdam? very friendly staff, clean, tidy, price and location all massive plus points.

....and they encourage Trip Advisor reviews (in a Thank you for staying email) which in my mind is very encouraging that they take customer service very seriously and do their best to keep everyone happy.

oh and they also have free wifi... bit slow but it worked and enough to let us check in online etc and check emails.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joensuu, Finland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

The service in this hotel is very friendly and helpful. Location is very good, and the neighborhood is nice enough. Free WiFi was a nice bonus, but it didn't work very reliably. We didn't mind the smallish size of the room, but it's apperance was a bit shabby. The shower was a joke. Without the A/C, the room was a sauna; steep stairs made you sweaty already, and hot room didn't help it (day temp in Amsterdam being 22...26 centigrade on our visit). The table fan made sleeping just tolerable, but not enjoyable. Breakfast was extremely basic, it was the poorest that I've had in any hotel. Pretty good coffee, although.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

We arrived early to Amsterdam and turned up at Nadia thinking we'd have to leave our bags there and have to wait till 1pm/2pm (official check in time) but they had our room ready for us within 10mins of us arriving and offered us a free cold drink, cup of Tea/coffee and some cake while we waited. We were so grateful to get our room early as we'd just got off a 13hr flight and had little sleep on it.
Staff were very helpful and had local info sheets to give on most attractions and we were given a map of area. Nadia is pretty central to most things and a tram stops pretty much at the front door. Reasonably quiet considering its located on a main street, we thought it was good value for money. Room was small but it was all we needed (did get a bit stuffy when it got hot only a small fan in room) . The stairs are a bit of a hike but good exercise don't be put off by them. The place had character :) would definitely stay here again.
Breakfast is included in the cost which was great (Croissants/cheese/Toast/Jam/cake/tea/coffee/Juice/yogurt) - But if you stay here you've got to get Pancakes from the shop next door think it was called Saras they are the yummiest ever (Blueberry and Banana).
We enjoyed our stay here and hope to return in the future

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

Having read the reviews before going,I can only agree with the majority of people..It was clean, the staff so helpful and friendly, the rooms very small but with a fridge, safe and fan. I knew about the steep steps to the reception but was still quite shocked when we opened the door. Overall no complaints.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2009

Hotel Nadia is a charming hotel that offers great value at an excellent location in the heart of Amsterdam. The neighborhood has a large number of great restaurants and cafes and everything is within walking distance.

The hotel rooms are quite small, and the stairs to the hotel are really steep.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Nadia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nadia

Address: Raadhuis Straat 51, 1016 DD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#57 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Nadia 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nadia is a 2** star hotel with a friendly atmosphere. In historic surroundings, between Queen Palace on Dam Square and Wester Church, at walking distance from all sights, museums and shopping. Facilities: Hotel is a historic canal corner gallery building renovated in Nov 2009. Forty-eight rooms, each one unique and all rather on the small side, compact but well-designed, cozy all with shower, WC, TV, phone,hairdryer,Wireless Internet and own Safe Box. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Nadia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nadia Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nadia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.