We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice and friendly hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nadia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Nadia to your Saves list
Hotel Nadia
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Raadhuis Straat 51, 1016 DD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Tilburg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A very nice and friendly hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2009

My family and I stayed for four nights in the quadruple room of Hotel Nadia. It is a very nice and friendly hotel where we experienced a very happy time. The staff is very kind and helpful. We first received a very warm welcome with some welcome drink. When we went into the room, we find that it is very clean and comfortable with a great view of the canal and the Westermarkt. About the breakfast, I like the croissant and the cake they provided. Besides, the lady who served the food was very nice with sweet smile. There is one thing I would like to mention is that the stairs are very steep. But you don't have to worry about carrying your heavy luggage upstairs. The staff can help you to do that. That is very nice. But you still need to be careful when you go up and down the stairs. Overall, this hotel is a good hotel with a reasonable price. I really recommend this one.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,095 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,357
    1,243
    351
    92
    52
See reviews for
342
1,401
362
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (465)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2009

Stayed here for two nights in March. Picked it for good price (<$100/night) when I booked and appeared to be in a good location. Was pleased to find that it was! Everything within short walking distance. The owners/front desk were tremendously helpful at all hours with directions and finding businesses. This was a big plus. We arrived early (~10 am), and hotel graciously held our luggage and suggested a place close by to get breakfast and rent bikes for the day.

Two important things: If you stay here, leave your luggage inside the front door. Do not try to carry it up the stairs! Second - you should be an adventurous non-demanding sort if you stay here, because the establishment itself is an experience. The steep winding staircase, the almost comically small rooms - it's all part of the Amsterdam city experience. So if you are looking for large, plush rooms please look elsewhere.

It's a charming, helpful, well-located hotel for the budget traveler.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Nadia for a week in March and had a wonderful time. The price is excellent and the location 3 blocks from Dam Square with a tram stop on the next block was very convenient. Plenty of good restaurants within a 10 minute walk, good cafes all around the neighborhood (Cafe Kolkhaven and Het Schuim became favorites).
The staff was very helpful with dining recommendations and even booked a table for us at a restaurant that we had selected ourselves on our last night in town. The places they recommended were all very good as well.
A highlight of the trip for me was going to the UEFA cup match between Ajax Amsterdam and Olympique Marseille and the manager was extremely helpful. I bought the tickets online and had them delivered to the hotel before I arrived, he accepted delivery and kept the tickets safe until I arrived, giving them to me as soon as I checked in. He also emailed me at home to tell me that he had received the tickets for me. On the day of the game he helped with directions on how to get to the game.
My wife's birhtday came the week we were there, I swear everybody on the staff wished her a happy birthday and they even had fresh flowers sent to the room. The cleaning lady went as far as to give her a big and genuine happy birthday hug.
I can say only good things about the service. The location is excellent. The price was also very good.
My only warning is that the rooms are small, so if you need a large room then the Nadia is not the place for you. But for my wife and I the Nadia was otherwise perfect, as it proved to be a very reasonably priced, well located hotel with an unsurpassed level of personal service from all members of the staff. We hope to go back again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROME
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2009

the hotel is very central located. it's 5 minutes by foot to dam square , the staff was very kindly , the rooms were little but confortable and very clean .
if i will return to amsterdam surely i will go to nadia hotel

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2009

Placed right between Dam square and Anne Frank the location couldn't be any better. Once you get over the shock of the stairs/ladder you'll find the staff are friendly and helpful and the rooms are small but clean and well equipped for the budget (mine had a safe and fridge). Breakfast was included in the rate and it was limited but fresh.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2009

Nadia is a small hotel with narrow, steep staircases, narrow corridors and very small rooms - but it is very charming, cosy and with a perfect location in city center. The staff is very friendly and helpful, and we felt very good taken care of. I travelled with my daughter, and she really enjoyed the hotel too - with child-friendly breakfast (hot chocolate milk, soft rolls and chocolate spread - OK, we are on holiday!) and two hotel-cats lying in a window frame in the corridor. A welcome-drink from the reception upon arrival and fresh flowers in our room was nice details which we really appreciated. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2009

Upon entering the hotel the first sight you have is rather daunting, as it is a load of extremly steep stairs. Your first throughts are ' how am I going to get my luggage up there', but no fear very shortly a friendly porter arrives and sends you to check in, whilst he carries your luggage to your room. All the staff are extremly friendly, and are always on hand to help with any query, or to supply you with a map and guide book of Amsterdam. The room was small, but clean and tidy, there are loads of shelves for storage area's. The breakfast room was very welcoming, and you could obtain a wide variety of food for your breakfast, this room could also be used throughout the day with coffee supplied. The hotel was close to the tram, shopping centre and the railway station. By the way, you very easily get used to going up and down the stairs

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Nadia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nadia

Address: Raadhuis Straat 51, 1016 DD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#64 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#66 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Nadia 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nadia is a 2** star hotel with a friendly atmosphere. In historic surroundings, between Queen Palace on Dam Square and Wester Church, at walking distance from all sights, museums and shopping. Facilities: Hotel is a historic canal corner gallery building renovated in Nov 2009. Forty-eight rooms, each one unique and all rather on the small side, compact but well-designed, cozy all with shower, WC, TV, phone,hairdryer,Wireless Internet and own Safe Box. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Nadia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nadia Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nadia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.