We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nadia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Nadia to your Saves list
Hotel Nadia
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Raadhuis Straat 51, 1016 DD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“fabulous location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2009

stayed two nights in Hotel Nadia with 3 rooms total for family group. Yes, Hotel Nadia has those stairs, but it is a true Canal house. The Hotel handles your bags, no need for you to drag them up. When you tour Amsterdam, you see the hundreds of canal houses, you can stay in one and see how the locals live.
We had the quad room 3rd floor and it had the most lovely view of the canal and the Westerkirk. Another family member had a balcony room for 2 second floor and although a very small room, the balcony was terrific. I read a book about the Anne Frank house (the house is just around the corner) while lying in bed quad room with the Westerkirk church tower right out my window in full view. I came upon a photo in the book of the tower out the attic room window where Anne lived that was the exact view of the church tower but from a 90 degree turned angle. That is, I was looking at the west side and she the north side but identical view. Made goose bumps on my arms.
Sheets clean and crisp, clean bathroom, no A/C but was cool with windows open and fan on. Nice breakfast, breads, juice, tea, coffee, cake, many jams, nuttell chocolate spread. Fresh flowers in the room.
The walk to the city center Dam and then down to the train station area to do a canal boat tour took us down busy streets crowded with young people, and to our older eyes, strange people, but the strolls down the canals themselves were much calmer and more quite. I liked the city much better away from the Dam. Long walk to the flower market and on to the art museum was wonderful along the canals. Stopped for cafe meals. Sara's Pancake House two doors down from Hotel Nadia has wonderful crepes (pancakes - but not the american type) and great hot chocolate for a pm meal, open til 9:30pm.
We felt Hotel Nadia was a good value for its location, cleanliness and exceptional view. Get away from the city center and walk along the many canals for a pleasant time.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,088 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,354
    1,239
    351
    92
    52
See reviews for
340
1,397
362
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2009

The Hotel Nadia's entry stairway is an imposing two-flight affair. Please take seriously the stated warnings about the unsuitability of this hotel for the mobility-impaired! However, this is an excellent choice for those who want a high degree of service in an affordable hotel and an excellent location in the Jordaan. Our room was tiny (think cabin size on a cruise vessel) but comfortable and well-appointed. The building is historic and has several interesting features, and the free internet works well. On our last morning, we received a phone call telling us the breakfast room had been opened early so we could have something to eat before leaving for the airport. Yes, the beds could have been more comfortable and the fire escapes more reassuring, but overall, this would a very good choice for a traveler on a budget.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKC, OK
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2009

I stayed 3 nights at the Nadia Hotel, and every employee I met was helpful and friendly. The rooms are small but comfortable, and I rarely heard a peep from other guests. Refrigerators in the rooms make it easy to pop by the grocery store just down the street and stock up on healthy snacks, and they'll even let you bring your dinner to the breakfast room to eat.

Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ospedaletto Euganeo City
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

Very nice hotel, placed in a wonderfull location, near all main attractions. Breakfast room with a great canal view.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

My fiance and I spent seven nights at the Hotel Nadia and were quite pleased with our stay. In an earnest attempt to provide a balanced review to my fellow travelers I will do my best to provide my view of the pros and cons (from an American perspective). When you open the door to the Nadia Hotel prepare yourself to be greeted by perhaps the most astonishing set of stairs you have ever seen or will see. Really, there is not much difference in incline between these stairs and a ladder. The staff is prepared to assist you with your baggage up this monster and is quite expert at doing so. If you have a disability you will most likely want to stay somewhere else. There is really no way around this each time you come in the building (no elevator). The stairs take you up to a tiny lobby where you will be greeted by a gracious member of the staff. He or she will give you your room key, a complimentary beverage, and answer any questions whatsoever about the city that you might have. Every single person manning this desk during our stay was exceptionally kind and went out of his or her way to help us with our trip planning, be it calling the train station for us when we thought we had goofed up our tickets to Belgium, recommending a restaurant, which tram to take to a museum, etc. As a side note you pick up your room key when you enter the building and drop it off again with the front desk when you leave, presumably to minimize lost keys. Making your way from the lobby to your room is also interesting due to the narrow dimensions of the hallways. Only one person/piece of luggage at a time might proceed. When you open the door to your room you will see the tiny theme continues with your Lilliputian accommodations. This is definitely the smallest room I have ever stayed in before. The bathroom is similar in size and setup to the bathroom you find in an RV. The sink is raised about two inches higher than the toilet and shower, which is good because the shower is on a flat plane, even with the toilet. The water seeps out from under the curtain and floods the general area around the toilet while showering. This is partially due to the fact that the shower drain was somewhat clogged but I can't complain because I never mentioned it to the management and on second thought I wish I had so they would have a fair chance to fix the problem. The bed was comfortable and the down comforter quite thick and warm, but there were two holes in the cover. The major minus to the room is the lack of control you have over the temperature- we never saw any way to make the room cooler (or warmer in winter....). Fortunately a fan is provided and we left the balcony door open at night with the fan in front to blow in cool air. You will have to request house keeping if you want them to come every day, otherwise we noticed a frequency of about an average of every other day. None of this is particularly troubling to us as we came to Amsterdam mainly to see the sights and not be in our room. The one incredible plus to our room was the marvelous balcony. A few evenings we were back relatively early and able to take advantage of this wonderful feature. It was made especially wonderful by the fact that there is still light until 11:00 or 11:30 at night in Amsterdam in June. From our balcony we could see a beautiful church tower and one of the canals. Directly across from us was Jennifer's Croissanterie, a lovely place to pop in for a pastry, sandwich, cappuccino, etc. I often did just so to augment my breakfast from the hotel. The breakfast room was charming and offered a wide range of breakfast items, but unfortunately no good sources of protein other than cheese and sweetened yogurts. I would have loved some hard boiled eggs to supplement the bread and croissants. Our location in general was excellent. The Anne Frank house was just out of sight across the street, the post office was two blocks in one direction and an inexpensive Internet cafe one block in another. The Red Light district and Dam Square were about a 10 minute walk away, Central Station just a bit further up the road. A couple trams and buses a short walk from the hotel would take you to Central Station as well, further simplifying your movements around the city. I would stay here again, indeed I dream of returning some day.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SG
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

We received a warm welcome from the staff there immediately upon arrival at Hotel Nadia. Not only did they carry up our heavy suitcases up a steep flight of stairs to the reception area they also brought it up to our room (another floor up) while we waited at the breakfast room (to be checked in) which was beautifully decorated with nice fresh pretty flowers. They gave us a nice welcome drink too! Talk about great service!

Though we stayed for one night only at Hotel Nadia and booked the cheapest room available, they made that one night special for us by giving us a free upgrade to a room with a lovely canal view. I thought that was very very thoughtful of them! The room was also nicely decorated with antique lamps and red furnishings. It had a fridge which was very helpful for us to keep our beer cool! Fresh flowers with a welcome note was a nice sweet touch.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Covina, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

My girlfriend and I stayed in Hotel Nadia for three nights and loved our stay. From the moment we stepped into the hotel, we could tell that this place was something special. You need to ring the bell to get into the building, but the bellhop was at the door quickly to help us bring our luggage up the steps to the reception. Yes, the steps are steep (and pictures don't do them justice), but we found this to be the norm in all of Amsterdam. The staff was the most hospitable of all the hotels during our trip, offering a welcome drink and flowers in the room. They were always quick to offer us tips and advice on the town's attractions. The resident cats, Hello and Goodbye, are also a treat. They have their own little nook, and greeting them each morning after breakfast was a great way to start off the day.

Don't expect big, modern facilities if you stay here. This is a small, cozy hotel with a lot of charm. The bathroom can be a bit small for larger people, but the average person should find it enough. Do note that besides a curtain the shower is not separate from the rest of the bathroom. Everything in there will get wet. This can be strange to Americans that are used to having spacious, modern facilities but it really isn't as bad as people make it seem and isn't uncommon for Amsterdam's hotels. Just bring some rubber flip flops and remember that you're traveling through Europe to broaden your horizons, not to restrict them.

The location is great as well. The hotel is a block away from the Anne Frank house (highly recommended), a 3 minute walk from a large Albert Heijn supermarket (those sit-down restaurant bills add up!), and 5 minutes away from bustling Dam Square.

In conclusion, if you're looking for a big, modern hotel like you're used to in America, this place is not for you. If you're looking for a clean, cozy place to stay with an unsurpassed staff, you need not look any further. We highly recommend Hotel Nadia!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Nadia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nadia

Address: Raadhuis Straat 51, 1016 DD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#65 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#65 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Nadia 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nadia is a 2** star hotel with a friendly atmosphere. In historic surroundings, between Queen Palace on Dam Square and Wester Church, at walking distance from all sights, museums and shopping. Facilities: Hotel is a historic canal corner gallery building renovated in Nov 2009. Forty-eight rooms, each one unique and all rather on the small side, compact but well-designed, cozy all with shower, WC, TV, phone,hairdryer,Wireless Internet and own Safe Box. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Nadia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nadia Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nadia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.